Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
31
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2014
Survivors of the Dead is the first of hopefully many more books from first time author Tony Baker where we meet Harry Lancaster, a retired cop and now apartment manager, who's world is suddenly turned upside down with the arrival of a pesky zombie apocalypse. Harry very quickly figures out what's happening in his beloved city of San Francisco, and decides to leave and try get to his own family across the country.

Harry joins up with 2 active cops, one of whom he knows from old, and it is this meeting that injects the humour into the story, with plenty of gags going backwards and forwards between the three of them, and it's this that forges a tight bond and an unbreakable friendship that will see them through the apocalypse.

The story briefly links up with David P. Forsythe's Sovereign Spirit Saga series, which it turns out Tony had a hand in writing a small piece for, like I said it is only a brief link but it does have an influence on how Harry reacts to the situation he suddenly finds himself in.

As I mentioned, this is Tony's first book, and already I think he's got a winning formula going here with this series and future releases.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I have just finished reading this first time offering by Tony Baker and it is a must read! This book offered a smooth-flowing, detailed and uplifting glance into the zombie world. When I am asked why do I read horror, zombies, the end of the world? well, it's because of books like this one. The story offers me, the reader, an opportunity to use my imagination (and not the authors), to be empathetic and reminds me that there are good people in this world. Yes, it's not real, yes' it's a book but it is a very good book to read.
I look forward to following the characters in the next book and hope they make it!
Enjoy!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
Ok a fairly good outline plan and adventure although it went a bit too far into the arms for me. A gun lover would been fixed. Well done give it a read its worth it. I learned some stuff and it made me laugh in parts so cant be bad. Definitely glad to have read this but probably wont the second pray
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
Very enjoyable book. Harry, the main character, is so determined to survive and get to his family. He was born to lead, but thats the last thing he wants. Great action (though i was a bit bored at gun/ammo descriptions) and loved that Harry spoke with Scott from Sovereign Spirit Saga by David Forsyth which i loved reading too. Looking forward to the next book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
I enjoyed this book looking forward to the next one my only moan is that there was to much time given on technical information.I for one am not really interested in how guns and other stuff works.......just as long as it does :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Interesting to read about Zompoc from the pov of an experienced law enforcement professional. Lots of crunchy details of weapons and tactics. The problem begins with the introduction of other characters. They and the lead character then spend every other sentence joshing each other and collapsing into giggles and "doh 's' due to their sparkling repartee. They end up sounding immature. I could only accept this by imagining that the characters were going insane by their predicament. However, it really is the authors attempt to "humanise" the cast. If the author toned down this aspect then it would increase interest in following their further adventures.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Having read a great many zombie survival books I was looking forward to this one, however, 50% of the way through and I can take no more of this know everyone and everything hero and his weapons brochure. The nitty gritty detail of every action is plain boring. The past recaps are self justifying and boring. I have skimmed through so many pages looking for interesting action that is pertinent and found very little that I am now giving up. Life is too short, there are far better books on this subject to read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
The setting for this book is San Francisco (not sure who thought it was the UK) which I know moderately well and this made it easier to follow the general thread of the action. Good characters and a decently conceived story line, if a little bit over technical in its dwelling on the finer points of firearms and ammunition. An interesting local twist on something else to use against Zombies also turned up though! I look forward to the second book in the series with keen anticipation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
A good read but spoiled by the oh so boring technical detail about guns and ammo. The good cop stereotype gets a bit much but probably plays well to an American audience. However, it is a very good page turner a good variant on the Zombie theme. A good read that could have been an excellent read if it wasn't for the yawn inducing tech detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
What an excellent read. Well written, great characters and a believable plot(well that is if there was an actual zombie apocalypse).
Lovers of this genre buy it now, and if you don't like this genre buy it anyway because it is brilliant.
A* read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse