Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2014
The dog training bit was good with a few helpful tips, but the name dropping was boring and made me skip through a lot. Worth getting for the advice if you are a new dog owner or need to be leader of the pack..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
When I downloaded Train Dogs Cesar's Way to my kindle, I was under the impression that it was written by Cesar MiIlan. My mistake, as his name is not credited with writing it, didn't see that until it was too late. The chapters are written by other people describing his technique and case histories. Although one case history ended without a conclusion. If you admire Cesar Millan's method of dog training, then buy his books, instead of a book written by someone else but using his name to sell it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
I've been a dog lover all my life and yes, I also like Cesar Millan's TV shows. I think he's doing a great job and I often catch up with the shows on youtube.

In any case, I just read Al Parr's Train Dogs Cesar's Way and gave it as a gift for my nephew who recently got a fox terrier. This book for beginners shows the basics that every dog owner should know, from having a pack leader attitude which is so important to get right, and learning the basics about dog psychology, to specific dog training techniques like the "tsch" sound and body blocking among others, as well as basic teachings of the science of conditioning and how the reward-punishment system works.

It's over 150 pages long which is great value for money. It's in two parts with the first part all about the training, from the author who has attended Millan's shows and seminars and uses the techniques successfully himself. The book also contains bonus articles about Cesar's life and philosophy as the second section, from top newspapers and magazines like The New Yorker, The Epoch Times and National Geographic. It includes lots of information from people who have worked directly with Millan including interviews and covers all the advice given for different dogs and temperaments and issues. Then there's even more information from dog trainers Daniel Stevens, Julia Levitt and Leyton Cougar.

There's so much packed in to this book. It is certainly worth five stars!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
I'd recommend this book to anyone interested in dog training, especially if they are a fan of Cesar Millan. There was a lot of his special brand of dog psychology - more to do with the human being trained than anything else. The book was really clear with the chapters and lists but there was lots of extra information like the appendix. It's good for beginners - not too overwhelming but really easy and helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
This book reiterates everything Cesar teaches on tv, it is informative and once you start reading very difficult to put down, the book is inspirational for anyone who wants to provide more stability to their dog if only they had the know how,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
What a strange collection of chapters, by different authors (not cesar millan). It feels like an advert for the tv series not an informative book. A lot of repetition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Cesars book is very helpful,
Full of great advice and tips. Works well,
Would recommend to everybody I know.
Thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Don't waste time & pennies, buy Milan's actual books
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
Thought it was by Cesar, disappointing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
tried all that cesar advised,ended up having my dominating yorkie castrated,problem solved,he is a wonderful companion now and no bad temper.,the dog not me lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here