Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2014
THE ORIGINAL THEATRICAL TRAILER (always good to see,described this film as explosive !.X RATED!...wo....1964 if you can remember the 60s etc..haha) BUT ITS VERY GOOD....FOR DIANE CILENTO IS PERFECTO ! HARRY H CORBETT (and i love him) its very strange to hear him speak not the manchester DIALECT of his birth but some comedy lancashire clitheroe kid accent which i felt didn't do the great man justice.HIS FOOTBALL PALS INCLUDE (YOU COULDN'T MAKE IT UP FLETCH)MR BARROWCLOUGH..A.K.A. BRIAN WILDE,AND MR SMOOTH (THE SUPERB MICHAEL MEDWIN).ITS A VERY GOOD STORY AND THE SUBJECT MATTER BETWEEN SERENA (CILENTO)AND HER SWEATY DAD (VERY NOW)..AS THIS WAS BASED ON AN ORIGINAL STAGE PLAY,I WOULD PASS THIS ON TO ANYBODY WHO LOVES AND KNOWS WHAT TO EXPECT FROM THE PERIOD.A RATTLE OF A SIMPLE MAN...DVD VIA AMAZON U.K.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2006
a brilliantly staged film that isn't what it appears.

on the surface, this comes across as being let another typical british comedy of the times. but after about 10 minutes, this all changes much to my surprise and joy.

this film is based on the stage play of the same name, and serves as a character study concerning two people - harry h. corbett and diane cliento. he is a slightly naive football supporter who is a visitor in london; she is a bored, lonely hostess. together in her flat, they both look back on their lives, at the various opportunities and mistakes they're made, trying to be a source of comfort for each other. rather complex stuff.

like i say, not the comedy that you usually see. this is a mixture of social comment, satire plus other ingredients.

harry h. corbett proves once again that he wasn't just harold steptoe, but a versatile dramatic actor and he does a splendid job here. it feels weird to hear him speak in a manchester accent, but that was his real one. apparently, when corbett saw the result of his performance in the film, he was unhappy about it. i don't see anything remotely wrong. diane cliento does a good job; she hides her australian accent very well and fits into the character as a well-spoken woman.

a rare film that isn't as yet on d.v.d, so find this on video while you can.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
If you like classic, gentle, funny and entertaining 60's films then this could be the film for you ! The film is outstandingly good ! It does seem strange at first seeing Harry H Corbett playing with a Lancastrian accent but once you've got his "Percible" character in your head it's great, then there's all the nostalgic scenes of London's back streets and local night life of days gone by. I'm not going to say anything about the plot....I don't want to spoil it for anyone by giving it away except to say it's not what you would expect. Go on, buy it and enjoy !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
it is great news that this hidden gem is finally being issued on dvd. obtaining the video is difficult to say the least but I believe that networkonair.co.uk's dvd release will have superior picture and sound quality.
harry h. Corbett - best known as Harold Steptoe, reprises his role from the stage production of which this film is based. he and diane cliento are the play's main point of focus as two seemingly mismatched people who find that they have more in common than they realise. the film is played as a mixture of drama and comedy and the balance between the two is well maintained.
the two leads act splendidly and the supporting cast is a very good one with many familiar faces from yesteryear.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Another great release from network, and LONG overdue indeed, great print and a cracking wee film that did well at the time in the box office....with a great cast as well!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Although you may think of this as an old film & think to simply dismiss it, you would be very wrong. It is very amusing with Harold H. Corbett as the mommies boy in the big city spending a night with a prostitute. Watch out for the twists & turns of the plot & the nice twist at the end. An unsung great film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
An unsung classic from the Sixties ! Forget Harry H Corbett as Harold in Steptoe and Son this is the film that proves he had a lot more talent than he was ever given credit for ! Great film well worth seeing !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
My second film with Harry H Corbett and it's a good film
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
I didnt know what to expect from this film and although not a classic like A Kind of Loving I found it an interesting enough film from 1964 and in particular the London scenes. Harry H Corbett is good a usual despite the unconvincing northern accent, and Thora Hirds appearance as the mother is very brief. A good film to own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2008
yes, I agree with review from Mr Ward Davies. Should have liked it performed on stage because it works best as live play. Despite that I'm glad it's been recorded and it's very good especially seeing Harry H Corbett. I understood from his wife that he was very proud of his interpretation of Percy. Should liked to have seen Sheila Hancock playing Cyrenne as seen in original in 1962. On a seemingly small premise of an idea it holds you with it development of the 2 main characters. Not sure if I liked going away from 2 main protagonists into bits of extra 'action' necessary in order to lengthen it as a film I suppose.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)