Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now



on 11 June 2014
Have had this in the car for the past couple of months, absolutely love it - do have to skip 2 tracks when the kids are in the car too, but otherwise I have it turned up LOUD!!!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2014
OK I'm a very ancient rocker and haven't been impressed with any new music for a long time. Started leaning towards more folky music recently, don't hate todays music just not grabbed me by the throat and shook me about for a long time.
Also hate American soaps especially teen ones so never heard of Taylor Mumford, but boy can this girl sing, I couldn't believe she was so young when I first heard "make me want to die" on UK radio.
The whole band are incredibly talented musicians too. I got the first album when it first came out and was impressed that a band could have such a lot of diverse set of songs still under the rock banner. If there was any criticism it was that it was a little short and maybe their sound was a little under developed.
This album makes up for this in all ways, their song writing has matured and as Taylor herself has said they wanted to take their time and get it right..... and they have.
Listen to this album you will hear a little of all the old school rock bands wrapped up in a skilled modern music form. Plenty of influences there as they have admitted but executed with precision and passion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2014
Most impressive! Perfect pacing and flow throughout as the band lay out the nature of sin/redemption. Shades of light and dark
meld seamlessly in the ebb and flow of the music which is captivating, tightly played and fiendishly melodic!
Lead singer Taylor even manages to toy with her image as one of the current "bad girls" in the title track..
For those who still believe in a complete album to cherish from start to finish, this one is for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2014
I'm a big fan of Symphonic Metal, bands which make music that mixes orquestra and heavy metal, but I always loved The Pretty Reckless, their music is really easy to listen to, but that doesn't mean they are bad, Taylor Momsen's vocals are awesome, the songs are pretty catchy and meaningful, the only thing I didin't like in this album was some chorus that were really repetitive, besides that, this is a great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2014
Absolutely cracking rock album! Had long considered buying some of this band's music, and really glad I finally did.

From the catchy 'Going to Hell' and 'Heaven Knows' to the haunting 'House on a Hill' and 'Absolution', I don't thing there's a single bad track on this record.

Great songwriting, sublime riffs and Taylor Momsen's stonking voice: awesome stuff! A must buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2014
Like some other reviewers I am an old rocker but there are some great modern bands about. The Pretty Reckless is among the best of them. All of the band members are obviously exceptionally talented and can produce differing styles of music to a very high standard. The two bonus tracks are different versions of songs earlier on the album but they are a worthy inclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2014
An album I've been looking forward to and though there aren't as many really rocking songs as I thought there would be,i certainly am not disappointed.
It kicks of sounding very much like the rock you would expect and hope for,with track 2 keeping the pace up nicely,making it clear they have a real passion for this. Track 3 Is brilliant,but my one small disappointment is it sounds like it's going to be a thumping anthem and last 7 or 8 minutes,but it's only about 4. That said,it's a brilliant unexpected twist for the band,taking things in a new direction. The tracks move along nicely with some rocking songs and several slower paced ones,but TAYLOR MOMSEN has the vocals for it. The last track is a slow one,which will no doubt become more and more popular,it just ends things on a surprisingly calm level.
I certainly have nothing against them trying out several slow tracks here,they all sound great and will no doubt grow on most listeners unconvinced by the initial play. For me,this was a brave way of moving on. some more rocking,stage thumping,crowd roaring tracks,but with plenty of passion for the slower paced rock.
I suspect there will be plenty of lighters in the air for these slower moments when sung live,i just hope there aren't too many for fans of their heavier stuff. The heavier stuff does indeed still pack a punch,going places they haven't before aswell as visiting familiar ground and embracing a reliable friend.
This may not quite be the expected 2nd album,but it's a hell of a ride. It's an offering to rock your socks off and calm you down again. In short,the pretty reckless still sound pretty damn fantastic.

As an added note,the 2 bonus tracks on the deluxe version are very nice to have,but are just alternative versions of tracks already heard,so be warned,no original material with the bonus 2. However,these 2 are still great to hear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2014
If you saw them at Download festival the other day, don't let the posing bag put you off, this album is much better than the way they played/she sang the songs. In much the same vein as their first album, Going to Hell has some excellent songs on it. Some are first play, instant likes. Worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2014
I discovered this group with this album and i'm positively impressed by both the music and the lyrics. I like the voice and style of the singer very much. This sound has a real kick. It's just what you need to begin the day with some energy.
Totally recommand it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2014
First album I've bought of theirs and I love it. Some great tracks on there ranging from proper in yer face rock (why'd you bring a shot gun to the party?, heaven knows) right down to some chilled acoustic numbers (dear sister and house on a hill).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Who You Selling For
£5.99
Light Me Up
£5.32
Pretty Reckless
£7.89

Need customer service? Click here