Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2000
This is a very readable account of the major naval battles of the 20th Century.The author is a distinguished naval historian but sadly, in particular in the chapter on the Battle of Jutland there are numerous inaccuracies. The author has HMS Warrior sunk in two different places by different ships, he has HMS Indomitable sunk instead of HMS Indefatigable and in the wrong place.What a pity that the work of such a distinguished historian can be spoiled in this way.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
A sketchy and hurried account of fourteen naval battles that has some serious errors. In fact there are some "facts" in these accounts I have not found in any other publication. Strange for a reputable naval historian. Look elsewhere and you will find better accounts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
An excellent and very readable summary of the major naval battles of the 20th century. Well written, impartial and informative. Some diagrams and photographs are all that's missing to make it even better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
I'm a great fan of Richard Hough. This is a really good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
Jolly fine read, sorry when it ended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Big gun battleships had a relatively short time as decisive weapons, from their introduction in the early 20th century to proving too vulnerable to air attack in the 1940s.

This book charts their rise and fall, looking at well-known engagements like Jutland, Midway and the hunt for the Bismarck as well as some lesser known ones.

It's well written but at times rather whizzes through events when I really wanted more detail. It also gets a bit confused at times, for example mentioning HMS Suffolk in the hunt for the Scharnhorst when it hadn't listed her as taking part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Well documented.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Superb book excellent reading I enjoyed this book and felt like I had learned something I urge anyone interested in Naval warfare to read it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)