Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 May 2017
I was worried when I started reading this book that I would get lost jumping back and forth through time but I throughly enjoyed it and found I couldn't put the book down. The twist at the end caught me off guard and I don't want to ruin it for anyone but would definitely would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2016
great service super product
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
A very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2017
I forced myself to finish this book but wish I hadn't bothered. It really was a turgid read, the perpetrator was obvious early on and there were no twists or turns - just a sense of laboured characterisation and forced writing to fill the pages. Frankly a complete waste of time and I won't be buying any Laura Lippmann novels in the future if this one is anything to go by.

I really don't understand what has happened to the Amazon review system. Once the star ratings were quite spot on - now completely unreliable. This book is a good example of paid reviewers getting it up the rankings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2015
Great read, keeps you guessing until the end!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 April 2016
Roberto 'Sandy'' Sanchez, remember that name, you are going to hear a great deal about this man. Sandy is a retired police detective, now working 'cold cases', part-time, at his leisure. The city pays him only $35,000 a year, so he finishes one case before he starts another. Sandy's beloved wife died recently, and working through his grief is helpful to him. Sandy is an excellent detective, picking up clues, others have over looked. He works his way, the old way, hard work and using his smarts. He has just finished a case, and it is now time to choose another. Picking up some files, a picture falls, Juliet Romero Saxony, ah, a former stripper found dead, ten years after she had gone missing. And, with this one picture, Sandy finds himself on quite a ride, mixing with the rich and the poor and those in-between.

In 1976, Felix Brewer, Julie Saxony's former boyfriend went missing. Not only did he leave behind Julie, but the wife he adored, Bambi, their three daughters, Rachael, Linda and Michelle. This is their story, the women he left behind. No one knows where Felix went, but his story is enough to make you sit up straight as you read this story.

Sandy as I said, is a smart Baltimore detective, and he goes where the clues lead him. The other detectives who followed this case twenty-six years ago, missed the important clues, the bitterness and greed and the stories there in. Along the way we learn the stories of the five women left behind and what ties them all together.

Within this novel, you will find the name, Tess Monaghan, and if you remember her, she was a detective in some of Laura Lippman's novels. We will see Tess Monaghan again, keep your eyes open for the clues.

'After I'm Gone' is one of my favorite Laura Lippman novels, maybe even, one of her best. It is the kind of novel that makes you feel sad when you reach the last page. You want the story to go on, but savor what you have read. Tess may be right around the corner.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 04-02-16
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 April 2014
Thank you to the author and publisher for the beautiful advanced reading copy.

When Felix Brewer meets nineteen-year-old Bernadette ‘Bambi’ Gottschalk at a Valentine’s Dance in 1959, he charms her with wild promises, some of which he actually keeps. Thanks to his lucrative if not always legal businesses, she and their three little girls live in luxury. But on the Fourth of July, 1976, Bambi’s world implodes when Felix, newly convicted and facing prison, mysteriously vanishes.

I’ve been a bit of a fan of Laura Lippman’s novels for a while – they are quietly atmospheric and always beautifully constructed with wonderful storytelling and characters and this was no exception.

When Felix skips bail to avoid a prison sentence, he leaves behind his wife, three daughters and a mistress – when ten years later his mistress also disappears it is assumed that she has gone to be with Felix but then her body is discovered..

Told in present time as a cold case specialist tries to solve the murder, and in flashback showing how Bambi and her daughters have coped, this is compelling stuff. There is a mystery at the heart of it but this is purely about the people – Felix leaves a lot of emotion and anger in his wake, this novel explores the themes of loss, guilt, rejection and love in an evocative and heartfelt manner.

From the seemingly pragmatic Bambi who hides a maelstrom of emotion beneath her tough exterior, down to youngest child Michelle, selfish and demanding, the Brewer girls are formidable indeed and yet vulnerable in many ways. As the story twists and turns – just where did Felix go and more importantly where did his money go – you will be utterly immersed into the multi-stranded family drama. Mistress Julia is also beautifully drawn and fascinating, the mystery surrounding her disappearance and murder only deepens as time goes on. It is a page turner, addictive and real, and bang in the middle of it is a man you know very little about. Felix Brewster.

Appealing and captivating this is perhaps my favourite of Ms Lippmans novels so far.

Happy Reading Folks!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2016
Didn't finish. Found the storyline and characters uninteresting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2014
Crooked businessman Felix disappears without trace in 1976 rather than face a prison sentence, leaving behind his wife, daughters and a mistress. 10 years later, his mistress, Julie, also disappears and it's not until many years later that her body is discovered in woods and the rumours surrounding her and Felix resurface. Jump forward again to 2012 and Sandy Sanchez, a retired policeman now working cold cases begins to investigate Felix's disappearance and Julie's unsolved murder.

Sounds like a great plot for an intriguing mystery doesn't it? Sadly, the execution is disappointing and falls flat on many levels. Usually a lover of books that traverse different time periods, the many leaps backwards and forwards here felt disjointed, especially as I could summon up no rapport with the raft of characters involved in the plot. There appeared to be an awful lot of superfluous writing, and, frankly, I became bored having to sift through it to reach the rather uninspiring and tensionless conclusion.

*I received a free copy of this book to review through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 April 2014
This book is much more than a murder mystery - it is a study of flawed people and how they react in an unusual circumstance.

Felix Brewer goes missing just in time to avoid jail. His family and his mistress suffer because of this - there is press suspicion, lack of money, and claims and counterclaims about what Felix did and why. Years later his mistress is discovered, having been murdered. In the present day it is this murder which Sandy Sanchez reopens as part of his work on looking at old, unsolved cases. Naturally, looking into Julie's death also reopens the story of Felix's disappearance and what happened to his family as a result of this.

The story is told from the point of view of the present investigation and we become involved with Sandy and his life as he works on the case. There are then flashbacks to Felix's meeting with his wife Bambi and everything that happened up to the disappearance. There is then a further set of flashbacks revealing what happened to Felix's children and how they are affected. I thought that this way of telling the story worked very well - the author released the right amount of information at the right moments to enhance the present day story.

Where the book really succeeds, however, is in the characters. The main character of the book is Felix although he hardly appears and then Sandy who is in every way Felix's opposite as he is a sad, poor and disappointed man. Every other character is flawed in some way, usually related to what Felix has done, and the story shows how what they do because of events and because of their character then affects the actions of others. The characters are so well portrayed, however, that it is difficult to lack sympathy for them even when they behave badly.

I was gripped from this novel from the first - not to find out what had happened but to see how the author unravels the story and how the past has affected the future. I was particularly engaged by the character of Sandy as his life too is part of the story. This is an excellent novel and it would be a disservice to it just to class it as a murder mystery when it is so much more. An excellent read. I received a free copy of this novel via NetGalley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Wilde Lake
£0.98
Sunburn
£4.68

Need customer service? Click here