Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
10
2.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2009
This ecclesiastical "Kiss and Tell" book does little to enhance the priestly reputation of Michael Seed. Apart from his work with The Passage homeless charity that is (and how much time he had left to devote to that, given the number of champagne receptions at which his presence was required, I'd like to know)."Sinners and Saints" brings name dropping to a new level, though how many of Father Seed's claimed celebrity best friends will include him in their reminiscences, will be interesting to discover.Those looking for saucy or scandalous revelations will be disappointed; it's more of the "Her Majesty prefers lime marmalade with her morning toast" variety but I did enjoy the bit about George Carman QC charging a cool two grand to allow solicitors to use his name to put the frighteners on potential litigants.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
If Michael Seed was simply a celebrity-obsessed queen recalling some mundane anecdotes, this book might be of momentary interest to those who enjoy Hello or Attitude. However, given that he is supposedly a priest of the Church rather than a rough-trader in gossip, this book is hypocritical gibberish. Pass even if remaindered.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
Other reviewers have accused Michael Seed of being a name dropping cad. They should take their noses out of the dark places on their backsides and realise what a great deal of fun there is in this book. It reveals an impish, utterly irreverant side to Cardinal Hume. He had three voices, of a drunken Irishman, a drunken scot and a drunken Geordie he used to sound off when he didn't want to be identified with his comments. Or to difuse a situation. I love the idea of him waving his fist from his car window and shouting 'Maggie Out' every time he passed Downing Street. There is a wonderful scene where Anne Widdecombe gets Michael to exorcise Michael Howard's inner sanctum at the Home Office because she thought he was the master of evil.There is also the hilarious scene where priests shoot down inflated condoms from inside the cathedral with air rifles after a gay protest invasion. Plus the Archbishop of Canterbury mimicking Rowan Atkinson as Mr Bean to a Germasn cardinal who thought he was mad. There is enough juicy tittle tattle to satisfy any over the fance gossip and most of its is very funny to boot. Take my advice and buy it. It will certainly lighten your week.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
I have to admit that I am not a huge fan of the catholic church. But I do have some respect for those priests who work anonymously with the poor, the forgotten and the marginalised. One has to question why Seed feels it necessary to hitch his star to every "celebrity" he can get persuade to listen to him. Doesn't this say quite a lot about Seed himself in the celebrity obsessed times in which we live? why anyone would take this nonesense with other than a large pinch of salt is a mystery to me.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
Pardon the unintentional pun, but quite seedy in places I'm afraid. Also Father Seed is an incredible name dropper and seems to rather like much too much his celebrity lifestyle. He's forever going on about the grand surroundings he inhabits with his celeb friends and then seems upset when he has to stay in a modest Franciscan Friary in America. I know that the profits of one of his previous books went to charity and I'd like to think the same happened with this one, but I'm not so sure. Can anyone enlighten me?

Father Seed, I'm sure you're a good man but please get your priorities right. If you want to hang around with the likes of Peter Stringfellow resign your priesthood and get a job behind the bar dishing out cocktails.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
Largely self serving self aggrandising gossip concerning the rich and famous, strippers, brothel keepers greedy Tory MPs, mysogonists and homophobes. A very odd Franciscan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Book has been passed to many who have read and loved this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
INTERESTING - BUT NOT AS GOSSIPY AS i HAD EXPECTED!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2010
What a mischievous and influential man as well as inspirational priest.
Out of the confidentiality of the confessional, Fr Michael hints and
teases the famous and infamous into confession of faith and commitment
and keeps them up to the mark. His insights into the intriguing growth
of influence of Roman Catholicism in this country are singular and
thought-provoking. Not skilfully written, more compiled, but honest
and to the point. Ed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)