Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
55
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2013
Mirage was a 'good' album, but this, by comparison, is a GREAT album. Written once again with Benno de Goeij (of Rank 1 fame) this album leans more towards the Rank 1 sound than the commerciality of Mirage. There are still a lot of vocal tracks (notably with Emma Hewitt and Richard Bedord - better known for his work with Above & Beyond) but the overall feel is a modern trance sound. The lead single (This Is What It Feels Like (feat. Trevor Guthrie)) has just the right balance to entice new listeners without alienating old fans, but is not typical of the album, which is quite simply superb.

I've listened to this album quite a few times now and can't find a duff track on it. If you liked Mirage, you will love this.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
The opening and title track is one of Armin's finest moments, it's a stunning journey of excitement that is worth the price of the CD alone. It is however the only remarkable track on the entire album.

This Is What It Feels Like is the big hit that so many now know, however it is an example of how Armin - like Tiesto - has moved away from refrains of excitement and have chased the radio success. The album is unlikely to satisfy many fans of his early trance, but will also gain him many new ones as it doesn't excel - even in the mainstream pop song sense.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
In my opinion this follows the thread of Mirage and expands outwards across the wide genre of trance music. If you are familiar with Mirage and listen carefully you can hear threads of that (here and there) across the tracks (and comes back to an almost classical basis).

Track one is a great example of classical based movements then goes to something approaching commerciality on track two and so on - as the style changes between moods and expectations. The vocals are for the most part excellent and I take my hat off to the three L's (especially Laura Jansen) and Emma Hewitt for their clear and heartfelt contributions.

Most of the tracks on CD2 are upbeat and front room but still it holds a few surprises (good remixes) and a chilled ending (again with classical overtones).

Lastly, I listened to the sound bites on Amazon before buying this and was unsure. Perhaps the standard of allowing the first 30 seconds of the tracks should be changed to a random placement for the 30 second play so that the intro is largely ignored. I'm glad I went with my instincts and bought this as a CD for my collection, it will be enjoyed for a long time to come and I look forward to the next one. Oh! BTW this CD was delivered very quickly by the big river.
Intense (The More Intense Edition)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Always been a big fan of Armin van Buuren's music and he doesn't disappoint with this new Album, Intense.

Containing the big-hit "This is what it feels Like" as well as other great tracks, would highly recommend, especially to those that are fans of Trance Music in particular.

Maybe has one or two many Vocal Tracks if I was to find a bad thing about it, but there still great to listen to :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Awesome tracks on this album, the title track is stunning while Laura Jansen has a beautiful voice. The only weak track is 'This is what it feels like' which I appreciate artist have to put 'commercial' songs out to get airplay (which is the hardest part for any musician) so I'm not to disappointed.
Artists like David Guetta and Avicii do UK chart dance better than Armin so tracks like Alone and Turn this love around sound a little out of place but still good.

Saving the best till last Emma Hewitt's vocal track takes trance to it's pinnacle.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
A little bit commercialised for armin but humms along nicely all the same . Not the same style as state of trance series but worth a pop . Good for the car because non trance fans think it chart style
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
This guy is top notch. Love all of his tracks. Uses different musical instruments and different singers on most tracks. Never thought i would be into this kind of music at my age, 55, but as in life you never know. Highly, highly recommended!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
This is an album of two halves for me. The first half is the commercial one starting with 'Intense' with a melodic and classic opening. The second track and the first hit is indeed very commercial but good to Armin in the charts and open trance music to the masses. Tracks like 'Beautiful Life' and 'Waiting for the night' as well as 'Sound of the drums' which has a lovely vocal are all destined to become trance classics. Things get more oriented to the more hard core fans from 'Won't let go you go' onwards, though some of these tracks are more middle of the road than others. That said, this collection is quite superior to Armin's other work. It's sure to be the trance classic of 2013.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Wow! downloaded it without sampling as ive been waiting since early march, I'm not a huge dance/ trance/ electro fan but this album will be listened to on nearly all of my runs for the next month at least! good tempo loads of bass etc. Its really great! even if you dont like trance etc. this will make you like it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Hypnotic. original and yet familiar. It has been on in my car every day since I got it :) love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£4.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)