Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 7 May 2014
I bought this laptop, after much research in to buying a thin and fast quality laptop. It is very thin, but not so small due to the fact it is a 15.6" laptop! It is perfect for home and business use though, and feels very sturdy and made of quality parts.
Windows 8.1 comes preloaded and i know everyone complains about it, but you just have to go on the steep learning curve and get used to it - move with the technology - you will be pleased you did with the lovely touch screen.

The touch screen is very responsive, and i use it way more than i thought i would - especially with the laptop 'reversed' so it stands up, resting on the keyboard base. There is a little Win8 button under the screen so you can get back to the Metro screen easily (not mentioned in any reviews). When presented in the reversed stand format, it looks great on a table top and can be used to play a movie or run a picture slide show etc for everyone to see.

One of the best features i was unaware of, is the motion detector - so using the webcam you can gesture (like minority report or something!) and make a photo bigger or swipe to the next one and back again etc. If you have music playing at the same time you can reduce the volume or mute it by putting your finger close to your lips like a 'shhhhh!'.

Logging in is usual for one or more users too, as it sets up a face detection, so when you open the lid, it recognises which user you are and logs you in - great underrated feature. Not something I used on my phone, but on a laptop - perfect to save typing the password and log in quickly – especially after resuming from sleep mode in a second or 2.

Battery life seems great, and not too many bloatware items - just MacAfee which i removed before they stung me for a subscription as the MS Security Essentials (MSE/Defender) on Win8 is fine for home use.

I also like the phone companion, so i linked my phone and then able to use the laptop to make calls or send a text and copy the photos from it wirelessly..
.
The dolby sound is impressive too, very load for music or movies. The laptop runs quietly, doesn't get too hot, like my last Dell.
Overall, i am very pleased and i think i will enjoy this laptop for many years as I bought one to last.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2014
brilliant laptop been using it a few days now bit puzzled by the comment it is slow though ?? takes about 1/2 second web page on screen even with 3-4 programs running .. it looks really stylish and like other comment very light so far well worth the money and with this spec should be ok for a few years to come... overall great and would defiantly recommend the laptop to anybody upgrading theirs
44 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2014
My last laptop broke a few weeks ago and was quite old. After looking a lot of reviews I decided to buy this one.

First impression:

The computer itself looks really nice. The plastic gray sides makes look the laptop a bit cheap but once you open, it looks so nice.
The keyboard is really nice and easy to clean.

Audio:
The audio is really good, with a really clear sound

Screen:
The touch screen is amazing, really sensitive. The screen has a sensor and regulates the bright of the screen depending on the light in your room.

The touchpad: Really sensitive you shouldn't have any problem with it.

Yoga mode: That's the main thing for me. I use my computer as TV and watch all my favorite program on it. The laptop looks like a nice small tv and the use of the screen keyboard is really easy.

Bonus : Nice small things live the voice commander or the motion control. They allow you to open apps with your voice or skip songs, mute the sound with your hands. Two bad things : You only can use that with Windows programs ( not if you're on a website) and it doesn't understand my accent :)

I use this computer for entertainment, I don't know if it can suit for professional use. But it fits perfectly what I need and I am really happy with this buy
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2016
Beware buying this laptop. Not compatible with Windows 10. Bought this with windows 8. Upgraded to windows 10 and all touchscreen facilities stopped working. Reset to windows 8. touchscreen never restored. no info or support / fixes available. if you want a 20th century style laptop pretending to have touchscreen facilities and you are ready to face into lots of problems to fix this is probably right for you. Just running as normal laptop with no toucscreen takes 5 minutes to start up properly. Yawn. if you want a 21st century laptop buy something else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2014
Nice looking, love the touch screen although keep forgetting to use it as such! Took quite a while to get used to the One Drive, had a lot of settings to adjust but worth persevering. The only problem is the screen brightness - so so so annoying that it seems to dim of it's own accord especially when using battery and difficult to see in a sun filled room. Adjusted all the settings to max but still don't understand why it does that.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2014
rather slower than I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2014
This is a good looking laptop, very lightweight and much easier to use with Windows 8 because of the touchscreen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2014
Keyboard feels a bit cheap and flimsy. Mouse buttons not very responsive. Which best buy though and that's why I purchased it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2014
All good with the product to date
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2015
This used laptop look brand new and works like it too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)