Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 18 July 2017
Rip-roaring fun for the whole family. Forest Whitaker provides the audience with a top-notch performance as the boisterous butler who serves up dinner and panache in equal measurements! Against the backdrop of America's social and cultural circumstance, the viewer watches as political events affect and mirror those within the butler's own life. An absolutely bangin watch, nice and easy with a gentile pace. Second time watching this and I can say with absolute assurance that this is a really easy film to watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2017
A good film it was more like a history about how black people where treated. very upsetting but makes you see how bad it was back then.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2017
This is such a moving documentary/film of how black people were and are tried, it totally disgusted me how people can tried people. Well acted by everyone in this movie everyone should watch this and put themselves in the shoes of the ones being abused, that way we all think before we speak or judge. We are all one no matter of race religion or sexual preference, we have one life live and let live. War of the world needs to stop and it will only stop at home, please everyone reading this review promote your friends and family sit and watch this if it's the last thing they do today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2017
Loved it great insight to the different decades within the White House and the shocking racism.
Sublime performance by everyone involved great fun spotting the actors playing the various Presidents, Forrest and Oprah flawless.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2015
Watchable but not great. Nice to see Reagan portrayed as the good man and well meaning president that he was - compared to others - and some funny moments and good performances but basically this is for people interested in black American history and told from a black slave perspective. How ironic that right now a black president is having severe problems with race relations and rioting...! The black man in America is arguably poorer and more hopeless now than he was under Reagan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2018
Great Cast & well put together (in my humble expert opinion...lol).

I didn't "enjoy" it, A salutory lesson in how far civilisation has not come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2015
I loved this film, Forest Whittaker and Oprah Winfrey never fail to impress with their acting talents. However, it has to be said that I was slightly disappointed that the producers didn't stay true to the real story. Still, it was described as being inspired by a true story so I guess they'll have to be forgiven. It's still worth seeing though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2016
Pretty much standard fare from Hollywood. What starts as a good story gets bogged down in too much boring family disputes . This is a vehicle for anyone wanting to bang the drum on race issues. The cast looked promising but the story line was not nearly strong enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2017
Great great movie based on a true story. Really gives an insight into the civil rights issues of the times and how the battles for equality were fought, and the ideology of the presidents. Forest Whittaker and Oprah Winfrey superb as ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2015
As other people have said, this is a really well crafted and well acted film. It's a moving and powerful story of Cecil Gaines' struggle to survive, the role he achieves at the White House, his 'silent witness' position as the rich and powerful reveal or conceal their attitudes towards black people in the USA, and the tensions within his family as a younger generation become angry and militant in the fight for equality for everyone. The film ends with the election of Obama and the hopes he embodied, which is particularly thought-provoking given recent killings of black people and increased coverage of the numbers of black men who end up in jail in the USA.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here