Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2014
Purchased via Marketplace,I got this for about 50p per disc,and am soooo glad i bought it.I normally only buy music from Beethoven onwards,being more interested in the Romantic than strictly Classical period,but having read many very favourable reviews,and at the price I paid,couldn't resist.The dubious (and spurious) works credited are excised here,and may be found to one degree or another in other"complete" sets,but these are as accurately as can be determined all the genuine work of the composer.Sound is excellent throughout,oftentimes slower than the rapid pace taken nowadays,and deemed de riguer for Mozart,which can,I think, easily miss the points being made.If the string sound isn't as lush as modern orchestas supply,that's because period practice,as here,employed fewer than we expect today.A fanatical period practice afficianado i am not,but have no objection to it either,and can wholeheartedly recommend this set.Truly excellent.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Purchased for a friend a gift, he was totally delighted with this full set on period instruments and it was a total bargain too at around £9.99 so what more can I say? Superb purchase and performances for next to nothing :-)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
:-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
A wonderful set of music played with life and feeling. I had to add this to my complete recordings of Mozart's piano concertos. Extremely good value for the mp3. It also means I don't have to find room for yet more CDs. Good clear sound, the orchestration sounds spacious and unmuddied.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 January 2013
This is astonishingly good value. These period performances have been well prepared and are presented by a stylish small orchestra, very well directed by Jaap ter Linden. The recordings are excellent, well balanced and attractive. Sometimes drive and energy may seem to be sacrificed - a little - for neatly pointed elegance, but in many symphonies this impression is misleading ; de Linden is adept at not showing has hand too early, and in many cases - e.g. the final movements of No. 34 and the 'Haffner' - there is more than enough power and sense of culmination. What the box does very well, at this extremely attractive price, is enable the listener to get to know all of Mozart's symphonies and chart his development from juvenilia, through symphonies written quickly for special occasions or particular places to the wonderful 'Prague' Symphony and the three towering masterpieces that followed. Of course there are greater performances available, but we are never short-changed, and you can absolutely trust these accounts. I'd like to give a compromise 4 and a half stars, but the generous value will not admit of anything less than 5, so 5 it is. There is an alternative Italian set available even more cheaply, and I have one CD from that - it's good! - but I cannot comment on its merits relative to this Dutch set, which is also interesting for including both versions of the great G Minor Symphony, with and without clarinets. For the outlay of not much more than £30 (at the time of writing) you can get both, and though I haven't done so yet, I am much tempted - it would be nice to compare them work by work. Whatever, no-one who buys these peformances is likely to be seriously disappointed.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
In my youth I loved Beethoven and despised Mozart as trite. One learns over the years and I find it almost impossible to listen to a Beethoven symphony now - the stops and starts, and the never knowing how and when to end, remind me of GCSE coursework essays of a teenager in a hurry. In Mozart there seems to be not one note too few or too many and they carry you to heaven!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
Excellent! Very good performances and a good 24 page booklet to accompany the set. This really is good value and a worthy addition for the Mozart collector.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
Mozart-Akademie shows here the flaws of period-instrument interpreting at its worst: thin, bony, even dirty sound. The brass in the early symphonies (which are the CDs I'm speaking of, just couldn't listen to more) is just a joke.

This problems are obvious dangers of period-interpreting and, despite increasing the numbers and the quality of instruments, and of the players, there's always the danger of just botching the sound. This doesn't apply only to the very best period ensembles, like Concentus Musicus Vienna, who has an excellent recording of the early symphonies , in two volumes.

Mozart: Early Symphonies, Vol 2Early Symphonies And Letters (Harnoncourt) [Digipak]
44 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.09
£2.79
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)