Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
19
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 28 December 2013
This is a cleverly written story with perfectly gauged amounts of intrigue and mystery. Jamie Strachan, a soldier within the intelligence core, cannot help but feel that there is more than just coincidence connecting two accidents, one involving his brother in-law and the other involving himself and his nephew Nick. Pushing his instincts as an analytical thinker aside, he tries not to dwell on what has happened, but is unable quell his thirst for an answer believing there is something not quite right about the incident in which he was involved. Meanwhile, Detective chief superintendant Clive Patterson is investigating a case with the same gut feeling that something is amiss. Together they try to get to the bottom of what is going on. This is a book you can easily lose yourself in, with so much detail and a well thought out story line it was incredibly hard to put down! As the story unravels you find yourself asking more questions, which I loved, there is nothing worse than a predictable book! And Mason N Forbes has done a wonderful job by avoiding just that! I will definitely be looking out for more of his works.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
The Strontian Factor is an exciting, tension building, and artfully constructed plot with plenty of action, drama, twists and turns and an intriguing and thought provoking storyline.

Jamie Strachen is visiting Scotland for the funeral of his brother in law Bob Ferguson whose death seemed a tragic accident but what was the meaning of Bob's final words for Jamie and was his death more sinister than it seemed.

On Tyneside, Detective Chief Superintendant Clive Patterson is called to attend an incident on a passenger ferry from Amsterdam, but it is a different passenger on the ferry that catches his attention.

When another near fatal accident happens to Jamie and his nephew Nick, Jamie begins to wonder if it is just coincidental or is there a more sinister explanation for what is happening.

What is the connection between all these events? Who is the mastermind behind them and can a plan with devastating results against humanity be thwarted?

So, we begin a thriller with an amalgam of fascinating characters, both good and evil, plot twists, murder, kidnapping, heart in the mouth moments and multiple storylines that all come together to bring this thriller to an exciting conclusion.

The Strontian Factor is compulsive reading and once started is hard to put down.
I loved this novel and would highly recommend it. Another great novel from author, Mason Forbes
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
I had recently read another of Mason's books so I couldn't wait to get my hands on this one. Wow! this thriller has everything you could ask for! Good Vs Evil, plot twists, turns and kidnapping. All which come together in an explosive conclusion. This was an addictive read which I found hard to put down. I read it right though the weekend!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
I can hardly believe I have just read this. I have certainly never read anything quite like it before, and probably never will again. This is surely the most shocking, unique, alarming, scandalous, treacherous and breathtaking story I have ever read.

Story of Jamie Strachen’s struggle to come to terms with the deaths of people close to him.
when he visits Scotland for the funeral of his brother in law ' Bob Ferguson' whose death seemed a tragic accident until another accident happens to Jamie and his nephew Nick, Jamie begins to wonder if it is just coincidental or if there is something more about it.

Is there any connection between all the events? Who is doing it ? why ? whose been a mastermind behind all this ?
A true thriller novel at its best. A must read.

To mention - ' Strontian Factor ' Its just terrific. The characters are so compelling that you just can't stop thinking about them. The book has been really very well plotted from start to finish. I consider this to be a very good novel, the dialogue is crisply delivered. I felt this was a thought provoking book and it is one I would definitely re-read and have no hesitation in recommending it to others!! Cheers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Mason grips you from the first few sentences and delivers a Jason Bourne like cinematic experience throughout the book with carefully crafted characters and a tight scenario that just is so scary close to reality. Definitely recommend it, if you like this genre!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Strontian Factor

I have previously read work by this author and thought it would be hard to follow but The Strontian Factor has surpassed my expectations! Mason Forbes has managed to prove me wrong. The Strontian Factor, is written well and the plots carefully planned. Jamie Strachen is a believable protagonist and one the reader warms to. How much can one family endure? This is a psychological thriller that hooks from the first page in the church. Each time I thought I could see what was going to happen but then felt a virtual shudder as the plot twisted, shocked and proved me wrong.

An interesting and compelling read. Highly recommended for lovers of psychological thrillers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
As a lover of fast-paced psychological thrillers, I found this to be one of the best I've come across in a long while. Mr. Forbes keeps you on your toes. He's like a puppeteer and the reader is his marionette with a knack for making the reader think they know what will happen and then twisting and turning the plot. If you like fast-paced thrillers with a make-you-think ending, and keep you up at night wanting and reading more, then this is the story for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
It's a good book, well written with a nicely wrapped plot. What differentiates it from your average thriller is a hint of supernatural powers, but it is very subtle to the point of almost going unnoticed by the reader. I quite enjoyed reading the book, although some of the behaviour and actions of the supposed enforcers of the law (namely police and defence agencies) are sometimes not very believable. Nevertheless, a good book overall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
The Strontian Factor is a fantastic thriller, once it grabs you it doesn't let go until you finish it. It has one of the most memorable protagonists that will stay with you long after you finish the book. It deserves to be read by any self respecting thriller reader and is one of the best novels I've read in a long time. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I had heard so many great reviews of this book and also it was recommended by a colleague. I was not disappointed. This thriller had everything! Plot twists, the usual good vs evil theme as well as an...interesting... conclusion! The author did a fantastic job and I will be looking out for other books! I can't recommend enough!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here