Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2017
I have several Scott Hamilton recordings on vinyl and cd, this is high in quality, but it is very much more of the same, and nothing new is evident here, probably too late for Scott to change the format a bit now, so, I have enough material to last me a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Another mellow masterpiece from US born but UK resident scott Hamilton. Recorded live at the Pizza Express Jazz Club this captures Hamilton at the top of his game. Accompanied by his regular trio of John Pearce(piano), Dave Green(bass) and Steve brown(drums) they have become a relaxed and close knit unit. Of course its standards all the way and fine one's they are too.
Hamilton of course never seems to put a foot wrong with his unhurried style and gorgeous full tone, he is tailor made for this kind relaxed swing. John Pearce on piano, as always, is swinging, lyrical and highly tasteful and the rhythm section doesn't really get any better than this. The cosey confines of the Pizza Express club lend themselves perfectly for live recordings and the sound quality is particularly good.
In case you havn't worked it out yet - i liked it !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
This is Scott Hamilton at his usual level of excellence. I've been listening to him/collecting his albums for around 36 years now, and whilst he never, ever, makes a poor album, he rarely makes one that is outstanding or special. But maybe this is a bit like saying that consistently good isn't enough. It occurred to me, listening to this album, how much like Paul Gonsalves he sounds.

My favourite recordings of Mr Hamilton are on the many albums he (and Warren Vache) did with Rosemary Clooney. Now they are outstanding.

There's nothing whatsoever to dislike about this album. His fellow musicians complement his playing. The programme is unexceptionable, and "Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most" could well be the definitive instrumental version of this song. I bought this as an MP3 download, and at £4.99 it's a bargain.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
I have seen this excellent quartet many times at the Ipswich Jazz Club. This Cd brings back many happy memories as this live Cd is like sitting in the front row. A must for all Scott Hamilton fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Exactly as expected i.e. par excellence. That's Scott Hamilton for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Phrasing is not as interesting as Scott Hamilton usually provides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Good CD as described, arrived quickly, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Excellent goods and fast service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
It sounds like you are in the front row at Pizza Express and that he is 6 feet away. Great CD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.03

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)