Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2011
Can this really be vintage 1967? It's a million miles away from flower power and all that. Despite the muddiness of the recording (largely due to amateurish studio production if the sleeve notes are to be believed) this CD is the digital recreation of a monumental milestone in popular music. Though not as far out as later Beefheart creations, SAM is the point where the trad blues trunk first sprouts fresh shoots of avant garde rock, musically at least a decade ahead of what nearly every other blues-based artist was doing at the time and arguably a greater leap forward than its renowned near-contemporaries Sgt Pepper and Pet Sounds. The later tracks anticipate the divergent path that Beefheart and band were to take, so even if you have the original on vinyl why not get the CD for the bonus tracks alone, at a ridiculously low price. Magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 1999
In general, Captain Beefheart has to be one of the forgotten men of the music world. This album has to rank up with some of the best albums ever made. Songs like "Electricity" and "Drop Out Boogie" do take some getting used to, but are well worth the effort. The mix of these experimental classics with more accessible songs, such as "Plastic Factory", makes this album one of my all time favourites.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
This classic album is fantastic. It sounds better than ever in this remastered format. Captain Beefheart in his more bluesey style before a more free form avant-garde music took over. Which is also great !! Safe as Milk ? Safe as houses a great listen, prepare to hear something the like of which we had only had a taste of before, this album was released for the first time. Interesting, challenging the norm, great musicians, and Don's fantastic voice. Love it!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
I bought this on vinyl when it came out and still remember the effect on me when John Peel first played the Captain on his Sunday afternoon programme. Abba-zaba still gets me and it's probably the only one of the Captain's albums I play right through on a regular basis to this day. Trout Mask Replica requires a certain amount of determination to get through, but Safe as Milk is a good starting point for anyone who is curious about the fuss and reputation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
It's 44 years since this material was recorded, being a big fan of the 'STRICTLY PERSONAL' LP, I can see where some of its influences came from in this extended version of the 'SAFE AS MILK' LP. For any young person interested in familiarising their self with the recently dead 'Captain Beefheart' and His Magic Band, this CD (71 minutes running time) would be as good a place as any to start; and a lot more accessible than some of his later work.
66 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
How amazing is this album!! In the end its the best. It isnt cool to say Safe as Milk is your fave Beefheart cos its so obviously catchy but i dont care! I LOVE IT! There is a tremendous energy to the playing it makes you want to dance! Its kind of not nice to say that this debut is Beefhearts best cos youre saying it was all downhill from here but to me it is the best. Funny, wierd and bonkers! RIP Don
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
This is a great starting point for anyone looking to get into Cap'n Beef and it's certainly more accessible than Trout Mask Replica. There's some great bluesy, psychodelic rock which reminds me of some the excellent work Tom Waits has been doing recently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2008
Nothing more to add except legend has it that when he was asked by a journalist ... Whats so safe about milk ?? the captain growled back
' Ever tried paraffin on your cornflakes ?? '

The rest is history!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2010
I was only introduced to Beefheart music a few months ago. I've always been interested in all types of music, as long as it sounds good, there shouldn't be any particular genre I'll subscribe to. Beefheart is a genius. It's almost like him and his band were "playing" with music. His style encompasses different types of music, but rock and blues seem to be the main areas he's turned upside down, and always in a good way. Hard to describe his music so I would STRONGLY advise you to have a listen first. Safe As Milk is probably his most accessible album however, and if you like it, you'll be ready to venture into his catalogue further......have fun!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Three elements make this essential to any collection: the Captain's extraordinary urgent bluesy voice; the strange but wonderful music (Ry Cooder, John French); the weird lyrics. Hugely enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)