Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

  • Whit
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
59
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2015
good book and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Timeless cleverness
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
One of his best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
World of Books originally sent me a paperback version of the book , I wrote to them asking for a replacement and as I didn't get a reply I left poor feedback after 4 days or so of waiting . Today on the 20 / 7 2013 I've received the hardback copy and I owe WOB a HUGE APOLOGY , I'M SO SORRY FOR LEAVING POOR FEEDBACK . !!1
If I could remove it , I would be obliged .
The book that came today is BRILLIANT , THANK YOU , WOB !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2000
The book is very enjoyable, and entertaining. Banks's word choice is superb, and the story of Isis is convened in a very modern way.
The reason I feel Bank's has achieved such an enticing read is the fact he takes religion and points out the good and bad in having faith, whatever the denomination.
Overall, a brilliant read. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it being the first time I have read any of Banks's works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 1999
Fun and frothy. Lighter than most of books, the main theme of this book is religion, and how silly it is. I think its main weakness is that it makes fun out of religion, but isn't as cutting as it could be. In fact The Crow Road deals with religion better in passing IMHO. if you don't like Banks at his darkest read the Crow Road, Expedair Street and then this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2008
Whit is neither a cruel satire mocking the absuridites of some religious cult or a criticism of mainstream, organised religion, it is a much more skilful and enjoyable book.
Isis Whit, the Elect of God, brought up to follow the beliefs of the Luskentyrians (a small Scottish cult dominated by her autocratic grandfather)journeys into the wider world encountering drugs and pornography empires in her attempt to find her cousin Morag.
In creating Isis, Banks has depicted a marvellously entertaining figure. Unquestioning in the sincerity of her beliefs yet blessed with courage and determination, we can sense both the absurd figure that she presents to a wider society and the sadness that the society cannot bring itself to accept her.
Banks's writing is rich and vivid, his descriptions of characters and locations colourful; throughout his writing is laced with a gentle humour meaning that the book is always easy to read.
I am a great admirer of Iain Banks and this is one of his best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)