Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2014
It is impressive how the author manages to keep up the style of the original stories. Once or twice she may have become a little too antique! Things jarred a bit in the Girl Gone story. No one in Kent (where I live) has ever talked like the farmers here, or anywhere else, I suspect, (and certainly not yeoman farmers). It is also noticeable that their strange dialect soon softens after their first few sentences. What is more, in this story the author forgets about the existence of railways, it seems, since we read of taking a mail coach to the north of England. I think such coaches became extinct at least half a century before this tale is set. Also, it would not have gone from Kent. (London is
in the way.) It must be hard to get everything right from a farm in New Zealand, of course.

Some of the stories are tame and lack any sense of excitement, but they are still the best of their type that I have read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
I only managed three stories so it may have gotton better but Holmes deductions seemed to have been arrived at by magic instead of logic and observation. Not my cup of tea.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Nice how some of the old clients of Sherlock come back for more advice and help. But unfortunately, the stories are only rewritten of the original stories cleverly done but still a rewrite so I would not class then as new stories. Saying that It is ok as a light read but would have preferred it if the stories had been more original in their content.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
If like me you are a Holmesian purist, then this is for you, an absolute gem, the Author knows her Holmes and Watson, and the period. Hopefully there will be many many more from this author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
Sherlock Holmes remains everyone's favourite detective - and authors love writing about him too! Award winning writer Lynn McConchie is a genuine Holmes enthusiast, and it shows in her stories. These have the wit and wisdom, the vocabulary and the proper joie de vivre of the originals,and make for an enjoyable evening by the fire as the reader is amused, entertained and tries to solve the mysterries just as Holmes does.There are 14 short stories here, great puzzles,and plenty for the reader to be intrigued by, Sherlock fans will get all the connections and links,, but newcomers to the genre will also find plenty to enjoy.The game is cheerfully and engagingly afoot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
So many writers of Holmes these days ,its sometimes hard to pick good from bad,this one in my opinion is mostly very good with some entertaining stories. Good value for money and worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
A must for Holmes addicts!

A really good idea to give previous "customers" a second encounter with the master detective. I loved each story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Very readable and entertaining stories, written in the style of Conan Doyle and which will be appreciated by Sherlock Holmes fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
I really enjoyed these stories, they captured the flavour of the original and it was nice to revisit old friends
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
You could really believe you are reading Authur Conan Doyle .I have enjoyed the stories as though they were originals .
There is something very relaxing with those stories of Victorian London
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here