Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 April 2014
This is the American edition of this Apostolic Exhortation of Pope Francis. It says nothing new but the style is a revolution. It is personal to Pope Francis and filled with joyous optimism expressed in an accessible style and language; for that reason it will be read by many inside the Church and outside it.
it.
Some sections of the Catholic press have hailed it as a 'return' to the spirit of Vatican II which may be overstating it somewhat. The Church is always in need of reform but that does not mean that its past is done away with, the Gospel is as always interpreted for the present time. Evangelii Gaudium is filled with faith, optimism and encouragement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2014
Indeed a very good book written at "the appropriate time" for believers. The language used is simple. Therefore it makes very easy reading & comprehension of Pope Francis' message. Don't just read it once, do at least a second and a third reading.

This book also makes an easy-to-use Reference book for the people in the pews.

If you are thinking of getting a personal copy, get one more for a Best Friend or a Neighbour.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2014
To a Christian brought up on the Hell Fire and Damnation approach, this is a breath of fresh air. It feeds my hope for renewal within the Roman Catholic world. There are plenty of words directed at the clergy, but it is also a call for every member to become fully active and responsible and to experience the joy and let go unnecessary burdens. It is sympathetic to difference. I am reading it quite slowly, because there is a lot to think about, even if the language is relatively simple, but sometimes though I understand the words I am not completely clear about the intended meaning. I bought the kindle version; in hindsight I would have preferred the paper back
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2014
Plenty of tough medicine that will shake many clerics - and 'practising' christians and lay folk. This is truly inspirational, and pretty shaming too.The messages hit so many nails on the head and cast rays of light onto the sorry state of mankind and the global culture. To anyone who considers the vatican to be self centred and self serving, this uncompromising foray will give great hope that there's going to be one huge shake-up. I hope Pope Francis lives to see significant progress towards his inspirational vision.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2014
I have NEVER read an encyclical written by a Pope previously because they are not typically written for the person in the pew. This one is very readable and easy to understand. More importantly it addresses issues that I believe most Christians are very interested in.Even my 25 year old goddaughter is reading it without any prodding.This is a Pope who truly knows how to engage a mass audience of non theologians. Bravo Papa Francesco.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2014
This is what Catholicism is about. It is a call to put all our petty differences aside and to follow Christ.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2014
This is inspired writing that is written in an accessible way - this should be on the reading list of all Catholics and many other believers
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2014
The book is well worth reading many times. It is simple and straightforward without difficult words and can be understood by people not steeped in theology. The price makes it easy on most pockets
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2015
Very interesting to read the Pontiffs views. There is a lot of plain speaking intermingled with thought provoking sentiments. Difficult to follow in places but a good read nevertheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2014
A brilliant call to return to the teachings of Christ. While the Church is right to warn us of those thing which are destrutive to our wellbeing its may aim is to evangelise, to call us back to things that are wholesome, virtuous and healthy spiritually, physically and mentally. In Evangelii Guadium there is a recipe to achieve all this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)