Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2014
Previously-issued versions of this DVD were shortened and the music was interrupted by interviews. Finally they have released the original longform video version of the concert, which was previously only available on VHS and Laserdisc. I watched it for the first time last night, and it is great.

There still seems to be a lot of confusion about the length of this DVD. Amazon says it is 55 minutes; the cover notes say 80 minutes (approx.); amazingly, both are incorrect. I checked the length when I watched it last night, and can confirm that the concert footage runs for exactly 90 minutes (Perfect!). I can also confirm that there are no interruptions whatsoever to the concert footage.

This is a great concert. Filmed in Massachusetts in 1991 in front of 20,000 fans (who seem to be nearly all men for some reason!), this concert was originally recorded for Japanese TV. It features one of the great line-ups of the Allman Brothers Band, with both Dickie Betts and Warren Haynes on lead guitars. Warren is also a great asset because of his vocals, particularly when he teams up with Greg, as their voices blend together so well. The line-up also includes Marc Quinones on percussion, and he was a tremendous addition to the band. One of the great things about this video is that it is nice to watch the Allmans playing so many of Dickie Betts' songs.

This is turning out to be a good year for Allmans fans, with this release as well as the '40th Anniversary Concert', which I haven't seen yet. Finally, I would just stress the caveat that others have made. Be sure you order the 2014 issue (with the blue and white date sticker on the front), because older versions of this DVD are inferior.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
This is NOT the shortened DVD release with talking and editing - This is the full and complete show (91 minutes) in pristine quality. We have been waiting for this now for quite a long time. Now I can finally throw away my old VHS. Thanks - and of course 5 stars +

The Beacon 1992 show just our on CD is as good as you can ever imagine.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Possibly one of the best live shows ever if you're into the Allman Brothers Band. The sound quality is outstanding. Just listen to Dickey Betts and Warren Haynes fly with those guitars, along with the class vocals and Hammond from Gregg Allman. Even the drum solos are mesmerising. Outstanding track for me is In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed with blistering solos from Betts and Haynes. I never expected a 1991 concert to be so damn hot. Thank you Allmans for making my day.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
The full version on DVD at last! I've had this concert for years on Laser Disc but that machine can't last forever and the DVD is superior anyway so was an essential purchase. The picture, although dark at times (as it always has been) is easily better than on LD and the sound is also excellent. There are some fabulous guitar pieces from Warren Haynes (Govt Mule and Warren Haynes Band) as well as good old Dickey Betts plus one of the most entertaining drum solos - it's actually a drum trio some of the time with two sets of drums from Butch Trucks and Jaimoe plus Marc Quinoñes on the congas etc. The late Allen Woody, who looks a complete heap but who cares, plays a spirited bass and Greg Allman is his usual under-stated laid-back self on keyboards and vocals. If you like southern guitar-based rock then buy this now. Be careful not to order the older DVD version as that is severely mutilated and what's left is wrecked even more by interviews, sometimes mid song. Watch with the lights down to minimise the sometimes dark picture and crank up the volume! Oh, and buy the Beacon Theater concert from 2003 as well!
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a spectaclar concert with the band in fine form. I had this on VHS years ago. I had hoped the audio would have been better and include a 5.1 mix however it does not, in fact it is only 48 kHz.
The picture is greatly improved compared to the VHS version with the stage view far superior and a lot sharper.
What impresses me with this concert is how well Dicky Betts plays, the guys loving being there and is on the top of his game. This is at a time when the band had re-emerged in the late 1980s with a lot of enthusiasm and a lot of new songs.
The song selection is also well thought out with old and new songs all played brilliantly.
Its just a real shame they didn't improve the audio on this, another reviewer commented the lack of bass, I must agree the bass is not blasting through my JBL speaker system as I was hoping.

Great concert, a good document of the band in peak form in 1991.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
ALLMAN BROTHERS Great line up with Warren Haynes and Allen Woody joining up with Gregg and Dickie Betts plus the Allman Brothers percussionists Butch, Jaimoe and relative newboy Marc Quinones. Great songs and an excellent opportunity to see a potent line up in action.
Wasa god video but now a great dvd. Highlight is ' In Memory of Elizabeth Reed' but there are many.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Years ago I saw the "Live at Great Woods" show on a "converted to UK" copy of the original US release. It was all music with no "talking heads". When I saw "Live at Great Woods" for sale on dvd a few years ago, I thought that I had struck lucky. I bought it, took it home, and popped it into the dvd player, forwarding it to "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed". Shock horror, it was edited and, at one point, cut to Dickey Betts talking about the song. This sort of thing happened time and again. And certain tracks from the original video just weren't there. I checked the running times and discovered that the 55 minutes running time was considerably shorter than that of the original video. So a rock/jazz band renowned for lengthy improvisation had been trimmed and edited to fit into a sub 1 hour format, and some interviews had been shuffled in amongst what was left. Why the interviews could not have been a bonus feature on the dvd, I have no idea.
Don't buy this shortened dvd - it will drive you nuts with frustration! Instead, seek out the US video ( from the Allman Brothers own website) and find a way of viewing/converting it so that you can see the FULL concert without mindless editing and irritating interruptions.
Shame on Sony for putting out this travesty that is an insult to ABB fans AGAIN!.
1616 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Great show
Warren Haynes + Alan Woody at their pre Gov't mule era
Great tracks, mainly the acoustic set
Warren played more strats than LP :)
good stuff
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I received a pre release copy of this DVD and am happy to report it is a terrific show. It may be considered that by 1991 the Allman Brothers were all but over creatively but this performance proves otherwise and shows the passion and energy that Greg and the guys still had at this late stage for the tunes that made their name.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
A GREAT LIVE CONCERT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)