Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
76
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2013
Enjoyed this book immensely. I like a book that has strong characters in it, ones who you really get to love and hate along the way. Caros the young trader who knows nothing about how to become a warrior, his heart set on revenge. He learns through the other wise warriors and facinating tribes what it takes to become the hero warrior everyone sees in him especially Hannibal Barca. Loved the banter between Neugan the tracker and Caros. Fantastic fight scenes, you can actually picture yourself on the various battlegrounds, the tension unreal, the men and horses anxiety, the smells, sweat,rage and thirst for blood. If you like action, adventure, love, history, then this is the book to read. Well done to the author, can't wait for the next book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
WARHORN (Sons of Iberia)The story drew me in and kept me spellbound till the very end. The pace picks up fast and barrels along. Emotions envelop and action is vividly depicted in great choice of words and metaphor. One is totally absorbed in the history and culture of long ago Spain in a tantalizing tale with fascinating fictional characters. History, ecology and story woven together wonderfully and with author's notes and maps makes for excellence. I look forward to the next saga of Caros and his inimitable companions!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
I love learning something new in a novel and since I know very little about this period in history - 220 B.C. - it was definitely challenging to keep up with the many factions involved in the struggle for supremacy across the Iberian plain, a domination which aims to leave the area in settled peace and harmony. I desperately wanted to leave off the novel reading to begin some research of the era, but that was tempered with the urgent need to carry on with the story of Caros and find out how J. G. Bauer would develop the character of the young man who vows to avenge the brutal killing of his entire family.
The times are very bloody indeed; the description of the fighting and battle strategies are explained in great detail - the gore and devastation to man, woman, child and beast leaping off many of the pages in graphic horror. Caros transitions from being a young trader to a battle-hardened warrior who uses his deadly falcata with unerring accuracy, his combatant skills coming so naturally to him at a very swift pace. However, I like that J.G. Bauer ensures that Caros does not magically escape all injury- for me that would have been farcical in such violent and turbulent times. Battle scars gained toughen up the warrior even more even though he must live through some heartbreaking consequences.
His rapid progress to being noticed by the upper echelons of the armies didn’t disappoint me, and that the young Hannibal singles him out seems fitting. Caros becomes the kind of unassuming hero who draws friends and admirers easily from his fellow comrades and also from his enemies. Named ‘Claw of the Lion’ early on in the novel is well earned by the time the story closes.
It is not only a story of war, though, the love of a young woman –Ilimic- is also a painful transition time for Caros to work through. There are many characters in the novel, some of whom are very likeable – like Neugen who becomes a real and trusted friend very quickly. Other characters are much less attractive but well portrayed.

My only problem with the read was that the editing could have been sharper: this would have avoided occasional spelling and what I would term points of view problems.

Summing up though, If you want a detailed historical novel of trememdously exciting battle frenzy at a time that isn’t too commonly written about, then I definitely recommend Warhorn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
WARHORN is set in the era of Hannibal’s quest to crush the supremacy of the Roman Empire 221 BC, and the horror of the Iberian Peninsular torn asunder by warring factions is shockingly realistic within this novel.

As pro-Roman factions’ raid, pillage and terrorise tribal peoples’ who merely wish to live peacefully under Hannibal’s guardianship, the stench of death lingers on the ether. Left bereft in the face of wicked slaughter of men, women and children, the young hero Caros, vows to avenge the loss of his entire household. Although Caros is but a young man of headstrong intent, there is much he must learn of warfare from experienced and hardened warriors. To his credit he learns fast the ways of tracking enemy forces, but evading them is not always possible and hard lessons are learned along life’s path. Thankfully, not everything in a warrior’s life is all battle and no play, and love traps him in its passionate embrace. But Caros’ dreams are soon shattered by turn of events, and when the WARHORN finally blasts forth, Caros and his mentors rally to the war cry. In the meanwhile, Fate the unseeing force plays cruel tricks on Caros. So too it reignites heartfelt longing only to once again crush the warrior from within.

WARHORN is more than just a story of warriors, battle cries and storming the ramparts of a besieged city. Caros’ story tugs at a reader’s heartstrings in the closing stages, and I admire the author for breaking with convention and venturing to a heart-rending ending. Well, it was for moi, though Caros it would seem is set to ride forth within a second book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
I downloaded this in December 2013 but only recently (July 2016) got around to reading it. I really enjoyed the story and found it a great holiday read BUT there are so many typing and spelling mistakes that I spent so much time 'highlighting' these that they became a distraction. A good proof reader is a must for this author - hopefully he has addressed this since my purchase and download. So why did I give this 5 stars if it was so poorly 'proof read'? Simply because I use a standard approach to assessment with 'star ratings' based on awarding one star for a 'yes' to each of the following questions: 1. Did I enjoy the story? 2. Did it hold my attention throughout? 3. Did I get to know the characters and care what happened to them? 4. Was I sorry that the story finished - did I want to read more? and 5. Would I buy another book from this author? The answer to each of those is 'yes' and consequently it gets my 5 stars because this author really is a brilliant 'story teller' and I look forward to reading more of his books (Just downloaded the 'follow up' to this book)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
Caros' life is ripped apart when his family are brutally murdered in an act of war. In the aftermath his lot falls in with warriors but from free will that he stays. The need to redeem his father's warhorn drives him on to punish the enemy and in the process he discovers a cunning for strategy and battle. His days of being a merchant lie behind him as he picks the path of war and his lot falls in with Hannibal (of elephant reknown.)
The battle scenes were brutal and bloody, and I admit to feeling a little queasy on one occasion. Warhorn is well written and the writing does evoke a reaction. I especially liked how the author described simple things such as Caros washing after a battle and scrubbing the blood and gore away.
A touch violent for a 5 star but a well deserved 4.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Quite an usual aspect of ancient history and the incessant tribal warfare and empire building. An excellent introduction to an Iberian warrior, albeit reluctant at first, and I am looking forward to the next episode. Thoroughly recommended read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had great characters and was full of action right from the start but still had light-hearted and romantic moments too. The story may have been fictional but the historical detail was close to some views of what was happening in that part of the world in those times. I hope the the author, J Genn Bauer, writes a follow-up soon if not already done so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Some of the proof reading needed improving and how many times can you use the word 'yup'.
Still that is a only the smallest of criticisms overall a great read well researched certainly a page turner will look forward to Caro's return in 2014.
Tony Hollier.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
I love historical fiction and have read scores if not hundreds of books , and I think this book is in my top 10. It was especially good for a 1st novel. I am eagerly looking forward to more from Mr Bauer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here