Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

So Long, See You Tomorrow
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 6 February 2014
Major label Indie rears it's oxymoronic head once again. Heard this on Radio 6 incessantly,Jo Whiley gushed about it on Radio 2,had them in session, they probably even get 'heavy rotation' on Radio 1 but I canny listen to that anymore. The problem is there are no tunes, melodies are non existent, jeez, there are more Pandas in Scotland than tunes that are remotely memorable on this record. Oh, its on the legendary Island Records and they've asked us nicely (fat brown envelope) that if we play it enough times on the radio people will eventually buy it, problem is the more you hear it the worse it gets.
66 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2014
I was a little disappointed by this album. I rushed to buy it with only knowing one song, Carry Me. I found that there was no difference between most songs. I had the blues and then shook them off was a much better album!
55 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2014
love this band but this is (so far) a let down. hopefully a grower, but first impressions are not good.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2015
ok songs! maybe? i'll never know cos I wont let my ears listen to such poorly recorded crap again, get a grip you people, and use your ears, this stinks, go spend your money on a big stick and hit your recording equipment hard, then buy something decent
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2014
'So Long, See You Tomorrow' is the fourth studio album from Bombay Bicycle Club.

Despite being brandished in 2006 by NME as "the hottest band to come from North London for quite some time" BBC have managed to shake off the indie-hipster tag and continually come out with fresh sounding music; following a three year hiatus the band return with their distinct and unique vocal harmonies.

This is one of my favourite bands and, having looked forward to this release for some time now, I can say that I am not disappointed.

A lot is being made of the band's eclecticism, especially after the second album Flaws took a crudely acoustic sound. Yet despite the said departure I would claim that their sound has remained unambiguously consistent.

Once again the band revel in their sumptuously layered vocals - but there is a significant focus this time on percussion and beat work. 'Carry Me's' repetitive oscillation ebbs around house music whilst 'Home By Now' begins with a hip-hop funk; 'Whenever, Wherever' sounds like a drum and bass tune and 'Luna' suggests Bhangra dancefloor. Whilst the variation can be taken for a lack of firm identity I prefer to interpret it as a band willing to take on new sounds and experimentations.

And yet the band's zest and youthful energy, epitomised for example by the title track 'So Long, See You Tomorrow', remains in abundance. This will be a welcome addition for Bombay Bicycle Club's loyal following and a suitable introduction to newcomers of a band that has managed to maintain its image and passion despite an ever changing musical backdrop.

Listen to: 'Carry Me', 'Luna', 'So Long, See You Tomorrow'
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2014
Prolific genre sweepers Bombay Bicycle Club’s latest album has been a much-anticipated record of 2014 since its impending release was announced months ago. So Long See You Tomorrow won’t disappoint fans. In fact, it should gather the band many more. This is due to the album’s charming and addictive persona. More to the point, the higgledy-piggledy variations of its style; the most noticeable aspect of this band and nearly everything they’ve released to date.

What makes So Long See You Tomorrow a cut above the rest is that it’s the fourth of Bombay Bicycle Club’s career. With a genre-less indie band, the near misses and downright appallingly badly written songs dwindle with age. They’re pretty much absent from So Long See You Tomorrow. All the weirdness and unpredictability of the past has finally paid off, with beautiful pop edged transitions and songs that are truly enigmatic. Musical ability such as this was always brewing in Bombay Bicycle Club, but to hone in on such a craft takes true dedication. This album is clean within its musical writings and lyrics. There’s Bhangra beats set to electronic melodies; there are bass synth riffs that are reminiscent of grime. It wouldn’t be a mistake to say that Bombay Bicycle Club capture the multiculturalism melting pot of London in the modern world. It’s also as catchy as anything else we’ve heard so far this year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2014
BBC have added to their sound in every album and its true of this one. I personally love their debut "I had the blues but shook them loose" as the indie rock was perfection to my ears, but I admire every album so far because the song writing, music and lyrically are amazing. I never tire of it, they have a song for every mood.

This album just continues the trend, everything lovingly put together to create a platform on which Jack Steadman can sing and carry his emotions, along with the guest singers. The songs start of with "overdone" that eases you in with guitar riffs and tuneful singing not too far away from their last albums style. The warm summer beats full of samples and electronic swagger kick in with the following tracts only for a couple of slower tracks to break up the pace.

My highlights include : wait, hang on... you know what just look at the tract listing, saves me typing it out again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2017
The final album to date from the now-defunct group, this represents some of the most imaginative and rewarding music of the last decade, for my money. Stand-out tracks were 'Carry Me', 'Luna' and 'Feel', but the whole thing is simply great to listen to, not only for fans. Subsequent solo musical offerings from frontman Jack Steadman and bassist Ed Nash- Mr Jukes and Toothless, respectively- are also well worth giving a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2014
This album received lukewarm reviews, with the usual good, bad, doesn't quite work format...

One review by tabloid 'journo' stated that the song 'Carry Me' was an unsuccessful experiment....??

My point of view as a musician myself is that this band are the most instinctive, talented and unique bunch of people you will hear, they are an incredible live experience and this album is extraordinary.....fact. It is crafted to ebb and flow seamlessly and carries you (pardon the pun) through it, grinning from beginning to end. I'm not saying that you have to be a musician to get this at all but what they create is really, really stunning, from a talent point of view there are no bands in the UK today at this level...

It has to be 5 stars for this, Summer is on it's way and this music is made for it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2015
BBCs fourth and most eclectic album- Jack Steadmans journeys around the world have resulted in the imaginative and creative use of a wide variety of sounds without losing the superb ear for melody that characterise the band s best work. While not as brilliant as the magnificent Flaws, the bands second and, in my view, one of the greatest albums ever there is a great deal to enjoy on So Long, See you tomorrow including the title track which closes the album. It's alright now, Luna, Home by now and Whenever,Whereve are sublime, beautifully crafted songs which rank with the bands finest. This album needs some patience to listen to but it "grows" on you with every listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)