Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
Death in Paradise - Series 3 [DVD] [2014]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 15 January 2014

When I watched the first episode of the 3rd series yesterday evening I was shocked to discover that Ben Miller's character gets murdered after less than 5 minutes. I think that the BBC should have ended the show after Ben Miller announced that he didn't want to film any more episodes because killing him off and introducing a wannabe Columbo who actually seems to enjoy the Caribbean (DI Poole's dislike of it was the main reason why many people liked the show) as his replacement seems very awkward. The new character of DI Humphrey Goodman just lacks the sheer ingenuity and self-confidence of DI Poole. Please don't get me wrong, Kris Marshall is a great actor, but after last night's shock I won't be watching any of the new episodes that are still to come because I'd rather remember the show as what it used to be, a light-hearted murder mystery series starring a grumpy, yet comic and loveable genius.
1010 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 January 2015
"Death in Paradise" is one of those popular entertainments that tv critics seem determined to patronise and be condescending towards. You probably know the drill. "I can't understand why it attracts such huge audiences on a regular basis", they write with a sniff. "It's SO formulaic and predictable, SO lightweight and unrealistic" etc. Unstated but implied in this critical approach is that "Death in Paradise" is basically fodder for the intellectually challenged; the sort of unstimulating fare no self-respecting "arty" type would be caught dead watching other than in the line of duty. You may have seen the perennially popular "New Tricks" getting the same treatment.
Well, the first, and essential, thing that any sniffy tv critic needs to do in order to appreciate the delights of "Death in Paradise" is to remove his or her head from their own backside. Of course it's lightweight and unrealistic for goodness sake; it's a "whodunnit" about an eccentric but brilliant detective and his colleagues who solve an improbable murder in a tropical paradise on a convenient weekly basis. It's pure escapism, a really amusing and diverting entertainment that can be wrapped around you like a rug in the freezing cold of a British winter, and I for one am grateful for the cheer it brings.
Perhaps the Beeb could make a much more edgy companion piece, which they could call "Death in Scandinavia". It could feature a damaged, angst-ridden detective trying to solve a series of utterly grizzly murders. Everybody would wade around in three feet of snow, looking utterly despondent and talking in sub-titles. I'm sure those critics would be "challenged" and "stimulated" by it, leaving the rest of us to enjoy the gentle, cheery charms of "Death in Paradise" in peace. Bring on series four.
55 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2014
An excellent D V D and very good value for money. Would not hesitate in recommending this to anyone.
44 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2014
Like every other person, when I heard Ben Miller was leaving the series I was wondering if it could continue on at the same standard as the two previous series. However, I have know been proven a right idiot for worrying as Kris Marshall, who plays the new DI Humphrey Goodman, is a great addition to the programme. I think it is good that the producers decided not to make a carbon copy of Miller, as Marshall brings a new dynamic to the show. Marshall in some ways the same, but in someways opposite to the old detective - they both have their own quirky methods, but Poole was much more organised! It's not to say that I don't miss Miller, but Marshall brings a breath of fresh air to the show! I think that the new casting will ensure the programme does not run dry and their are many more enjoyable series to come!

The joy of this show is that when we are sitting at home, surrounded by British weather, Death in Paradise takes you away to another world - be it just for 60 minutes! You can leave all your troubles behind and enjoy a sunny trip to Saint Marie. The structure works well, and is in the style of Midsummers Murders, except the addition of the "get all the suspects together" idea at the end. Each episode is self contained and enjoyable, while not requiring masses of concentration. It's like Silent Witness or Law and Order but without the confusion.

Death in Paradise manages to mix drama and comedy in perfect measure - its an enjoyable crime drama where the audience can attempt to solve the case as the hour goes along and then see if they were right when the episode ends. I think Death in Paradise is one of the best new BBC shows is recent years, and I'm hoping there is much more to come! So, sit down and enjoy as you are whisked away to the sunny island of Saint Marie for an hour of crime solving fun.
11 Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2014
So, I think that the third series of the BBC drama/crime/murder mystery series of Death in Paradise is a good programme
because many viewers or folks complained why the predecessor or the character's name of Detective Inspector Richard Poole as played by Britain's likable actor and comedian Ben Miller. I'm quite sure that anyone or someone can be able to Google him on the internet. I mean, he died in the armchair within the start of the first episode ''Death of a Detective''. It was an ice-pick!
Do you not realise what I have described to you?
Anyway, besides Ben Miller, a new character emerges from the Metropolitan Police force in London and now we get introduced to a new character and his name is... Detective Inspector Humphrey Goodman as played by forty year old Wiltshire actor
Kris Marshall.
Throughout the series, he gets better at performing his own character in his own ways and I think that he is a good detective.
Don't get me wrong, but I think that is just my personal opinion.

