Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
8
3.1 out of 5 stars
In Deep
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 February 2014
Argent's 'In Deep' is a masterwork by the group and a high quality surround/SACD version, or even a robust audio remaster, is long overdue. Despite the description above this is not that item: it is a very basic, below standard, CD audio release from an obscure European label. There is no dual disc, no extra tracks and no surround options. It is also very inferior to previous releases of this CD.

Avoid at all costs!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
A very good album by Argent! I liked it very much indeed! Listening to this again, brings back many happy memories of my childhood in the mid-1970's too! ;o) :o)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
A long lost classic album finally retrieved. Argent are superb and the music is timeless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
I, too bought this wanting a SACD version of the album and was hugely disappointed to find it is a basic CD. As the previous reviewer says avoid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
The item description as "DTS Surround Sound" plus other extras is blatantly incorrect. I pre-ordered the title and the first CD I received was nothing more than a very basic eight track standard stereo CD. I returned it and was assured that the correct item would be sent. The second CD was exactly the same as the first. I spoke to a very helpful Amazon Customer Services rep who apologised & said that he would arrange for the sale of the incorrectly described CD to be suspended. This happened very quickly after that phone call and, for a while, Amazon had a warning notice on the display page and stopped sales of the CD. But now, two weeks later, Amazon have removed their sales suspension & failed to make any amendment to their original incorrect item description. Poor show Amazon!!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2001
Just how do you classify a group that moves from classical, to blues, to rock and pop? Why bother just enjoy Argent's 4th album. Starts with God Gave Rock and Roll To You (where do you get a line like "don't step on snails, don't climb in trees, love Cliff Richard but please don't tease"?) which includes a very classical intro followed by some great progressive rock. Two versions of Its Only Money, one rock and one funk.
Losing Hold is a great ballard, with Rod's classical influences again showing through. Be Glad is a good rock number, whilst Christmas for the Free is another ballard. Candles on the River, which the group state is about the world's over-population is a further example of good prog. rock, whilst Rosie is pub rock, with a great pub piano sound. Hold Your Head Up is the record that brought the group to the spotlight, but comes from the previous album "All Together Now", and obviously been included as a bonus track. All I can say is when, when, when will Epic and RCA get their acts together and issue Circus and Counterpoints on CD. Pretty please.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 February 2017
Argent's fourth album is one that I'm much less convinced by than the others. There are still a few very good tracks on it, but it feels a little less inspired that their previous work and, although the personnel remains the same, even the playing seems a little more subdued than in the early days of the band. The big, well-known hit, Russ Ballard's God Gave Rock And Roll To You (later covered by Kiss in 1991), is regarded as a rock classic, but actually sounds a bit sonically weak and the chorus a touch simplistic; its real saving grace is Rod Argent's organ playing, the quasi-classical arrangement and a rather nice guitar solo. Ballard also writes the next two tracks (It's Only Money, Part 1 & 2) and they're not bad, but are certainly nothing special. They're essentially the same song with Part 1 sounding like the track is performed by Deep Purple and Part 2 like they're channelling 10CC.

Ballard hands over to Argent/White for the next four songs and, immediately, the album gets much better – for a couple of tracks. Losing Hold is a terrific dramatic folk-tinted ballad featuring some beautiful flute and an amusingly overblown ending; you can feel the despair and anxiety throughout. Shades of Zombies can be heard in Be Glad, although Rod Argent's excellent piano interjects the typical Argent prog direction into the track and the instrumental interlude makes it my favourite track on the album. I have to admit, I really don't care for Christmas For The Free; although it may be appreciated by devout Christians, it really doesn't do a lot for secular old me. It's quite telling that virtually every other Christmas song penned in the seventies became the kind of tracks played and listened to every Yuletide period and this song (despite a recent re-recording by the reformed Zombies) remains an obscurity. Candles On The River seems, to me, like prog-by-numbers, is totally unremarkable and the sound of a band running out of ideas and steam.

The final song is Russ Ballard's Rosie and it is a very pleasant tune, kind of like the sort of album track Ray Davies could churn out in his sleep in the mid-seventies; it finishes In Deep in a charming but unremarkable fashion. Sadly, on the whole, In Deep is a rather underwhelming album. There are sparks and flashes of what made Argent such a captivating band to listen to, but the whole thing, for some reason, falls a little flat. Despite the inclusion of a supposedly monster single, there are fewer quality songs on here than there are average or disappointing ones and, compared with their other records, even the more minor ones, this is probably Argent's worst. Let's face it, when you're struggling to get through an album without the urge to switch it off, you know you're not listening to a classic. Probably not one I will ever revisit again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
This was a purchase based on nostalgia. It was the second album which I had ever bought in 1973.I had forgotten just how much I had loved the songs on this album.I am rediscovering their music all over again and I am not disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)