Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
91
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2016
I downloaded this in December 2013 but only recently (July 2016) got around to reading it. I really enjoyed the story and found it a great holiday read BUT there are so many typing and spelling mistakes that I spent so much time 'highlighting' these that they became a distraction. A good proof reader is a must for this author - hopefully he has addressed this since my purchase and download. So why did I give this 5 stars if it was so poorly 'proof read'? Simply because I use a standard approach to assessment with 'star ratings' based on awarding one star for a 'yes' to each of the following questions: 1. Did I enjoy the story? 2. Did it hold my attention throughout? 3. Did I get to know the characters and care what happened to them? 4. Was I sorry that the story finished - did I want to read more? and 5. Would I buy another book from this author? The answer to each of those is 'yes' and consequently it gets my 5 stars because this author really is a brilliant 'story teller' and I look forward to reading more of his books (Just downloaded the 'follow up' to this book)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
WARHORN is set in the era of Hannibal’s quest to crush the supremacy of the Roman Empire 221 BC, and the horror of the Iberian Peninsular torn asunder by warring factions is shockingly realistic within this novel.

As pro-Roman factions’ raid, pillage and terrorise tribal peoples’ who merely wish to live peacefully under Hannibal’s guardianship, the stench of death lingers on the ether. Left bereft in the face of wicked slaughter of men, women and children, the young hero Caros, vows to avenge the loss of his entire household. Although Caros is but a young man of headstrong intent, there is much he must learn of warfare from experienced and hardened warriors. To his credit he learns fast the ways of tracking enemy forces, but evading them is not always possible and hard lessons are learned along life’s path. Thankfully, not everything in a warrior’s life is all battle and no play, and love traps him in its passionate embrace. But Caros’ dreams are soon shattered by turn of events, and when the WARHORN finally blasts forth, Caros and his mentors rally to the war cry. In the meanwhile, Fate the unseeing force plays cruel tricks on Caros. So too it reignites heartfelt longing only to once again crush the warrior from within.

WARHORN is more than just a story of warriors, battle cries and storming the ramparts of a besieged city. Caros’ story tugs at a reader’s heartstrings in the closing stages, and I admire the author for breaking with convention and venturing to a heart-rending ending. Well, it was for moi, though Caros it would seem is set to ride forth within a second book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
This is a very good story,well told and exciting.Not only an adventurous story but a love story also.The story of the son of a merchant who becomes a warrior who rises in command to lead his tribe in battle.Gripping I couldn't put it down!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
This is an enjoyable read with plenty of battling action throughout and contains characters that the reader will like and dislike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
great story very inventive style
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
story of one of the tribes in Spain at the beginning of Hannibal`s campaign against the Romans. The various tribes have to decide whether they are `for` or `against` Hannibal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
Good enough tome but like a lot of these kind of books, too many names
JAA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
good read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse