Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2014
It's hugely refreshing to find a horror film that tries (and achieves) something a little different. There are many possession-style stories out there, where the spirit of previous residents of a house hang around long enough to curse successive inhabitants. There are masses of low-budget horrors which attempt to mask their lack of finances by concentrating on slamming doors, shadows and figures appearing in the corner of the viewers' perception to create an unnerving effect.
'The Casebook of Eddie Brewer' has a sprinkling of the above, but it tells a story that doesn't need to resort to using such well-worn themes. Although the idea of a socially misunderstood 'ghost hunter type' has been done before, such personalities are usually peripheral. As the title suggests, Ian Brooker's Eddie Brewer is the main character here, and it is his determination and quiet strength that provides the lifeblood of the story. He is immediately easy to like, especially when his gentle manners are ridiculed by those he meets. It's impossible not to sympathise when callers to the radio show on which he regularly guests call on his paranormal skills to answer questions of mind-numbing mediocrity.
Fans of 'Most Haunted' and the BBC's ground-breaking 'Ghostwatch' will be intrigued and thrilled with this story, which uses familiar-looking workplaces and homes as possible targets for spirits (Eddie's inadvertant meeting with one in a cellar is really quite unnerving).
Eddie is ably supported by a variety of well-rounded characters, played by actors who's faces you may well recognise. Free from spectacle and any CGI intrusion, this is a very enjoyable, eerie slow-burner.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Lot of bad reviews in places on here. I personally really enjoyed this supernatural doco style film. Very much in the Nigel Kneale vein! An excellent performance from Ian Brookner as the main character Eddie Brewer. I wish the makers would do more with the character, it would be great to have Mr Brookner back in a new adventure!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
this film is very rough round the edges due to its miniscule budget and a few performances are a bit weak, but ian brooker as eddie is fabulous and this film has plenty of good ideas and atmosphere.
if you fancy supporting small scale british films i would recommend this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Low budget, smart UK horror movie that attempts something different and, for the most part, succeeds. Humane, warm and believable, the story concerns Eddie Brewer, an old-style paranormal investigator and his most recent case - that of the Rookery, a Birmingham council building in which odd things are happening. Add into the mix a very odd little girl and her imaginary friend, a camera crew making a documentary (although this is not, thankfully, a found-footage picture) and other investigators with very different methods to Eddie and you have something refreshing, surprising and often moving. HIghly receommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
A friend recommended this film, so I bought it on a whim and watched it without reading a synopsis. I'm so pleased I did as it really is a gem of a film that deserves a much wider audience. The characters are very natural which adds to the creepy, realistic nature of the story. Ian Brooker is superb as Eddie Brewer - a man of few words, with personal tragedy at his core. I really don't want to say much about the plot as I would hate to spoil it for anyone else. All I will say is that fans of horror who like to be treated with real intelligence will love this. The film leaves thought provoking questions unanswered and I have been thinking about it for days. I want my friends to hurry up and watch it so I can discuss it with someone. My review may be vague on details but just take a chance and watch this chilling film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
I love this classically wonderful film. I've owned it for around 2 weeks and, already, I've watched it ELEVEN times, with TWO watchings on Christmas day, alone, for being nice instead of naughty. You'll glow over it, yourself, once you've seen it. "The Casebook Of Eddie Brewer" is now on my topmost shelf (the only one I ever dust) and is highly unlikely to ever be found on any other.

Watch as the excellent Ian Brooker breathes his effortless magic into the world's currently only believable paranormal investigator - it would be an error or undue criticism to view "The Casebook Of Eddie Brewer" as even being fiction, at all! Witness how realistically the ongoing warm-and-cool interaction plays out between Eddie and the documentary film crew accompanying him on his typical (and, sometimes, less so) house calls. Listen to the philosophies of Eddie as he encounters disagreeable or disrespectful individuals. Watch as Eddie stumbles upon a more than everyday case concerning demonic influences insidiously manipulating a little girl and confronting her distraught mother. Smile as Eddie is delighted at quickly being able to reassure an elderly couple that the worrying, suspected paranormal activity in their house is a sign that their undesirable neighbours are going to pot!

Eddie Brewer is a paranormal investigator of a trustworthy and lovably old-school persuasion. For the betterment of future British film making, we should dearly hope that there will be more Eddie Brewer films - even, maybe, a TV series, because the available paranormal investigation material (in this country, alone) would never run out, and they'll not find a better actor to play this part - if you see the film, you'll see why. Get ready to make a new friend on the screen!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
One of the best British films of the past couple of years, The Casebook of Eddie Brewer creeps up on you. It's decidedly sinister and sometimes startling but it's less a horror film than a close psychological study of a man who has been on the edge for too long and finally tips over. Ian Brooker's performance is a masterclass is subtlety, making Eddie sympathetic, funny and likeable so that what happens to him is all the more emotionally affecting. As a ghost story, it is classy and clever but demands your attention and patience for maximum effect. I've been recommending this to everyone I know and I hope more people will see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
The Casebook of Eddie Brewer

Imagine a near derelict building, a dark vaulted basement, occult symbols, a young girl seemingly in possession of sinister psychic powers and the spirit of a long dead clown. Sounds like the ingredients for a classic old fashioned slice of weird fiction and that is very much what you get with The Casebook of Eddie Brewer – an atmospheric ghost story that sidesteps shocks, horror and gore in favour of genuine fear of the unknown and how the human mind unravels in the face of it.

Eddie Brewer (Ian Brooker) is a paranormal investigator who shuns modern technology and being part of a team of experts and specialists and instead chooses to work alone and use his own, somewhat old fashion methods. Eddie is an almost constant presence in this film by virtue of the fact that it is presented as a documentary about him and his work. A film that shows him dealing with a girl possessed by a malevolent entity, his nemesis an arch sceptic and the reported hauntings in a crumbling cellar.
`Facing the greatest challenge of his life, Brewer confronts the source of these manifestations during an all-night vigil.
What begins as a mocking expose of his life becomes a terrifying battle between reason and the paranormal’
Eddies relationship with the makers of this `mocking expose’ and their attitude towards him is just one of the masterful ways in which we become aware of the film changing, becoming darker. The crew begin with their slightly mocking tone towards Eddie and he in turn is just as unsure of them. There seems to be an awkward yet light-hearted feel to the earlier footage and indeed we even have Eddie cracking a joke and amusing `haunting’ involving Marijuana growing.
As Eddie becomes involved in the case of a girl whose invisible friend (spirit?) is that of famous clown Grimaldi, and his other investigation at an almost empty council building turns sinister – coins that appear to fall from the basement ceiling, occult symbols and a haunted toilet – We start to see him become scared and panic as his opinion of the paranormal and his belief in the supernatural is challenged. There is a scene in Eddie’s house which not only channels a Jamesian horror but signifies the point when the film sheds off the documentary feel and becomes an all absorbing tale of terror. From this point in every character being filmed by the production crew and indeed the crew themselves are in real danger from the unknown terrors of Eddie’s two cases…..and they take the viewer along with them.
Ian Brooker plays Eddie Brewer as a sensitive yet grumpy character whom the viewer immediately warms to and is then open to the wonderful performance we get from Ian. He is the perfect Eddie – from his accent and how he pitches his voice to his clothes and his walk - Ian plays Eddie in a way that completely draws the audience in and lets them see the story as he sees it. The supporting cast are also a treat, responding brilliantly to the documentary crew and to Eddie, and showing real fear and confusion when the film subtly changes.
I cannot recommend this film enough and it is a film that warrants several viewings. Not because it is confusing and needs to been seen again to understand it but because it is a great film to watch and it is a pleasure noticing new things each time. If you like your scares more along the lines of MR James and Hammer horror than Evil Dead and CGI bloodbaths then this is a film you must make time to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
and a breath of fresh air - intelligent, challenging, well filmed, avoiding blood and gore excess, yet very creepy, and benefitting from an excellent central performance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
I bought this for my cousins for Christmas 2013 having just watched it myself at a festival. I am not a massive horror fan however I found this story all the more compelling for its 'normality'. The central performance of Eddie Brewer himself is excellent and the young girl is mesmerising. I imagine she is one to watch for the future. The camera work added to that feel of having stumbled into something yourself and the was at least one moment when I jumped, but I wont spoil when that was..... My cousins loved it too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)