Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2017
Excellent book very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
My boyfriend loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
this is an excellent introducing to the shaman/Druid way of being. easy to understand with great exercises to deepen your connection with yourself and the earth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
They say good things come in small packages and that is certainly true of The Druid Shaman. In just over 80 pages, accomplished practitioner Danu Forest introduces Druidry and Celtic shamanism and explains how to build a modern practice drawing the evidence from ancient finds and contemporary folklore. It is an astonishing feat and this slim volume beats several considerably longer books hands down. Taking readers on a journey, Danu starts by defining Druids and shamanism and finds evidence for their existence in the Celtic past. Being so well researched, this is fascinating stuff but Danu also includes practical guides and exercises right from the first chapter, and these are the real gems within the book. Exploring posture, the working space, finding an ally, meeting the ancestors, interacting with local spirits, and discovering the otherworld of the shaman, Danu uses her simple, direct, and down-to-earth style to guide readers through their first steps on the path and much more thereafter. She is a natural teacher. A final chapter looks at Druid divination, including several techniques drawn from the Irish myths, which were new to me. For anyone who is curious about Celtic traditions, about Druidry, or about shamanism, this book has it all. I enjoyed every page and would thoroughly recommend it. Good things do indeed come in small packages.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
I had high hopes for this book but have been disappointed in the content.

The writing style is very accessible but aspects of the material seem poorly researched to me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
For the explorer of the Celtic otherworld, this is an invaluable guide and workbook. Danu Forest shines the ‘bright knowledge’ of her own experience from these magical realms straight onto the page and prepares the student for journeying (the basis of all shamanic practice) into this multi-layered and deeply spiritual territory.
As with any journey, signposts are important. The Celtic-Irish and British ancestral roots of Druidic lore are clearly set out and Shamanism as a method of finding healing and balance for the soul (practised by our ancestors) is explained thoroughly.
We know where we’ve come from.
The Celtic Shaman is viewed through a 21st century lens as a modern term with reference to Taliesin the great poet, as guide and initiator from history (mortal) and the mythic (otherworld) realms, giving he of the ‘radiant brow’ ample room to shine.
We know where we are.
Learning to expand awareness, to venture beyond physical boundaries to receive inspiration and instruction from the spirit world via guardians and allies is described as the shamanic state of consciousness…
Now we know where we’re heading.
In fact there is no stone left unturned by this writer as she lays the foundations for journeying with sound advice on tools and techniques from posture to divination.
How to raise energy in the tree posture is particularly useful as is also a thorough explanation of the soul - central to all shamanic work. As a keen yoga student I found the Kundalini ‘fire in the head’ piece particularly interesting as confirmation of the inter-connectedness of All Things, no matter where the origins – east or west.
And for anyone who gets themselves into a pickle with circles (more than you may think!) circle - casting is made easy with simple instructions and correspondences that make sense. A variety of illustrations throughout the book serve as an additional guide which is helpful.
This is a must-have for all shamanic students and teachers alike. One never stops learning and benefits are always gained from paying attention to the basics of any subject.
All good teachers lead by example… Danu Forest does this in The Druid Shaman, presenting her subject well and with the confidence of one who has travelled the landscape many times. Her confidence is infectious and carries the hallmark of good instruction and in acting as intermediary between this and the Otherworld; she shows us how our journey can be safe as well as magical.
Exploring has never been so enjoyable.
An inspiring and informative read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Danu Forest's The Druid Shaman is great addition to the Pagan Portals series.You may think"how can such a small book be any use",this book is designed as an introduction,to wet your appetite and then decide if you want to take it further, the writing is clear, friendly, and easy to understand.It gives you a brief history and lessons on how to start journeying.I really enjoy this unique and deep take on Druidry from a shamanic perspective and how well they merge together as a spritual path.
If you are looking for a clear, concise yet understandable book on Druid/shamanism to get you started you can't get much better one than this, well worth a read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
I really enjoy this unique and deep take on Druidry from a shamanic perspective. Reads will be given everything they need to dive right into these practices in a meaningful way that will surely help seekers grow in their path. Very easy to read and informative.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Danu Forest’s The Druid Shaman is a lovely book, and a great addition to the Pagan Portals series. As part of this series, it offers a brief introduction to a subject, which then allows the reader to follow further down the path should they so choose.

Danu’s writing is clear, friendly, and easy to understand. It is obvious that she cares a great deal about the land upon which she lives, the spirits of place and the work that she does. The exercises provided are a real boon to this informative book, offering experiential rather than just intellectual stimulation. In particular, I loved her meditation that adopts the pose of the figure in the Gundestrup cup, which I now use in my own daily practice.

Druid Shaman is a brilliant addition to any Druid’s collection of Druid and Pagan writings. It will appeal to a larger audience as well, offering insight into the traditions both modern and ancient of the British Isles. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
if you want a clear, concise yet understandable book on shamanism you can't really get a much better one than this without going into, often boring, long descriptions and stories.

It's well worth the few pounds it cost me for my kindle.Even though there's a great deal missing, specifically concerning how the baby shamans or druids are known from others and the necessity for training and protection of these babies by a gifted shaman/mage/druid/priest etc etc as they will be cursed with magic and abilities far beyond the norm and very noticeably different (society treats different badly and others may want to abuse their powers/gifts), it is well worth a read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)