Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.50

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2017
Excellent Book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Wow what a read,i could not put this book down.
I kept thinking what on earth is is Alan Goldsmith going to do next,i was not dissapointed .
Its a very full and interesting account of the life of an amazing man,and not just about sex,drugs and rock and roll.
He was/is one of the great promoters behind the scenes that created pop and rock history that music fans and indeed anyone will love to read about.
I am sure that many,many bands,rock groups,singers owe Alan a debt of gratitude for helping them on the route to fame and fortune,and its all here to read about .A excellent five star read,and really not one to flick through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
This was an excellent read. I normally take my time over books, however, this was such a page turner I finished it in two sessions. The book deals briefly with the Authors early life experiences in which he (for instance) turned the practice of "gleaning" farmers dropped harvest into a small business by first harvesting unattended crops and then gleaning the proceeds. Is this theft? not really but its bloody funny. The book quickly moves on to how the author spotted an opportunity to promote bands and dances by hiring up and coming acts. He either had an eye for it or there wasn't anybody else organising things because some of the names he booked before they became famous are astonishing. I wont spoil the surprises but I particularly enjoyed the account of pulling Kieth Moon down from the theatre curtains of the local corn exchange (ironically bearing in mind the gleaning) which was a matter of damage limitation as opposed to trying to control the chap. I found the whole book inspiring but also an authentic account of how things used to be done before the world became over complicated with technology. Apparently you booked a band, did some advertising and then waited to see if the word had got out and people turned up. And they did, in volume and with complications of thier own. The people described and the things that happened are well recounted and the book has an air of authenticity that leaves you in no doubt all the things the author recounts really happened. This is an excellent book and Im not even that interested in the 60's. I am getting my 18 year old son a copy simply so that he can see how you give it both barrells - well done Mr Goldsmith!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Giving it both Barrels does exactly what it says on the tin! With sex, rock 'n' roll, Nazi secrets, royalty and stunt show stories - what more could you possibly fit into one book?

This autobiography by Alan Goldsmith gives the reader a super snap shot into the life and trials of the true sixties era. With both colour and black & white photo's (all originals with some very naughty ones!) Alan takes you back to his childhood and humble beginnings with stories of gleaning from potato fields with his family right through his electric career as a rock 'n' roll promoter (with the unbelievable tales about back stage and the stars! Who knew?) a stunt show, air show and concert promoter, meeting the royals plus the many other journeys his life has lead him through. The wonderful thing about this book is that all the stories are true making it 'unputdownable'.

Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
This is a fantastic book.

The author, Alan Goldsmith, tells it how it actually was when he booked all the famous musical acts from America and the UK. How the Americans were always unfailingly polite and how he made the mistake of turning down the Rolling Stones when they were just starting their journey to fame and fortune. Read insights into so many of these young, aspiring and soon to become famous acts. Quite an eye-opener.

In the last chapter Alan views life and how he sees it through his eyes. Well spoken and very aptly put - definitely worth a read.
Giving it Both Barrels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
A fantastic and detailed account of the pop scene of yesteryear giving lots of untold knowledge of famous groups that were not famous then. Told with a good deal of humour, it is an account of one man's journey from his humble beginnings to the success story of today. Intriguing items also of the Nazi war hero Gallan and his accounts of his meetings with Hitler. Lots of topless strippers in there too! Just the book to read by the fireside with a 60's LP playing in the background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
A must have book, blowing the lid on the 50's and 60's. Without doubt this book is going to be a best seller with its saucy photo's and disclosures. Not just Rock `n' Roll but great revelations about the Nazi's, Stunt and Air Shows as well. A true uncut window into life as it was in that magical era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Loved reading this book, very entertaining and funny, I laughed out loud many times, lots of interesting stories about the rock n roll life style in the 50's and 60's - I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
This is certantly the best history of Rock & Roll I have read.
Alan has sumed up all that was great in the UK music scene.
Boy has that man done it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
Bought for Father's Day as my Dad knew Alan Goldsmith when he was younger, he loved it, can't comment any more than that!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)