Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 13 December 2013
I bought 'From A Venetian Courtyard' because I love Venice but never expected the 'feel' of Venice to come over so well. I could actually picture the canals, palaces etc. It's not a tourist read at all - the stories are extraordinary, really atmospheric but with a dry wit. I kept turning the pages. My best buy for ages! M.R.London
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Patricia Nolan's wonderful book is a treat for those who enjoy a well crafted story, carefully blended with almost tangible descriptions of Venice. This work is captivating from the first to last page, which comes all too soon on the journey through various insights into the lives of her diverse cast of characters. This really is an outstanding and swift paced up-close look at a pivotal time in each person or indeed feline's unique world. Set against the backdrop of a beautiful flat in one of the most beautiful cities in the world, the use of individual occupants is a clever devise which serves to move the narrative forward as we effortlessly and seamlessly progress from one tale to another.

I highly recommend this book and envy those reading it for the first time.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
It is a series of short stories all originating in one particular apartment in Venice. It is a snapshot of different peoples lives and I still find myself thinking about one of two of the stories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
❤️
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
I felt the stories abrupt endings a real downer. Just as you were getting into the story it would end with no conclusion!! frustrating
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Brilliant book. Love this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
A collection of delightful short stories, Venice is beautifully described in different lights, seasons and moods. The stories are well constructed, the plots are gripping and often contain a twist. The link between the stories is the courtyard but also the characters who leave behind traces of their previous presence or who sometime can be seen only as a face in a window to later be the character driving a story. Enough said! I strongly recommend this book, read it and let's look forward to the next one!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I read this book on holiday and couldn't put it down. There are some fantastic, unexpected twists and the atmosphere of Venice is almost tangible. I love some of the character formations and wished that the author had continued each story. I highly recommend From A Venetian Courtyard.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
I loved these tales. They offer a tantalising feel for this wonderful city, wetting the appetite for a first visit or bringing back memories of the many locations and experiences from previous visits. The plots are never dull and lead the imagination in all sorts of unexpected directions. I shall return again and again to this book and look forward to the next collection from this author or even the development of some of the plots into full scale novels.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Really enjoyed the stories.The author captures the essence of Venice and certainly brings this wonderful city to life. The different periods,style and twists the author uses,serves to retain the readers interest in all the stories.From a Venetian Courtyard
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Venice Project
£1.99
Venice
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here