Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Far As I Can See
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 February 2014
I've been a Matt Schofield fan since I've bought the album "Ear To The Ground" in a London shop not knowing him before. I fell in love with his guitar playing and tone, the freshness he brought into modern blues music. Since then I've purchased all of his albums. His latest release "Far As I Can See" is a brillinat album in every way. I must say it is one of the best blues albums of all time. I can't stop listening to it. It is so solid. As you can expect you can hear brilliant and massive guitar tones on the album that are powerful, yet round. His guitar playing is over the top. The band includes Jonny Henderson on organ and piano, long mate of Matt. On drums you can hear Jordan John from Toronto, Canada. His playing is very accurate, solid and enjoyable. A wellcome addition to the trio line up is Carl Stanbridge on bass. Oh man! Those grooving bass lines! You won't be disappointed. There are also special guests, including James Morton, Ruth Hammond, Gary Alsebrook on horns, Denny Ilett on guitar on Oakville Shuffle and Simon Law as backing vocals on From Far Away and Clean Break. Simon also produced, recorded and engineered the album. He put the band's live aproach and feeling onto CD.
We have 11 tracks on the CD, from basic Jimmy Vaughan style blues to latin influenced funky-blues. 9 originals and 2 adaptations, Albert King's Breaking Up Somebody's Home and Neville Brothers' Yellow Moon. Despite the diversity in styles of these songs this album is solid as a rock.
Thanks to Simon Law for putting those huge guitar sounds down to the CD.
If you like modern, guitar driven blues, this CD is for you. You won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I never thought he could top his two previous albums, but somehow this is by far better, and it is hard to find the superlatives for this. Soulful singing, stunning guitar work in many genres (slow, fast blues, rock, even some Hendrix type playing in the last song), and most of all really good songs. I actually played it the first time and could not help endlessly repeating it. Matt has produced one of the best guitar albums of the recent (years? decades? time will tell). In any case DON T MISS THIS, MUST HAVE.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 November 2014
Matt Schofield and band have been in a fine musical form of late.

At the British Blues Awards in 2010 Schofield won Best Album for the previous year’s Heads, Tails & Aces; Schofield and his musical right-hand man, organ player Jonny Henderson, picked up Best Guitarist and Best Keyboard Player (the pair won the same honours in 2011).

The cool, bluesy funk of Anything But Time, released in 2011, was the equal of Heads, Tails & Aces and when Schofield won Best Guitarist at the British Blues Awards for the third time in a row in 2012 he became the first guitarist to enter their Hall of Fame.

That’s a hard, award-setting act to follow but Far As I Can See, Matt Schofield’s fifth studio album, is a superb addition to the Schofield musical catalogue – and one that deserves its own set of plaudits and awards.

Matt Schofield delivers fluid guitar lines throughout with a style that fuses jazz (recalling American guitarist Robben Ford), latin and (B.B. and Albert) King sized old-blues licks, sitting over the top of Jonny Henderson’s swirling organ grooves and underpinned by a rhythmic punch delivered by drummer Jordan John and bassist Carl Stanbridge.

Right from the opening brace of the melodic blues of 'So Far Away' and the funky shuffle of 'Clean Break'
Far As I Can See impresses in musicianship, and delivers in song quality, across its eleven tracks.
Highlights include 'Getaway' (which puts a little soul-funk in to the blues before Schofield delivers some serious fretboard work on the closing section), the fun and funky 'Hindsight' and the 12 Bar boogie of 'Tell Me Some Lies.'

Elsewhere the jazz-blues of 'Oakville Shuffle' brings a little instrumental swing to proceedings while Matt Schofield's six-string skills are showcased on the nine minute slow blues of 'The Day You Left' and album closer 'Red Dragon,' a ten-minute tour-de-force of atmospheric blues and Hendrix styled expression.

Two covers feature and both are great fits for the album and its mix of blues-based styles.
'Breaking Up Somebody’s Home' retains the horns and funky slow blues of Albert King’s recording and while 'Yellow Moon' keeps the tempo and groove of the Neville Brothers number it exchanges the reggae structure of the original for a little Cajun and Gumbo funk.

