Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
8
Game of Love
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£9.00

on 19 July 2017
A rare ray of light on piercing through the dense darkness of Indian Govt propaganda pre and post 1984.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2008
A great book and an excellent educationally based resource on the great Sikh fighting spirit and the political environment of India. The book is "Gripping, Real and Heartfelt" which is written from an insider's perspective with invaluable stories, examples and moments never heard in the public arena before. The information is concisely compiled in an easy to read formt, hence there is no other resource on the market that can come close to matching this book for its sheer density.

The book cites many references and collates information from a wide range of sources, which is put together in a readable format covering the beginning of Sikhism to the current times. The book is not theoretical, sitting on the fence or government biased but balanced, to the point and factual.

Reading The Game of Love is very motivational, inspiring and eye opening to the genuine struggles that many Sikhs have gone through to preserve their identity and way as defined by Sikh scriptures. The book is a most interesting read for all, no matter their religion, and will prove beneficial to both practicing and non practising Sikhs alike.

The title is very fitting!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2008
As a non-practising Christian, I am not interested in religion, other than to better understand how belief systems shape the thinking and actions of those who belong to particular faiths; however, even I found myself feeling incredibly drawn to the the way of being and thinking described in this book.

As a great opponent of injustice, I was incensed by the way Sikhs have been treated over the centuries and, at the same time, I was full of admiration for the way in which they have stayed true to their beliefs and fought to uphold justice and freedom, not only for their own people, but for all communities.

It is so easy to believe what you see on the TV and read in newspapers and form an opinion on who is the 'aggressor' in a given situation; I had very 'western' views of what happened at the Golden Temple - this book clearly explains the truth behind that atrocity and has changed my understanding of what I believed to be 'the truth' as portrayed by the media.

This book is informative and thought-provoking. It gives a good insight into the history of the Sikhs and sets out the basis of their beliefs and why their struggle for justice is so important, not just for them, but for all of us who believe in fairness and equality.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2008
An amazing piece of literature which accurately deals with all the necessary elements of this very technical and complex Religious/political scenario.
Refreshing to read a book which deals with sikhs by an author well versed in the correct and orthodox beliefs of the religion, in stead of the usual errors.

This is not for those who are not actually interested but like to make up their minds by reading a post on a forum,but one who is actually interested in the complete ins and outs start to finish/present.

also reccommend "politics of genocide"

My sincere congratulations to the author and those involved for an amazing acheivement, it will undoubtedly receive the appreciation it deserves.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2008
Having read a lot of books around the history and politics of the south-east asian subcontinent of this era i stumbled across this book.

I expected the usual Indian Government line being taken as the vast majority of books from this era were subject to severe scrutiny and indeed Censorship by the Indian State. One only has to look through the list of authors such as KPS Gill, General Brar, etc and one is left nothing but certain that objectivity has flown out of the window!

To read a book that looked at the most critical situation to face India and Pakistan since Partition from a new perspective was refreshing. There are very, very few books indeed that seek to understand the thinking of normal people placed in extreme circumstances amongst a backdrop of human rights abuses and State-sponsored terrorism.

I would certainly recommend reading this book from cover to cover!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2008
Pick up the Game of Love and begin your journey into the truth of what sikhs have endured (and still are) living in the biggest "democracy" in the world they call India.
Once you start this book, it will be almost impossible to put down as you are drawn into the struggles and atrocities we have had to face simply to live as practising Sikhs. The book gives you a chronology of events and puts into perspective why the Sikhs are fighting for freedom in "mother" India.

This book is an eye opener for all who believe the attack on Sri Harmandir Sahib (Golden Temple) was caused by a group of hardline militants "hiding" in the complex.

Fantastic book, well done to the editor for compiling all the information and putting it in one book in such a compelling and thought-provoking way. Absolutely brilliant.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2008
Game of Love

For those who know little about it, like me, this book provides a very interesting account of the historical development of the Sikh nation aand an understanding that Sikhism is more than just a religion - it is a way of being.

For those opposed to injustice, it develops a sense of outrage at the way Sikhs have been treated by the Indian Government and a great admiration for the way in which they have stayed true to their beliefs and fought to uphold justice, freedom and the principles of fairness and equality.

On a less positive note, I am not persuaded that "one man's terrorist is another man's freedom fighter" and I could not condone violence or refer to the perpetrators of acts of violence as "martyrs". It seems an unfortunate fact of life that peaceful ways may not produce fairness in some of today's "democracies", but perhaps this is today's destiny - tomorrow's may be to achieve our ends when enlightment dawns.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2013
Amazing book! Definiatly a must read!
Could not thank Harjinder Singh more for this book. If you're indeed of inspiration, read this book. You won't be disappointed
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)