Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£12.94
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2014
I enjoyed reading this story about a former samurai warrior who falls in love with a farmer's poor widow in japan in the 1870s. Despite the differences in their social stature they share a special bond. The story is quite simply written with, regrettably, a few americanisms thrown in but it is very engaging and you come to care quite quickly about what will become of the couple and the other characters. It is not a great literary work but it is a lovely story, quite well told and I will certainly read more of the author's work. Really nothing bad to say about it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Set at the start of the Meiji period of Japan when the samurai were being disbanded and forced to give up their swords, Hiro goes to Hokkaido to start a new life. He meets Hanako a farmer whose husband has been killed by ronins.
The description of rural Japan and the life in these difficult times is moving. A whole different culture for Hiro too who has to learn to live off the land.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
A simple and quick read with lots of emotion and vibrancy in the storyline, you just want to keep on reading. I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes happy endings and simple love stories. There is intrigue, excitement as the story takes you on a journey and at every turn you wonder what is going to happen next. A feel good book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
I found this to be interesting in that it's subject matter was different to the norm. It was an easy to read romance, without being trashy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
A lone samurai looking for a purpose finds one in the home of a simple poor farmers daughter. Beautifully written & evocative piece
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
This is a beautifully written gentle story covering a turbulent period in Japan's history. With a very nasty villain and a wonderful hero and heroine, I was glued to this story and couldn't put it down. If you like well written historical romance with an unusual setting I highly recomend this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
I like books set in Japan and have read quite a lot of them. This one touches on traditional Japanese culture but the storyline is predictable and quite unexciting in my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
I enjoyed the insight into the fate of women in Japan marrying for love in the nineteenth century. The story pulled me along and I was sad when it ended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
My fave book of all time is The Last Concubine so I am always looking for similar books. This was a good read, slightly predictable but I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
A lovely story about getting through all difficulties by working hard. In the end it is all worth while and good times will be there in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£16.60

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)