Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
26
4.9 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2017
Superb band
Great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
With elements of GP and the rumour, Dexys and Stax records. This 12 track offering from Stone Foundation is one of the best albums i've purchased by a new band in a very very long time. A wonderful record from start to finish.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
A simply stunning release from Stone Foundation. Every tune hits the spot. Also featured on the album are 2 musical legends in Nolan Porter & Carleen Anderson. If you buy just one album this year it has to be this one. It fuses Soul, Funk, Ska in a perfect blend of musical prowess. The band are as tight as you can get, brilliant musicians. Vocals from Neil Jones just sublime. Having seen the band live several times they are as good live as the recorded material. Looking forward to seeing them play live again in The Globe, Cardiff 25th July, this time with Nolan Porter himself
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Quite simply, Stone Foundation are one of the most underrated bands around.
Admired by many live music fans, Stone Foundation are not likely to become a commercial success to the scale of the manufactured/fashionable/throw away music acts that seem to hit the scene so quickly and die away twice as fast.

Stone Foundation have a great back catalogue and this album just oozes class.
Saw them play numbers off this album live in Bilston and Nottingham - every track is a winner!

As the review title suggests, my purchase from Amazon was my second copy.
I originally bought a 'deluxe' release of vinyl and cd. The cd in that release just came in a clear plastic wallet.
Call me an old fuddy-duddy but I like to have an album cover to look at - so I bought another copy so I could admire the artwork by Horace Panter
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Great album. Sounds fantastic. Have not stopped listening to this CD. A must have for any music fans collection. Awesome
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
There are so many wonderful influences on this album. Stax, Atlantic, Muscle Shoals, Norman Whitfield plus a few " white soul boys" but it also has a feel of it's own. The album is full of warmth, feeling and of course soul. I first heard Stone Foundation playing the music for Joe Harris ( Undisputed Truth) on the Craig Charles Funk and Soul Show performing Papa was a Rolling Stone, the original version. I was blown away by their musicianship which is all too evident on this album. I have collected soul music for over 40 years and this is up with the best. I really recommend that if you have a liking for real soul that you give this a try. I loved the Stax house band with a passion. I think I am going to love Stone Foundation as much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Is tumbled across Stone Foundation playing support at a smallish London gig a few years ago; they knocked me out with their musicianship, writing, stagecraft and sheer determination to be the best. Each album has moved them a step closer to achieving that ambition, and "To Find The Spirit" sees them hitting the nail right on the head. Echoes of Van Morrison, Dexy's Midnight Runners, Booker T, The Rumour, William deVaughn, all mix with their own vision and sound to create a massive slab of up-to-the-minute soul/funk/R-and-B .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
If you're looking for new music with style, heart and passion look no further. Jazz, Soul, Funk, Dub Reggae it's all here under one roof. With special guest appearances from Carleen Anderson, Andy Fairweather Low, Nolan Porter, Pete Williams and Dennis Bovell, this really is a must have CD.
One of the best new albums i've heard in a very long time. Find the spirit and get this CD, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Stumbled across this band when they were supporting The Selecter at the weekend, and boy am I glad I did! As a fan of "real" music The Stone Foundation have raw talent, full of energy and most of all are fantastic at what they do and that is play good music!
If you only buy one album this year get this you won't be disappointed! Please come back to Newcastle soon! X
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Vibrant and incredibly souful, to not have this in your collection would be a mistake on so many levels. It escapes me how a band can be around for more than 10 years and not get the recognition they deserve. Here's hoping this brings them acclaim for such quality music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.59
£12.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)