Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2014
"The most gripping thriller you will ever read"?
Hardly. That's not to say its a badly written book, it is cleverly written and has lots of detail. The story is partly set in 1992, some writers would write this as a 'flash back', here it is lots of journal entries from the period, usually one in every chapter. The book is set in the present, in Holland, although the action spreads over 3-4 weeks. The urgency in the tale does contradict with the time line though: it reads like continuous action over a shorter concentrated time.

it is worth a read though and the 1992 scenes seemed well researched, as did the scientific bits. Reminds be a bit of the medical thrillers of Robin Cook in the 70s and 80s. But 'most griping thriller ever'? - nah.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
A fairly interesting read. I was very impressed at the start but as the story wore on I realised it probably wasn't the best put together of tales. Towards the end it was fairly unconvincing. The storyline was a good idea but I felt the Author could have done so much more with it & it became a little laboured & lumbering & certainly required concentration! On the plus side the book held me to the end & it certainly wouldn't be a book you would get bored with. Often I buy a book which loses its appeal one page after the sample but this isn't one of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
The only thing sensational about this book is the claim that it is the most gripping thriller I will ever read. What could have been an interesting read is marred by completely over the top, exaggerated and unbelievable action- the characters are poorly formed and hard to relate to and the secondary story told through Erica's diary is ruined by the farcical action in the main bulk. Would much rather have read the diary alone and it's a shame that an interesting idea and clever contrast between the diary and present was let down by how deeply unrealistic most of it is- the kind of book that leaves you disappointed and frustrated by the time you invested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
Decent effort,very interesting story line about mosquitoes and bug business and Africa,well woven together. First book I've read by this author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Intriguing at first and an interesting concept for a novel, but I just never really got into it. Too many characters that you didn't properly get to know and it didn't feel like all the story lines had cone together once I'd reached the end. That said, not a 'bad' book. Still give it 3 stars and had no problem getting to the end. It does give itself a lot to live up to with a strap line like that!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Definitely NOT the most gripping thriller I ever read! Unsure why I couldn't get into this book, as it is my usual / preffered 'genre'. Noot particularly poorly written and not particularly poorly edited just lacking something (like tasting a recipe and feeling there's something missing). All in all, not a very satisfying read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
The story was interesting and had some twists. There were the usual plot holes but not too bad . A good read for a couple of quid.
However the publishers really should pay more attention to typos. There were far too many occasions where the wrong word was used eg "if" instead of "of". It can be confusing in the wrong place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
I found Bite a little difficult to get into. With two different time frames and different story lines at the beginning I was struggling, but I persevered and was rewarded by a gripping thriller that I subsequently found hard to put down. The whole topic of malaria was indeed thought provoking and makes you question the morality of the big drug companies. The book would make one hell of a film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Not in my opinion "The most gripping" but a decent enough and enjoyable story. The credibility of the current story was a bit stretched to my way of thinking with the past story based in Africa the more compelling aspect of the book. Also left quite a few loose ends on some characters who featured which it would have been nice to have tidied up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
I absolutely loved this book it is well written and keeps you on your toes all the way to the last chapter. Very informative and well researched opened my eyes about Malaria. It could easily have turned into a horror instead of murder/suspense and again makes you remember there are evil people everywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse