Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2016
Hard to fault these Megapacks as they offer a wide range of genres showcasing the talents of many authors who might otherwise be lost to obscurity.

Here then is a collection of stories from 'Weird Tales' - most of which date from the twenties and thirties. As such, you will get werewolves, witches, vampires and cursed objects (there are an awful lot of cursed objects). You will also get plenty of moustache twirling (usually foreign) villains facing off against dashing all-American heroes. But hey, sometimes, it's just good to wallow in simple old-fashioned story telling and not have to worry about layers, subtexts or socio-political commentary.

Granted, few of the tales transcend their rather generic pulp origins (I suppose that's kind of the point) and while perfectly entertaining in their own right don't really live long in the memory. There are a few exceptions. Darrell Schweitzer's epic novella 'To Become A Sorcerer' is bursting with enough ideas to put many a full length novel to shame. Manly Wade Wellman's 'The Golgotha Dancers' is a genuinely creepy tale of a painting with a sinister life of its own. We also get two stories by Clark Ashton Smith - both of which demonstrate that author's particular talent for combining lush, lyrical prose with palpable atmospheres of foreboding.

Oddly enough, it's the contributions from the big names of the genre that prove to be the most disappointing, with a couple of decidedly so-so stories by H.P. Lovecraft (both written in collaboration) and a very corny effort from Robert E. Howard.

Still, this is a rather nice time capsule of an era when fantasy short stories were widely read and appreciated and at a bargain-basement price to boot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2016
Lots of great stories. Some bummers, some old and some newer. Worth it for the money!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Brilliant! Some classic genres included but each with a startling and refreshing new twist that places them into a different category, Highly recommended, amazing value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
A selection of oldies but goodies. Anyone who enjoys the genre should just get this - for the price, a very entertaining few hours reading, and contained a few tales I'd not encountered before
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I haven't read all the stories in this collection, but I am sure that they will be just as weird and wacky. I wouldn't advise anyone who is a bit nervous after dark to read them, or only read them when it is daylight!
I am keeping my eyes open for more weird tales, as I would like to add to my collection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
A great collection of unusual tales that will certainly have you on the edge of your seat.

As with all of the megapacks, this is a substantial collection that really is excellent value for money.

If you're looking for something that is just that little bit different, then you've got to buy this collection....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
what can I say, I liove scifi and fantasy and these stories fit the bill nicely, how can you get a better deal at this price, love these megapacks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
A good variety of stories and a varied style of authors make this an interesting kindle read.Excellent value for money too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Eclectic and accomplished mix of stories, enough to keep you interested for hours. All of a good length which makes this book well worth the nominal fee for the download.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
Some really good stories, some not so good but thats what you get with compilation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse