Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
111
Elvis Recorded Live On Stage In Memphis (Legacy Edition)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 April 2017
Wow. I won't repeat what other reviewers have said but, for me, this Memphis concert is one of the best Elvis concert recordings I have. Not as good as the '68 Special - but certainly better than Madison Square Garden or Aloha.

When you have recordings from the same period you soon realise that you can often pick a random track and, when you play that track from a number of concerts, you will find that Elvis will tend to say the same thing before the song and then sing it the same way, almost note for note. Boredom had set in and he can be heard in cruise mode. And who can blame him? When you're doing 2 shows a day with the same track listing it must be hard to muster up enthusiasm and new things to say.

With this Memphis concert he is so stoked that he's singing some of these tracks with such passion that you'd think he was singing them for the first time. Tryin' To Get To You is a great example of this.

And he sounds like he's having such FUN. The chatter in between tracks is spontaneous and you have to think how great it would have been if this concert had been filmed.

The rehearsal concert (disc 2) is still pretty good and I don't mind the 5 tracks tacked on the end. Why would you complain about having some additional tracks? For £8.99 this was great value for money and will be getting regular plays (unlike some of the other live albums that I have, which sound stale by comparison).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2014
Recorded on 20th March 1974 in Memphis, the concert captures Elvis relaxed, enthused, loose and on top form.

The enhancement to the sound on this legacy release really brings this home.

You will find on this release fantastic versions of "Trying to Get To You", "Steamroller Blues" (better than the version first performed on Aloha From Hawaii), "How Great Thou Art" (as presented here makes one realise why this won a Grammy for best Gospel Performance), "Let Me Be There" (a concert favourite for me) and "My Baby Left Me" which is brilliantly performed.

This was Elvis's 5th live album in as many years and for the record buying public at the time it was perhaps becoming a clichéd format. In 1972 there was the "Madison Square Garden" concert and in 1973 the "Aloha From Hawaii" concert albums which were big sellers. Whilst not doing bad, it did take a good few years before this one was finally certified gold in the USA (1999).

At the time it peaked at No.1 (not No.2 as the sleeve notes quote) on the country album charts and No.33 in pop charts in the USA and No. 44 in the UK.

Unlike the legacy edition the original album was disadvantaged by not presenting the full concert. In fact some of the omissions from the original album turn out to be some of the best performances, particularly in the case of "Steamroller Blues", which was a No.17 USA pop hit when released as a single from the "Aloha" album in 1973.

Listening to this today with the concert presented in its entirety in high quality sound, it does possibly eclipse both "Madison" and "Aloha" in terms of raising your rock 'n' roll pulse, because Elvis comes across as being more relaxed.

If you haven't got, it then it's definitely worth getting.

Even if you have got the bigger selling live albums this one is worth it since hearing Elvis sounding so good and so relaxed during a period of time that is often cited as being around the start of his decline is a pleasure in itself. It is almost comforting to realise that not all of those final few years were perhaps as dark as some critics would have us believe.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2015
The last of the concert years in my opinion,this is probably the last youll here Elvis at the peak of his Concert years.The fully restored Live On Stage in Memphis is fantastic with brilliant and clear renditions of Steamroller Blues and Fever that you would ever enjoy,Elvis is in good spirits and it sounds so.So much here has been restored and re added from the original cut album and this may well be the best Live Elvis Album now because of the restoration.The added rehersal congert is a plus but not a necessity.Enjoy,the last Best Elvis Concert never to be filmed but luckily caught on tape.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2014
This was one of the very first Elvis albums I heard after a greatest hits (the other was "Today", bizarrely) and so I have always liked it and I dont agree its one "just for the fans" but is a good album in its own right even if its the first / only Elvis album you have - very upbeat and rocky, the musicians on fire, some great versions of well known songs and Elvis seemingly in a very good mood. Its only as you learn more about Elvis you realise how unusual this was for the period post Aloha.

The big question most fans will be asking is whether its worth buying if you have the FTD version. I think it is, on balance, partly to get the Richmond show, but partly because the sound is much better, but it does render the FTD one a bit redundant. I heard two versions of the same song back to back today (on random) and the sound on the Legacy edition was much better. Although you have to question how that can be when the FTD version only came out relatively recently.

The Richmond show is interesting to have but the sound much poorer and the set list and performances virtually identical, so cant imagine ever choosing to listen to it over the Memphis show.

Overall this is a great CD for the initiated and the uninitiated alike which captures much of the magic of Elvis live, but a point off for the slightly pointless "bonus tracks", which have nothing to do with these shows, and for extracting more than twice the price out of me a few years ago for the FTD version which now sounds inferior in comparison.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
brilliant,what else do you expect from the king
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2014
I got this in the post today and I must say it is about damn time that we had this release in it's whole without tracks getting removed or w/e. Nice looking booklet with a few images I haven't seen before with nice linear notes. The sound on the main show is top notch compared with what I have listened to and that includes imports I have heard from this show. You can tell Elvis was having fun back on stage in his hometown and with a lot of energy coming out of the mans mouth and must of been great to be in the arena.

The 2nd CD is has been released before as 48 hours to Memphis on the FTD label. I have that album already but I guess it is a nice addition for anyone who does not have it in the collection.

Overall : Great release which deserves it's legacy stamp and kudos to Ernst and the team for finally giving the fans what they wanted and releasing the complete show in great sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2014
Of all the live albums completed by Elvis this has been my favourite since its original releaase in the mid 1970s.There is a vigour about his performance on this release although all of the tracks are well known and in most fans collection The bonus tracks fulfil the meaning of the word rather than usual scraps and outakes where this has been used so often in the past on Presley's releases.The Ricmond VA bonus recording is another example of this -an interesting but far from essentialaddition to the ouvre. Nevertheless, this new two CD release is an excellent buy for the still substantial Preslesy community as well as a useful insight for new fans. The CD is recommended with out reservation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2014
Although I already have this on CD it was a bonus to get the second concert on this package. At the beginning of 1974 when these were recorded Elvis was still in pretty good shape and he is in good voice (the bonus concert is not as well recorded) by the end of that year he was starting to suffer with his health and some of his shows did not have the same energy as before, but he will always be the King.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2014
These discs went beyond my expectations, yes I'm a huge fan of Elvis, but you can tell how much Elvis is enjoying being in front of an audience at his home town, he's on top form, OK I've heard all the songs, but it's Elvis, and that's all that counts with me, even my partner loves listening to these discs, whoever buys them won't be disappointed, that's for sure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2018
Probably my favourite of Elvis' live CDs.
The sound quality on this one seems to be a lot better than others, his voice is very clear too. I also prefer his versions of the songs on this concert and his banter with the crowd between (and sometimes during) songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)