Matt Schofield’s jazz and funk influenced blues are complimented by great songs, solid vocals, excellent six-string work and wonderful tone -- all highlighted to great effect on Far As I Can See.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 February 2014
A career defining album from Matt.
This album should be absolutely heaped with awards, it is the best album I have heard in the last 10 years.
Every single track is a gem, from Matts King cover Breaking Up Somebodys Home, to the fantastic instrumental Oakville Shuffle.Yellow Moon is a magnificent deep south, gumbo fest.Red Dragon, Hendrix drenched blues is a masterclass.This guy should be filling arena, s like Joe B, but then again, I love the intimate venues where one is at one with the artist.Alas I think this album will possibly send Matt into the stratosphere, good for him, he deseves it, but unfortunate for those who have seen him, and chatted with him over the years.
Just buy this album people and listen to a classic in the making.Never mind ear to the ground, its ear to the speaker!!!
Sorry Matt, you've just been trumped by Walter Trouts Blues Came Callin'.Phenomenal!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 March 2014
while at one of Matt and the bands gigs before Christmas I heard a couple of the songs from this new set, they were great then and made this release one highly anticipated album. Well its here and boy its really just got to be his best yet,and all the others are great, now with a new drummer and adding a bass player, gives the fantastic Jonny Henderson even more scope to layer his keyboard genius over this set. At the heart though is Matt Schofield, without now any doubt at all the best blues based guitarist there has been since Eric Clapton came on the scene, he really is an incredible talent, and possesses a very fine voice to go with it. A move to a new label in Provogue, a chutch of great songs this really is a release of the highest and most exiting, not to mention fulfilling you could have. Canadian born drummer Jordan John along with Carl Stanbridge on the bass add a rich solid layer over which Matt and Jonny can do what they do so very well. A three piece horn section make a welcome addition on a few tracks, plus Danny Iiett's added guitar on the instrumental offereing 'Oakland Shuffle' obviously named after the Californian town. There are overall eleven choice tracks here, with the closer 'Red Dragon' really weighing in with glimpses of Hendrix yet remaining pure Schofield. Matt always adds one cover on his albums, aalongside his own songs and here we get Breaking Up Somebody's Home', and he does a great version, with his own very original styloing full of ideas and taste. He is developing into a writer of the highest level, and this latest set confirms him as an artist who deserves massive success,This is one album no one should miss, get it now,enjoy an album of I'm sure lasting pleasure, you hear something new each tiome its played. ALBUM OF THE YEAR 2014, its got to be in there, there certainly won't be many better than this..5 stars just ain't enough !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Okay, Matt's new album and it may be new label and new band, but with same ol' Johnny Henderson who is to the Hammond what Matt is to the Fender, it's business very much as usual.

Great band showcase, Oakville Shuffle and Matt takes the "safety" off on the epic Red Dragon, but every other song is a winner.

One thing's for sure, if you car's air-con is broke, or you don't have it - by this Cd and play, it's that cool.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
While it is common to see albums decline in quality year after year with some artists that is never the truth when it comes to Matt Schofield. Each and every year he puts out a new CD it exceeds everyone's expectations. My personal favorites would be "Clean Break" and "Red Dragon" Matt's Tone, Feel, Chops, Vocals and intensity are top of the heap in this industry. Don't miss out on this fantastic collection of killer tunes!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
I think this is perfection. The guy has studied all the right cats and just does it so right. Great song writer and always picks one or two good covers. This thing smoulders - when it gest to the end you just have to put in on again. Best damn modern blues player. I just love every second of this album. "The day you Left" - just shy of 10 minutes is sublime. If you have any interest or affection for the blues - this is indispensable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 February 2014
This album really is a master class in how to keep modern blues fresh and relevant. Matt's playing and tone are truly excellent and he is happy to move outside outside the standard blues conventions in his writing without losing the roots of it all. I love the way his songs will not always take the predictable next chord but be inventive and move off on a tangent that just takes then to another level.
There is some really excellent song writing going on here.

I started listening to a streamed version and was transfixed and immediately purchased the album I was so buzzing at the end of it.
The last track 'Red Dragon' is just a monster.

I'm typing this as I listen and am just blown away by his phrasing and Matt's singing really shines here too.
The whole band just 'gel' on the cut and the horn section is truly kicking.

For me it's his best album yet and essential listening to anyone with an ear for the blues...and for all others too.

Thanks Matt, you made my day and put the biggest smile on my face I've had for weeks!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
I am an avid Matt Schofield fan and have all of his previous albums and, in my humble opinion, "Far As I Can See" is a belter! I'm writing this review on release day and it dropped through my letterbox this morning so I've only had chance to play it twice and I love it already. There are touches of everything in here from Albert Collins to Jimi Hendrix via Chuck Berry. Jonny Henderson's organ is prominent and brilliant throughout and the rhythm section of drummer Jordan John and bassist Carl Stanbridge are rock solid. Add to all this a smattering of horns and you've got a fantastic album. I'm a bit fed up with Matt and the band always being compared to others - particularly Robben Ford, they are their own men - this album has 11 tracks and 9 of them were written by Matt and other band members.... they are leaders, not followers. It's hard to believe that I got the original Matt Schofield Trio to play a gig in our little village hall in Leicestershire about 6 years ago - they deserve world acclaim and I sincerely hope that they achieve it soon. Don't hesitate, buy this album and be blown away!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)