Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 April 2015
I loved this story. I first saw it on VHS in the special Cybermen cassette, and it was great then. This time around on DVD you get animated fillers for the missing episodes, and these work rather well (unlike some times when they jar). All of the characters have great roles to play, and even if Jamie is ill and out of action for a while, its not a problem, things like this should happen to companions from time to time. The sets are great and the cybermen are fantastic and eery. Troughton's Doctor is at his best and the whole package really works well. One of my favourite cybermen stories, and one of my favourite Second Doctor stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2016
I've read the book adaptation of this adventure many times, and to be able to see the story, largely as broadcast, was a treat. The surviving original footage is really clear. The animated episodes (made to replace lost footage) are very well put together. The "making of" documentary seemed just enough to give a sense of what it was like filming the show, in the 1960s, without overwhelming with detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2014
The second Cybermen story, first in the Patrick Troughton era and its a classic base under seige story, one of the hallmarks of Doctor Who Seasons 4 and 5.

Shame 2 episodes are still missing but they've been well animated and synched up to the existing soundtracks.

Very good and highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2014
This is the business. Patrick Troughton was getting into his stride here. Black & white makes it more atmospheric and the animation is great.

The story is the "base under siege" which was repeated multiple times in the next couple of years, but that isn't a complaint, its ideal Doctor Who!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2015
Brought back a few memories from my kiddie years. Love this story and the animation plugging was done very well. I can remember watching this when it first aired on TV. I could also remember the distinct tune when the cybermen were walking across the moon surface to attack the Moonbase. Great stuff! :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2014
brilliant Doctor Who DVD partly animated because the BBC Trashed some episodes in the 60's or 70's. it is great how they've done this and it's great to see the entire story. the Animation does not spoil the story at all. Great for any true Doctor Who fan young or old.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2015
Patrick Troughton was very much the 'monster' Doctor and here he battles Cybermen, again assisted by Ben, Polly, and young Jaime McCrimmon, rescued from 18th century Scotland. This serial is 50% original TV episodes and 50% reconstructed animation replacing two missing episodes. A fine entry in the Doctor Who genre of 'base under attack' stories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2016
Now this is more like it,a tale that has it all.Cybermen firing on the moonbase,cocktail Polly and some very dodgy headgear that look like shower caps!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2015
I wish they would do more of these old stories, even if it's only all in cartoon format. Great story, Great doctor, great everything.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2015
I love watching the old Doctor Who Stories, especially the ones that I havn't seen before, far better viewing than the new series that is on the television.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse