Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
33
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
32
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.49

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2013
It takes a special band to release the remixes album months before the actual album!
This has been a long time coming but it's well worth the wait. One of the problems, apparently, was reproducing the sonic assault and organised chaos that is the average Blizzard gig. This has been accomplished.
There is a mixture of new and old songs. Some have grown and developed over a couple of years since the Whalebomb ep. The addition of a couple of extra bass guitars no doubt helped. The newer songs have been played at gigs in all their chaotic glory and have transferred well to cd. The classics have been polished - if that's the right word - and Whalebomb coming in at just under 20 minutes is just that - a classic.
My personal favourites are Slimy Creatures and Clones. Wind up the volume, wind up the bass and enjoy!
Got the CD just need the lp on pink vinyl to arrive and I'll be happy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
It's finally here after what seemed like an eternity of waiting

Was it worth the wait? Of course it was!

If you've heard of Evil Blizzard, then you will no doubt of heard about the anarchic, chaotic, sonic, incendiary and downright freaky liveshow, 6 members comprising of a singing drummer, 4 bass players, all wearing disturbing latex masks, boiler suits,rock god leathers or 70s porn kingpin suits, and a smoke machine wielding pig!

To see them live is an experience in itself, but this band don't just rely on an image and a stageshow, they have the songs and the talent to add to the visual assault, creating an effect laden, bass HEAVY, tribal and technical drumming mash up with clear vocals, and it works!

They have managed to re-create the freakiness from the offset with the disturbing musical box intro before the explosion of Feed The Flames almost destroys your speakers

Clones and (Open Up The)Red Box with their chanting hooks, feed their way deep into your head, making them nigh on impossible to get rid of

Sleep lulls you into a false sense of security with an almost dub feel, before it punches you in the face with full on heads down thundering bass frenzy

P.U.N.I.S.H.M.E.N.T. is the sinister hammer horror soundtrack that never was

Slimy Creatures showcases the drumming skills to even more effect alongside the dirty fuzzy bass and the dentist drill like sound assault

Fear Of Judgement has been totally re-worked from a previous demo version and has been given the full on Evil Blizzard treatment creating a whole new beast of a track

Finishing with legendary Whalebomb in an epic wig out over 19 minutes long,this shows they are a band with total confidence in what they do

With all that bass you'd think the sound would be muddy, far from it, the production is crystal clear enabling you to hear the sound effects in their full glory alongside strong vocals (and eerie whispering)and yes of the course the mighty bass

I've been asked many times to describe who this band are like and have always struggled up until recently, there's been mentions of P.I.L, Hawkwind, Sabbath, The Fall, prog rock, death /doom metal, but I know who and what they sound like now - Evil Blizzard!

Buy this album now!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Does a similar job to a full box of laxatives. Make sure your near a toilet or you'll have brown pants.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Evil Blizzard bringing their brand of eerie bass heavy stomping rhythms. if you only buy one album this year this is should be it. If you only see one band in your lifetime go and see Evil Blizzard; after experiencing the magic that is Evil Blizzard all other acts become irrelevant. This album will change your life.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Best new album from a new band in a long time! If you get a chance to see them live DO IT! its an experience you will never forget:-)
If you like hypnotic base driven Groovy and most assuredly Heavy and psychedelic music then the Blizzard are for you! get it now! and do not steal this music or the Blizzpig will find you;-)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
How does a band with this many bass players sound so good ?? Bought this on beautiful pink vinyl was very surprised at the quality of the production, sounds amazing and highly recommend you get hold of one before they all sell out ! A future classic !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
You're not entirely sure what just happened after listening to The Dangers of Evil Blizzard for the first time. You knew you like it, in fact you liked it a lot and your faith in primal ballsy Rock n Roll reaffirmed and duly restored. They look like post apocalypse Droogs and you feel they've press ganged you into servitude on a ghost ship and set sail to the furthest shores of reason where they cut lose and leave you to drift with nothing more than your own neurosis for company. It's that unsettling.

Post punk touchstones are PIL, The Virgin Prunes, Cabaret Voltaire. By turns the album offers prog whimsy, glam stompers and space rock wig outs. What they leave out sonically is as important as what they leave in and this lends a dubspace which intensifies the psych shredding assault you've just subjected yourself to.

Fear of Judgement is Fad Gadget's The Box rewritten for the new millennium, all claustrophobia and anxiety. Slimy Creatures a full frontal bass attack detailing what appears before you once the acid's kicked in. With the final track, Whalebomb, The album doesn't so much end as tie you to the mast as you gather speed and intensity and career headlong to it's extremity. A trip indeed.

A stunning debut by a band with four bass players (yes, four! An idea that seems as revolutionary to me as The Cramps when they played with none) from Preston. The North will rise again! But then we've always known that. As it's written, so it shall be.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Fantastic album, this Blizz bizzness is great !
Definitely recommend this album for multiple heavy twisted bass-action

Buy it people
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I received this CD a few weeks ago but wanted to take it in before review...well I have listened quite a few times and what has it left me with?..after seeing the live show that left me puzzled,in awe and freaked out I was hoping the album would deliver and I am pleased to say it does. The songs are well played and sound great. Some songs are doom laden,some are dub and some pshyc but all through they are a refreshing change to what's out there...I hope this is not a one off but if it is I'm glad I've got it now..buy this album and take the four bass journey...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
Heavy, hypnotic, stomping, strange and somehow singalong too! Once these songs get into your head, you'll know you've been Blizzed. Evil Blizzard came along just as I was looking for something new and fresh to listen to.They are basstastic, bonkers and wonderful and I have never heard or seen a band quite like them. I can't wait to hear more...

Buy it....you'll be so glad you did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)