Apart from episode one, there are seven episodes such as episode two ''The Wrong Man'' which is a murder on a film set.
This episode stars the actress Michelle Ryan from the BBC Doctor Who 2009 Easter special - The Planet of the Dead and the well-known actor of Peter Davison as clearly seen as Henry Sharpe in the ITV1 crime drama series of Law and Order UK with the current cast members of Bradley Walsh, Ben Bailey Smith, Paterson Joesph, Dominic Rowan and Georgia Taylor.
Episode three is called ''An Artistic Murder'' which stars the actor Adrian Scarborough as a character of connoisseur Leo Pascal.
Also, episodes four, five, six, seven, and eight are called Ye of Little Faith, Political Suicide, The Early Bird (a Saint-Marie tropical jungle), the Man with the Golden Gun (a murderer on Sebestien Island) and the Rue Morgue (a retirement home episode which stars Phil Davis as seen from the Sherlock episode one ''A Study in Pink'' episode as a London cab driver.

So, I am afraid that is all of the information I can tell you for now, folks.
Please feel free to comment and please share your opinion about this product.
Five stars all round!!! Bye for now! From Richard Hill
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2014
Maybe if the show had started with Humphrey, I would have liked him. But Ben Miller did such a brilliant job with the character of Richard Poole, that I guess anybody trying to follow him would have a really rough time of it.

I dont know why they had to kill him off - the ending of season 2 gave them a perfect way to replace him. Richard decides to stay in London [as they all thought he would] and the Commissioner introduces Humphrey as his new replacement. That way at least we all could still hope that Miller might change his mind and come back to the show. Richard was the heart and soul of this show, and replacing him with some poor man's Colombo doesnt cut it.

Maybe he will grow into the role and get better - I dont know. But right now, I dont see any real connection between the other characters and him at all. I hope they transfer him back to London at the end of this season and start new with somebody else next year. For me, this character doesnt work.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2014
After an amazing first 2 series with Ben Miller as the misfit detective abroad in the Caribbean, like a fish out of water... expectations were very high for a third series. Ben Miller as Richard in the first two was fantastic, quintessentially British... always hunting for that perfect cup of tea, hates the heat, sand, the French! and almost everything else on the island (as an ex-pat abroad I can sympathize with almost all of this, in a funny way).

So exit Ben Miller, sadly, and enter Kris Marshall, (Hmmm, very skeptical) but from the first five minutes you like him! Still essentially British, but in a whole new way, embracing the beauty, culture and people of the island.

Quirky is the word to describe the whole show.

But it is the plots that are truly Agatha Christiesque, which make them so watchable for the whodunnit fans; Bodies in locked rooms, misfitting timelines and always a small cast of suspects; all with a motive to kill, or no motive at all! The devil is in the details and it's usually some niggling little thing that stands out, which turns out to be crucial.

And it seems that every great actor in England is lining up for a part in this, the list goes on and you will recognize every face.
All the regular characters develop over time and we love them all.

A truly magical piece of British drama, bizarrely set in the tropical oasis of the Caribbean islands of Guadeloupe. Genius.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2014
I suppose that, like most other fans of "Death in Paradise" I was anticipating disaster when DI Richard Poole was murdered and DI Humphrey Goodman took over. However, like other reviwers I very quickly got to like the new Dectective Inspector and had already accepted him before the end of the first new episode. This kind of switch is always difficult in any TV series and must pose all kinds of problems and risks for producers but Tim Bradley got this one absolutely right. I don't pretend to know the secret of this success. It was probably helped by a combination of many things. But keeping to the same classic recipe was certainly one of them. A murder mystery is presented, always with a variety of suspects but always with an elusive final piece to the puzzle. Then the detective suddenly manages to put all of the pieces together and present them in a grand finale to the assembled caste, finally revealing the killer. Sure it's "ham"! That's what makes it so entertaining. DI Goodman is quite different to DI Poole, but also has his own quaint eccentricities in just the right amounts to even further improve the recipe and the continuity of all the other original characters still in their beautiful tropical paradise completes the new series. Harry the lizard remains as a delightful "show stealer". Great family entertainment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2014
I loved series 1 & 2. I never understood why anyone would ever go to Saint-Marie Island but the way it was written in the classic get everyone together to explain whodunnit at the end style was brilliant and I so wanted to see if DI Poole would ever get it on with the smoking hot Camille (Sara Martins). So when DI Poole is the subject of the first murder of the new series, I'm thinking Noooo!
But then in walks (or more approprately stumbles and bumbles) in Kris Marshall. His character takes this good whodunnit show to a new level of enjoyment, because you just don't know what he's going to do next... literally. And its opened up the rest of the cast to become more involved and become more interesting rather than just being in the shadow of DI Poole all the time. As good as Ben Miller was in series 1 & 2, and he was brilliant, Kris Marshall's character is a breathe of fresh air, yes the 'methods' are similar, and the outcome the same... you rarely guess the right answer first time, but it works and its opened up a brighter future for the show I think. I can't wait for series 4, 5 & 6 - I'm just hoping there are enough people left on Saint-Marie for it to last that long!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2014
Judging Kris Marshall too early on is narrow minded - I loved Ben Miller in the first 2 series but things move on and the main reason most great series die is that they become staid and repetitive - the enforced change of the lead character has actually refreshed the dynamics of the series and with the fantastic supporting cast, Kris Marshall is proving a great addition to the programme - bumbling, tongue tied, good natured but a genius of Holmes standing means I'm enjoying the show as much as ever!

Just the music makes me smile and think of sunny places, beautiful beaches and fun!
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)