Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Pilot
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
137
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2009
I got my DVD from Amazon.com and have to say it's well worth waiting for. The interaction between the main players is great. The arc of the story is not crime driven but character driven which gives it so much scope. Fake psychic Patrick Jane turns Consultant for California Bureau of Investigation after death of his wife and daughter at the hands of serial killer Red John. But this does not dominate the series, it is just the thread that holds it together which is very clever.

All the main players are superb in their roles. Each episode is finely played out with some great comic touches. It could be seen as a star vehicle for Simon Baker (who is superb) but the others (Robin Tunney, et al) are all equally as good.

As for the DVD it has all episodes, gag reel, couple of docs and some of the episodes have lost evidence (bits that were cut out from the originals), and subtitles in various languages including English.

I would highly recommend this. A different type of "cop" show. Not much telly has been "must see" over the past few years, but The Mentalist is the exception.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
This programme is brilliant. It's got a perfect balance of humour, serious crime solving & a bit of "will they, won't they" between 2 of the main characters. It's such a fresh approach to the crime solving - after 9 series of CSI and two spin-off's, crime drama's were getting a bit dull, but this is definitely worth watching. I've watched most of series 1 (downloaded from the net) & I've not come across a rubbish storyline yet. Simon Baker plays Patrick Jane really well. The character could be perceived as incredibly arrogant as he knows how clever and intuitive he is, but he does it in such a way that it's funny when he's always right! Plus, the underlying storyline of Red John and Jane's wife & child makes you want to watch the next episode to see if that story unfolds anymore. Hope they do a second series!
77 comments| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
Although from a whole host of similar cop formula shows, The Mentalist is special. The character of a reformed con-psychic with Holmes' powers of observation, recognition of others mental processes, stupid bravery and a winning smile - is genius. We love the arrogant so-and-so. He crosses the line we wouldn't so much he's worn a groove. "Stick to the procedure? Where's the fun in that?" And the other characters are developing nicely, particularly the love interest. A little too much big bad man, Red John. But it covers all of California and its society so there's quite a lot of thought gone into this one.

This DVD gives you 22 episodes (I think) and some background interviews, bloopers and missing scenes. All-in-all excellent show that won't run out of ideas for a while. And no adverts!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 November 2009
Yes, how come Simon Baker didn't win the Emmy he was nominated for as the male lead in this show?

The Mentalist is one of those shows that I didn't 'get' at first, having caught an episode halfway into the season. I thought I'd give it a try as I really liked Simon Baker from The Guardian, but I couldn't see the angle - is it Police, is it supernatural, is it Scooby-Doo and so on? Then FIVE started to re-run the entire series again and after watching the pilot episode, I was hooked. You really need to understand where Simon Baker's character comes from to enjoy the show. Bits of his past are drip fed throughout the series: watch out for those because they are real gems.

What sets The Mentalist aside from other US shows is the fact that the entire supporting cast are all rounded characters. So you're not just watching Simon Baker's luminous performance(luminous is the word that springs to mind, watch it and you'll agree I think), but also you end up caring about the other members of the team, who are not the usual cardboard cutouts.

The Extras have some really interesting interviews to the cast as well as a pretty good featurette about psychics/mentalists and such things.

My only gripe is that this boxset is not available yet in the UK so I had to buy it from Amazon US, and of course had to pay import plus it took about a month to arrive. Now please let's all lobby FIVE so that they screen Season 2 before the next millennium, they have bought the rights but clearly they are in no great hurry to let us see it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
I've been hooked on the later series of 'The Mentalist' showing recently on Channel 5 and thought I'd buy this DVD start from the beginning. Contrary to my expectations, this show hit its stride from the very start and even the pilot has the richness and depth in characters and story that I've come to love of the later series.

Much has been said of the depth of the characters but it bears repeating. All are flawed, and seeing the imperfections and touches of humanity in all of them is a joy.

Simon Baker as the lead role, in tandem with some excellent scripts, strikes a difficult balance: an individual with a gift for observation and a ready supply of entertaining mind games, arrogant and charasmatic, who has learned (a little) humility following the murder of his wife and child. There must have been a temptation to make Patrick Jane a kind of superhero, a flawless crime fighter with supernatural powers but his stunts sometimes backfire and though he is loathed to admit it he is occasionally suprised as events unfold. And he gets a bloody nose for his troubles at least once every other episode... I think I would have more difficulty accepting Jane's abilities if I wasn't such a fan of a certain Mr D Brown, whose sharp mind, sharp tailoring, quick wits and occasional miscalculations are brought very readily to mind while watching this series. Many of the tricks and techniques such on display in Derren's TV and live shows are also present in Jane's repetoire.

The relationship between Jane and Lisbon is brought vividly to life and fairly crackles with the chemistry between the actors on screen. Though there are hints, we are fortunately spared any tiresome romantic involvement and an element of tension between them is brought deliciously into focus when Jane confides his aim if Red John is found.

Rigsby and Van Pelt's 'thing' feels a little more strained and is less believable. It is not a major plot line, however, and is treated with deftness and subtlety by the writers.

Disbelief must still occasionally be suspended for the sake of entertainment and at times the stories can be a little formulaic. It is rare, however, that I feel unsatisfied or disappointed and for that I am grateful. And with almost 1000 minutes of running time, there is more than enough here to keep me entertained for a few weeks.

I would recommend this series to anybody, even cynical old men who usually tut and roll their eyes at tedious american dramas. I defy you not to be charmed by this wonderful peice of entertainment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
You have to keep an open mind while watching the dreamy Simon Baker's deliberately antagonistic plot machinations as Patrick Jane, because unlike most TV crime dramas - The Mentalist doesn't lead you gently by the hand to a stable conclusion. The murders are shown red in tooth and claw as are the devastated emotional grieving aftermath for the loved ones. This is a TV show with heart, even though at moments Patrick Jane seems utterly narcissistic and heartless. When we're allowed a few glimpses into Patrick's soul, the music softens, his smile, intelligence, guile, instincts all fall away and we can see the emotional scar tissue trauma he's still going through. Excellent performances from all the cast, giving it their all for prosperity as something they can be proud of. Each episode is played for keeps, with no lazy directorial or scripting shortcuts. Intelligent, twisty, mature yet mischievous drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
The first thing that hits you with this series is that there isn't one of the characters in it that you don't like or wouldn't mind spending time with, at least that is how I felt on watching it. This is one of those series that I can see running a running due to its high quality story development and charcter interactions. This series is well worth a look.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2012
Patrick Jane delivers a first class performance. I started following The Mentalist in season 2 so getting to see season 1 on DVD was just fab. The storyline and other cast members are just great - don't you just love Cho???
I've seen all of the episodes since season 2 but will definitely be buying all of the other seasons, you know, treat myself every month!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
It is not bad to watch as relaxation, something to turn your mind off. But it is poor copy of 'Monk'. Similar 'consultant' role to the police. Similar background of looking for his wife's killer. Some of the cases are even similar. Monk lost his eyesight for a few days. Mentalist does too. They could have been a bit original. A lot of things are copied outright. I love Monk more though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Again, this is captivating and interesting, and sure to make you laugh too! And maybe cry just a little. As the seasons progress your bond with the characters will grow meaning you love them a little more each episode. Well worth watching!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)