Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
91
4.2 out of 5 stars
WARHORN: Sons of Iberia
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


on 5 January 2014
Found this book by chance not my usual read. But what a well written book full of historic information and I loved the characters I will look forward to j barriers next book with anticipation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Interesting storyline, but somewhat difficult to follow at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Would recommend this book to anyone 5 stars his story telling is brilliant you almost feel your there with caros
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
Good read kept me engrossed could not forsee some of the plots and twists characters were easy to believe hard to put down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Gripping from the start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
very good stories once you understood the main characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
I am an avid reader of historical fiction and had high hopes for this novel as covering a different period from a lot of other books out there. Unfortunately it was a great disappointment. The characters are very one dimensional and implausible. It is hard to feel any sympathy for them or care about their characters. The lead goes from a merchant to some sort of warrior hero in a way which is scarcely believable. The characters collapse from mirth at the feeblest of jokes and far too many are caricatures. Sometimes it reads like a list of actions with little plot to bring it along.

If you want something simple then this is just about ok. I won't bother with any more of the series. As others have said it is also riddled with errors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
WARHORN (Sons of Iberia)The story drew me in and kept me spellbound till the very end. The pace picks up fast and barrels along. Emotions envelop and action is vividly depicted in great choice of words and metaphor. One is totally absorbed in the history and culture of long ago Spain in a tantalizing tale with fascinating fictional characters. History, ecology and story woven together wonderfully and with author's notes and maps makes for excellence. I look forward to the next saga of Caros and his inimitable companions!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
First time I've read this author but I can't fault the book at all and I was hooked from the start can't wait for the next instalment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
I love learning something new in a novel and since I know very little about this period in history - 220 B.C. - it was definitely challenging to keep up with the many factions involved in the struggle for supremacy across the Iberian plain, a domination which aims to leave the area in settled peace and harmony. I desperately wanted to leave off the novel reading to begin some research of the era, but that was tempered with the urgent need to carry on with the story of Caros and find out how J. G. Bauer would develop the character of the young man who vows to avenge the brutal killing of his entire family.
The times are very bloody indeed; the description of the fighting and battle strategies are explained in great detail - the gore and devastation to man, woman, child and beast leaping off many of the pages in graphic horror. Caros transitions from being a young trader to a battle-hardened warrior who uses his deadly falcata with unerring accuracy, his combatant skills coming so naturally to him at a very swift pace. However, I like that J.G. Bauer ensures that Caros does not magically escape all injury- for me that would have been farcical in such violent and turbulent times. Battle scars gained toughen up the warrior even more even though he must live through some heartbreaking consequences.
His rapid progress to being noticed by the upper echelons of the armies didn’t disappoint me, and that the young Hannibal singles him out seems fitting. Caros becomes the kind of unassuming hero who draws friends and admirers easily from his fellow comrades and also from his enemies. Named ‘Claw of the Lion’ early on in the novel is well earned by the time the story closes.
It is not only a story of war, though, the love of a young woman –Ilimic- is also a painful transition time for Caros to work through. There are many characters in the novel, some of whom are very likeable – like Neugen who becomes a real and trusted friend very quickly. Other characters are much less attractive but well portrayed.

My only problem with the read was that the editing could have been sharper: this would have avoided occasional spelling and what I would term points of view problems.

Summing up though, If you want a detailed historical novel of trememdously exciting battle frenzy at a time that isn’t too commonly written about, then I definitely recommend Warhorn.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse