Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2017
Good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
I had never heard of Angel Olsen until a few weeks prior to writing this review. Browsing in the supermarket, I was suddenly frozen in my tracks by a woman's voice coming over the speakers. I held up my phone and 'Shazam'd' the song - only the second time I've done this - just in time to ascertain that the beguiling vocalist was Angel Olsen and the song 'Never Be Mine', from 'My Woman', her follow-up album to 'Burn Your Fire For No Witness'.

I rushed home to listen further online and learned that the rest of her work was at least as good as the song that had caught my attention in the first place. I've since bought all her albums and I'm going to see her in concert in a few weeks.

I'm somewhat taken aback by this music. It's burning a hole in my chest. There are many words one could apply to its various elements, but I prefer not to; it invites you in and its principal effect is on the unconscious. The first time I listened to the song 'White Fire' I was moved to tears. That said, on songs where she cranks it up she really rocks, with a sympathetic, swampy band who know exactly where to throttle and where to kick back.

I'm not given to hyperbole or overstatement. My sincere feeling is that Angel Olsen is a high-echelon song poet, the possessor of an exquisite voice and a performer of rare power, grace, intelligence and freedom of expression. She is a weaver of spells. As a songwriter myself I'm chastened by her talent but thankful for it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Angel Olsen has paid her dues. She has been a backing singer for Will Oldham and toured as a support act backing Neko Case in the UK last year. In this sophomore album "Burn your fire for no witness" she has staked a claim for wider recognition and on the evidence of this record her rise is as inevitable as it is unstoppable.

She is often compared to artists like Leonard Cohen and to be fair the old Canadian would be a "happy bunny" if he had constructed a song as good as Olsen's near seven minute "White Fire", not least the reflection that "Everything is tragic, it all just falls apart." This is haunting semi spoken melancholy of the highest order, with her husky voice also echoing the music of Cardiff past musical champions the Young Marble Giants. It would be wrong however to create the impression that this album ambles along with retreads of "Famous Blue Raincoat". Throughout it has highly charged electric songs not least the rollicking "Forgiven/Forgotten" which is straight out of the Black Francis and Kim Deal handbook. Other songs like "High & Wild" have a lo fi quality which is endearing with Olsen's dark lyrics holding attention throughout like a mid west P J Harvey. The choice of "Hi-Five' as a single is somewhat puzzling since its commercial appeal is limited but as a album track it adds to the fine sequencing. More powerful is the fuller rock punch of "Stars", alternatively the ragged alt country of the "Lights out" is an album highlight.

A gentler side to Olsen emerges in to the two songs that close the album when her wonderful voce dominates to full effect. The sad modern blues of "Enemy" showcases a confident talent whose songwriting skills are maturing at a frightening rate, while the gloriously lush "Windows" is a sublime finish to a varied and poetic record.

In the last analysis Angel Olsen has delivered a record from a relatively obscure position that demands intense musical scrutiny. "Burn Your Fire for no Witness" is an affecting suite of songs and after repeated listens constantly reveals new nuances and moods. God knows what the title alludes to but that is a mere detail when it is the music that fully demands our complete attention. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
One of the best of a plethora of female (and mostly American) singer/songwriters who have turned up the volume and are just as influenced by punk and roots rock as they are by folk and country. Olsen does the quiet/loud thing very well and has sympathetic accompaniment from like minded musicians. As a former backing singer for Bonnie Prince Billy, the unconventional approach has rubbed off. Should have a good future.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
When a reviewer resorts to flights of verbosity – and occasionally I'm as guilty as the rest of them – it’s sometimes because they’re struggling for something meaningful to say. The writing has, for some reason, become a chore: the prose perhaps now more artful than its subject. Your forgiveness is hereby sought then for Bonnie “Prince” Billy protégée Angel Olsen has exactly the sort of magnetic repertoire to generate bouts of such purple superlatives.

Olsen is Missouri-born and very much an old world singer. Or at least she was. Her spellbinding 2010 release Strange Cacti was a dark-arts meeting of haunting reverbed melodies and that stop-you-in-your-tracks vocal. Its follow-up, 2012’s Half Way Home, was a natural progression to fleshed-out freak-folk. And then came the jarring single “Sweet Dreams” – pure plugged-in pop. With that in mind, and with one listen to Burn Your Fire For No Witness’s stomping fuzz-popper “Forgiven/Forgotten”, you’d assume Olsen was done with her old acoustic ways. You’d be wrong though. Olsen’s gone eclectic is all.

She has, for example, a curious Hank Williams-tinged rocker (“Hi-Five”) up her sleeve, an exercise in tumbling storytelling akin to that of the other girl-and-guitar of the moment Courtney Barnett (“High & Wild) and a mesmeric Kimya Dawson/pre-war hybrid (“Un****theworld”) too. All this and still no mention for the stunning 7-minute acoustic “White Fire”, which starts life as a hushed Leonard Cohen-style strum and closes as an unimaginably intangible Nick Drake whisper.

There are a small number of quality control inconsistencies however. The LP’s pedestrian midsection is certainly nothing to get your knickers in a twist over, but it does lead to the charming daydream ditty “Iota”, its shuffling murmur conjuring Parisian chanteuse chic. Olsen’s ricket-yet-timeless vocal isn’t always given the spotlight it deserves, though her quivering pipes are put to fascinating use during the barely-there “Enemy”. In turn, the beautiful, Feist-like “Windows” manages to hang its notes in so much echo as to capture them like shimmering motes of dust in a shaft of light. These are superlatives richly merited too. Olsen should be basking in the luxurious critique her work will no doubt be universally afforded.

Best tracks: “Forgiven/Forgotten” and “White Fire”
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Brilliant and diverse album. From Lo-fi country to shoegaze and back again.

The story of my personal romance on 12 inches of throbbing vinyl.

The cover is rubbish though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
So very beautiful! It meant a lot to have my favourite album in such a physical way. Comes with an album download and a lyrics slip with gorgeous artwork on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
really nice , love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)