Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2017
While the programme itself is wonderful, this edition of it is dire. It doesn't have subtitles for the deaf; without them I can't understand what is happening - essential for such a surreal dialogue where you just can't interpolate what might be going on. The first series does have subtitles so there's absolutely no excuse for the people who produced this edition.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Even more Jinsy than the fist one and yet I still want more - worth it for the "Knacken" episode on its own. Plenty to laugh out load at, if you like your comedy quirky with a side of dark.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Quirky and original satire on all things folky and small island mentally. The music festival is particular hilarious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
An original and cult comedy series. Think Father Ted meets Spike Milligan's Q series with a dash of Python. My children know the scripts and songs off by heart. Nightly bye.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
Well, this makes NO SENSE AT ALL but that makes it so, so funny. This was a present and the recipient loves it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
I have just finished the second series on Sky Atlantic and thank goodness Sky had the sense and foresight to take this on. The BBC did a pilot only!
In their time I loved the Goons and Monty Python and the more surreal comedies. Jinsy is certainly surreal and it is great to see that there is exceptional talent out there. Set on an island which seems to incorporate all the Channel Islands, Jinsy seems to have devolved to the most bizarre and weird pythonesque community.Celebrity cameos abound, Stephen Fry, David Tennent, Derek Jacobi and so on. Storylines are so funny and the songs where they are judged by a golden retriever named Sandy are are Just brilliant (Licky Licky song in particular). Have a look on youtube for the songs and tasters, then you will have to go and purchase the dvds because in the future these will be regarded as comedy classics.
Jinsy is a bit chalk and cheese though, you either love it or hate it but series 2 left on such a cliffhanger, might we see the Mighty He? I can't wait for the next series!
Nightly Bye!
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Totally wacky original humour that is different from all the run of the mill stuff on TV now. I so hope it gets a third series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2016
Jinsy is one of those things you're either going to love or hate. I'm in the former camp of course. I'd seen both series 1 & 2 on TV and just had to purchase the DVD's so I could travel to the land of Jinsy whenever I pleased. Jinsy is a rather strange weird place with equally strange and weird people, all 791 of them! Oh plus the mysterious and omnipotent, The Great He!

From the amazing technological (should be installed everywhere by our councils) Tessellators, the wacky story lines and the brilliant songs, to the colourful characters they come up with, Jinsy is just superb, an acquired taste, but superb non the less.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I love this programme so had to buy both series when they came out to fill the gaps when they aren't on air.
Roll on series 3.
:o) Nightly bye :o)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
A beautifully filmed insanely bonkers masterpiece which seems to get better the more times you watch it as you 'sort' of understand the format and know the character catchprases, see facial expressions and nuances that you didn't see first time round, also includes super catchy songs that you will find yourself whistling next day.

This is a hidden gem that i came across by accident which in a way makes it even more special as i went into watching it not knowing a single thing about it.

I want to know more about these guys but can't seem to find anything - Definitely needs a third series !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)