Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2001
In a war filled with terrible shocks, the fall of Singapore in 1941 was one of the worst. Impregnable from the sea, Singapore collapsed before a Japanese force fighting its way through the 'impenetrable' jungle of the Malay Peninsula. Only at the last moment did the civilians on Singapore realize the danger they were in. And then they'd do anything to get out.
This novel features two of Reeman's standard characters: the crusty, traditional, martinet career Royal Navy officer, and the young R.N. reserve officer, unpolished but skilled, and increasingly experienced as the war progresses. As is common in many Reeman novels, the tension between these two men drives much of the story in the early part of the book, until they both realize that, as another hero of the era might have put it, the problems of two little people don't amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world. By the time they figure that out, they've got bigger problems, like how to make it out alive.
This novel has many of the things that cause some people to call Reeman's novels 'formulaic.' But I think it's a darn good formula, personally, and Reeman is a good enough story teller that even if some of the characters seem vaguely familiar, the story itself still draws you in and keeps you reading.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Arrived well on time well packed. Only problem was the following. There is no way on earth that a ML can look like a River class gunboat. doesn't anyone look at Jane's WW11 ships. Great story sorry about the picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Reasonable read. Unfortunately the storyline is somewhat familiar to others of the same I have read on other titles by the same author. As an avid reader of this man,I am familiar with his various storylines,which with some slight variations,he applies to different books,using either different names or locations. This may just be my price for being so avid a reader,nevertheless,still a reasonable but not one of his best books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Whilst the format was familiar, with the characters reflected in other of his stories, it was enjoyable - but I wish there had been an epilogue that brought everything together at the end, instead of them just sailing off into the Sunset!
But good bedtime reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
This is the 3rd Douglas Reeman book I have read and I will continue to read his works, this story is the best gripping story of them all so far and it covers every aspect of the pompous leaders inefficiency to the brave ranks that follow the orders to victory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Although a novel, this book captures the futility and gross incompetence that pervaded the campaign in Malaya in 1941 against which it is set. I read it years ago, read it when it arrived and have reread it again. This is the type of book which captures your imagination and is difficult to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
The story of "escape from Singapore" is told brilliantly. The Characters shine through one of the most horrific retreats of WW2. The best Reeman for a while.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
I first read this book over 30 years ago and it left me deeply moved. I have just finished reading it again and with the benefit of the revisionism of an older man have to admit it still gets me. Douglas Reeman is still my favourite author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
They just keep coming,douglas reeman is my favourite author,I've read all his ww11 Royal Navy books over,and over again and still get captivated by his story's.another good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
If you have read any of "Douglass Reeman's" you need only know this is a brilliant novel of the betrayal of those in singapor and Malaya in 1941.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.