Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
89
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2014
This is an excellent piece of kit. We bought a Nikon D3300 kit and no lens hood included and had to buy this to cut out unwanted light and am really glad we bought it. It fits well clicks into place nicely and we leave it on inside and outside. It really improves your photography as cuts out stray light allowing the processor to function more efficiently and you get better sharper clearer pictures. Worth every penny and it enhances to look of the camera whilst also protecting the lens from knocks.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Be careful of imitations. This IS the correct lens hood for the 18-55 mm VR II lens and not the HB 45. Thought this might be helpful.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
PACKAGING & CONTENTS.
--------------------------------------
The HB-69 Comes supplied within a retail style thin cardboard box bearing the traditional Nikon black and gold design, there is almost no product information on the packaging and no illustrations.

Inside the box the hood is wrapped in a clear plastic bag and there is nothing else to be found within the box.

COMPATABILITY.
-------------------------
The HB-69 lens hood is designed for use with the Nikon AF-S DX 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR II lens. The fitting is 52mm and it will fit on other lenses, but it is specifically designed for use with the above lens.

REVIEW.
------------
Having made a significant investment in my D3200 that is only used for product reviews I have whenever possible tried to pair my camera with official or at least high quality compatible accessories. The price of the hood compared to alternatives is, by anyone's standard rather high.

Now obviously Nikon has had to make an investment in terms of R&D to develop this product while competitors have likely just copied the design. Even factoring this in and the high quality plastics clearly used in construction, its still an overpriced piece of kit.

Now I have to confess that I do not own any professional studio quality lighting, all of the bulbs in our home at LED / CCFL and using just a single speedlight the hood offers no noticeable benefit. As its winter and here in England its dull, wet and windy so I am sadly not able to currently offer any with / without images for your comparison.

While I may not gain the main benefits from the HB-69 until summer arrives there are some secondary benefits that it offers.

When the hood is deployed, installed facing outwards, it serves to protect the lens from rain drops when your camera is setup with a rain hood. It also protects the glass somewhat from impacts when filming up close and from errant fingers.

When the hood is installed inverted it also serves to hold the camera level when placed on a surface. While I have a kit bag more often than not my camera sits beside my laptop and without the hood it sits tilted forwards. Now with the hood it sits level, it's a small and insignificant thing, but I'm happier that's it sits balance and level and that the lens isn't in contact with my computer table.

The quality of the plastics honestly couldn't be better and sat with the weight of the lens on the hood there is no evidence of any detrimental effect such as warping.

Now, as some have commented the fit of the hood isn't brilliant. I wouldn't say that it was loose, but its also a million miles from snug or secure. It screws on easily, but doesn't lock or tighten when installed. Using your DSLR in camera mode this isn't an issue, but I have noticed that when recording video footage and conditions are windy there is about 1mm to 2mm play in the hood which does result in some rattle noise being picked up by the onboard microphone.

For the price and the fact it is specifically designed for this lens that's just unacceptable.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Does exactly what it should and a perfect fit BUT..... Very expensive. I sourced two others that did not have Nikon on them they look the same, fit the same, weigh the same and all do the same job. Difference was the independent Hoods both cost under Eight pounds. In future if I do not get a free hood with the lens I will purchase Independent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Quite expensive, but you get high quality genuine Nikon product. Fits perfect. I am happy with this. Before i watched cheep hoods, but i decided to buy genuine, and i don't regret. Recommend for peoples who's like original and high quality stuff. As i say, i am happy. Thank's Nikon, thank you amazon for good service.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Nikon HB-69 lens hood for nikkor 18-55mm AF-S DX lens.
What can you say about a lens hood except, make sure to get the correct hood for whatever lens. They are not all the same.
A very simple fit on the camera but it can also be reversed and fitted on the lens when putting it away. Great idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
It's a lens hood and you need one and it does the job. Unlike cheaper versions this is the real one so therefore works. Only gripe is, it should be included with the lens instead of becoming a quite costly extra. Cest la bloody vie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
WARNING: This lens not does not fit all versions of the new 18-55 VR stock lens. I have just had to return a HB-69 for a refund to my camera shop. The new lens hood for my particular version is, I am informed, (reliably?) is a HB-N107*-which they do not stock. Can find no confirmation of this elsewhere so far though.

UPDATE:
Have now contacted NIKON UK for their comment on the HB-N107* fitting later 18-55 VR lenses

OK. Have now heard back from Nikon UK.
There are 2 lenses: An AF-S and an AF-P. Look on your camera box to see which you have (like I didn't !!)

I have a A-FP and Nikon state the lens hood for that is HB-N106
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Nikon-JVB10701-HB-N106-Lens-Hood/dp/B00AZ0SUXO

*Good job I did not take their advice and order the wrong lens hood again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
The 'official' lens hood is likely to be important for a zoom lens, so I bought it and it's well worth the money. As you would expect from a major manufacturer, there is no vignetting even at widest zoom. The picture on the website is inaccurate- the real item is, again as you would expect, replete with cutaways etc, because the recorded image is rectangular, not a circle!
I've only given 4*s, not because there's anything wrong with it- it's perfect- but to leave room for improvement.
44 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
You get a bit of darkening at the bottom of the frame when you use the flash at 18mm with the hood. It would be an issue but really you're very rarely going to need the flash at that focal length. Just zoom in a bit and step back a few paces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)