Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
114
3.6 out of 5 stars
The Plantagenet Vendetta
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


on 5 May 2015
A fascinating premise, especially in light of the recent rediscovery of the body of Richard III which has reopened the debate about the fate of the Princes in the Tower. A fast paced read, though I found it overlong, with lengthy passages of monologue by various characters outlining their viewpoint. Nevertheless a good holiday read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Was spellbound with the story line. Could not put the book down excellent.Recommended to anybody. Left a bit of avoid to fill. Well done.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
The concept was quite good, but the execution execrable. I'm seldom tempted to give up on a book but, having a keen interest in the Plantagenets generally, and Richard III in particular, I wanted to know the ending, and so laboured my way through dreary conversations, highly unlikely scenarios (especially those featuring the so-called Royal Family), and frequent misuse of the English language. I found myself mentally rewriting virtually every sentence as I read - not a great recommendation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Very enjoyable.. I found John Paul Davis by accident, and now I have read 3 of his books and thoroughly enjoyed every one..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Enjoyed this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
A bit disappointed if I'm honest. The premise is sound, if the princes in the tower didn't get murdered, if a male of that line continued. But by introducing an alternate royal family with Stephen, James etc it became hard to follow and at time the story jumped to a point rather than flowed. I won't be reading more of this authors work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
This is another exciting book by John Paul Davis, and like his previous books, I found it compelling reading and hard to put down. The plot centres on present day descendants of the Princes in the Tower, suggesting that they actually survived, rather than the popular assumption that they were murdered. These present day descendants still resent the fact that their ancestors were denied the throne of England, and over the centuries since the time this happened, have plotted against the monarchy in a bid to reclaim their (perceived) birthright. The book explains the historical context well, and then moves to the present day, where the death of the current King is linked to their activities. It centres on investigative work by a TV journalist who uncovers both tombs of Plantagenet ancestors and the activities of their present day descendants. It is also apparent that the plotting will continue, as not all those responsible are arrested, and their sons will take the place of those now behind bars.

As I said at the beginning of the review, I really enjoyed this book, and give it five stars.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
fair
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
It is very annoying to read descriptions that display complete ignorance, by the writer, of what is being written about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
I like this book the story lines was alright
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here