Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
78
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
Quality a bit poor. But that is to be expected I suppose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Classic post war comedy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
VERY FUNNY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Very Funny Film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
CLASSIC OLD FILM LOVE THEM AS I DO YOUR DELIVERY TIME
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
GREAT COMEDY/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
This is the film version of the earlier BBC TV series, Whack-o! starring comedian Jimmy Edwards and Leslie Howard's brother Arthur Howard. Jimmy was head of a boys' school and Arthur was his deputy head. The idea of the titles was the eager JImmy using a walking stick cane to whack the posteriors of supposed "naughty" boys. Not sure why the renamed the film Bottoms Up as the TV series was hugely popular in UK and Australia. Unfortunately the BBC has scrapped most of their Telerecordings(kinescopes) of this series. There is one on You Tube but this has little to do with the school and the boys but rather the masters having a night out at a night club.

I have waited a long time for this film to be released and I was not disappointed. These are characters from my early TV viewing, a new medium then in Australia, when I was a child.
55 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
LOVELY STUFF!!! A REAL BLAST FROM THE PAST FOR ME! THANKS FOR GETTING THIS INTO STOCK, AMAZON.
I WAS A SCHOOLBOY EXTRA IN THIS MOVIE WHEN I WAS ONLY 14 - AND IT ENCOURAGED ME TO CONTINUE IN A MOVIE CAREER, AMONG OTHER AREAS OF THE ENTERTAINMENTS INDUSTRY, RIGHT UP TO THIS DAY.
WE MADE THIS AT ELSTREE STUDIOS (SOUND STAGE 6 - FOR ANYONE WHO KNOW THE PLACE!) WAY BACK IN 1960 AND IT IS STILL A BRILLIANT AND VERY FUNNY ROMP - (OR - SHOULD THAT BE 'RUMP?). WE BOYS HAD AMAZINGLY GOOD FUN MAKING IT!
I THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND YOU PURCHASE IT - AND HAVE A JOLLY GOOD LAUGH, REMEMBERING HOW IT USED TO BE WHEN YOU WERE A SCHOOLBOY!!
MY REAR END IS SEEN A NUMBER OF TIMES - BENT OVER AND READY FOR MR JIMMY EDWARD'S CORRECTION WITH HIS VERY LARGE CANE!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
One of the best films ever made - fast paced and hysterical. I watch this all the time and make friends watch it too. They start off thinking I'm nuts but are soon converted. Jimmy Edwards and co at their finest. Richard Briers film debut too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)