Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
71
Ogilvy on Advertising
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.19


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 December 2016
This book tells the history of advertising from the perspective of one of the recognised greats. This was powerful information back in the 1960s and ' 70s.

But that's also the problem with the book. The world has moved on. The way marketing messages reach consumers and business customers has changed. Fortunately, the underlying motivations that drive purchases hasn't, so there's still plenty to gain from reading this book.

If you work in advertising, even in the 2000s, I think this is essential reading to remind you that the ultimate purpose of advertising is to increase sales. If you're a business owner, this is an interesting read but it probably won't change what you do. Media advertising used to be the only way to reach out into the mass market. These days, the Internet is either the primary route to customers or it's the secondary source when a buyer wants to know more.

I feel stingy giving this advertising classic only 4 stars but I can't justify the full 5 star rating.

About my book reviews - My goal is to help you to find the best business advice in books. I aim to be a tough reviewer because the main cost of a book is not the money to buy it but the time needed to read it and absorb the key messages. 4 stars means this is a good to very good book. I will respond to any comment you make about my review.

Paul Simister, a business coach who helps business owners who feel stuck, get unstuck.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2014
A fantastic book on advertising and learning what works due to, ultimately, human habits and behaviour. I first heard of Ogilvy when I saw a Tweet by Rory Sutherland, who is hilarious and works for this advertising agency (check out his videos on YouTube by the way). It is amazing that in this book the author says that almost all of the things that work in advertising are well known, have been for some time (all methods are explained here too) and most of the creative people who work in Ad agencies all over the world ignore these principles and keep trying to reinvent the wheel. This frustrates the author more than anything! I also didn't know how to distinguish advertising between agencies. However, through illustrations of Ogilvy's big clients and campaigns over the years, this has increased my awareness from absolutely zero to quite a decent level. This was a great educational book to read and great to put ALL of these principles into practise if you want to promote your own business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2014
David Ogilvy the worlds most successful direct sales copywriter takes you through the process of crafting great sales copy.With many examples of legendary sales copy written for American Express Card.Who hasn`t seen Oglivy`s work in their letter box
David explains the principles in easy to understand language.From people need to justify their purchases to p
eople don`t like being sold to
Fantastic book worth it`s weight in gold
[...]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2017
A great, easy read. Good to see a man ahead of his time place copywriting and direct response in its rightful place, as a cornerstone of advertising. Most of the principles, and certainly the spirit, of this book are equally relevant today as when this book was first published.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2015
David Ogilvy is one of those men that made a massive impact in his industry. He also happened to enjoy documenting it. This is the case of this book, almost a how-to guide on the world of advertising on the second half of the 20th century.

He also happens to promote himself throughout the book but this doesn't diminish the final result.

Recommended to anyone who works in the industry and businesspeople in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2017
Great book.
If you are in Marketing and haven't read this book, you will enjoy it and learn from it. This advice even applies to Growth Hackers (no, really!). Ogilvy was the Master, and defined modern marketing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2013
What a book. Spent my Sunday reading it and it is was intriguing and enlightening. It is simply packed with gems of ideas. Even the layout of the book is a joy, and a lesson in itself. Don't hesitate. Buy it now!
PS. Does this sound like an ad?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2016
At times and interesting read, and some great examples of ads from a different era, but reads more like self-publicity for the author a lot of the time. More of a novelty than anything useful relating to modern advertising.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2013
Full of great ideas and inspiration. Loads of classic advertising campaigns highlighted and explained. If ever you find yourself needing some inspiration or motivation - turn to this book. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2015
Simply brilliant for those well versed in advertising or looking to learn the ropes. David gives sensible example-driven advice though some chapters (how to start your first advertising firm) are a little out my as a new starter! Certain case studies ail stick in your mind and you'll be surprised when you can pull a relevant example out the bag at a brainstorm. Worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)