Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 20 February 2015
Two stars for writing a book. That's the best I can say. It's like the outline for a bigger book that needs lots more padding. Everything and everybody are a bit stilted and dated. I'd started so I finished but I was very glad to get to the end. If in doubt don't bother......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2017
A real clunky. I just couldn't get on with this. The narrative is trite, the characters poorly formed, the use of language is really plodding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2014
On the whole, not a bad story. A steady build up to the story end. Quite well put together really. Anyone who likes genealogy stories will like this as an easy read. Perhaps a bit bland, lacking excitement possibly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2014
Absolutely brilliant - John Nixon has written a brilliant story. A can't put down book. The character and settings come to life. The reader really cares about the characters and wants to learn more. An absolute gem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2016
Another great story by John Nixon. I love all of the twists and turns of the storyline. Looking forward to reading the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2015
I really enjoyed the human side of the history research. I guessed the final outcome, half way through, but it was still a good read, with reference to using particular websites, that I use myself.
I would recommend it to expert as well as novice Family History researchers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2016
Another good read from this author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2014
I just love these family history stories. I have not found a murder in my family yet, but it was good to read this tale of someone who did,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2016
Really enthralling! So many strands, all twisted together perfectly! Nice to see a genealogical story set in a really thriving C19 town - perfect setting. Looking forward to reading more by John Nixon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2016
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse