Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
216
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.99+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2014
As a long time fan of WT, I was dying to listen to this album. When it first arrived I listened and thought 'this is not bad', I then listened again and again and it just keeps getting better and better. The music has evolved slightly. It's defiinitely WT when you listen to it, they haven't sold out and they HAVE produced a fine album. Time will tell just how good it is but I love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
As others have stated, WT have been on a downward slide since the silent force was released. There are about 3 songs on this album I liked enough to add to a playlist. The addition of a rap piece seems totally out of place (rap meta-> thataway).

Okay for background listening, just doesn't hit the spot like previous offerings from this band.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
A dark theme here in Hydra. They sound good, I'm less sure about what the songs are about, but certainly a darker theme runs through the tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Another brilliant album release by Within Temptation. A real joy to listen to with a varied mix of songs. The media book is a great addon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Dutch Symphonic Metal band Within Temptation have been one of the most famous bands in the genre ever since the release of their 1997 debut Enter. The release of their 6th album Hydra sees them continue in the vein of 2011′s The Unforgiving, with their bombastic, catchy metal songs, while also displaying something of an experimental edge with guest appearances on four of the tracks, with artists as varied as ex-Nightwish singer Tarja Turunen, and rapper Xzibit. It’s also a lot more symphonic than The Unforgiving, with choirs and orchestra really adding to the music. The end result is another great bombastic and powerfully catchy symphonic rock album, with a lot of variation.

It’s clear from the outset that Sharon’s singing has improved immensely since The Unforgiving, where her voice was a little weak – she puts in a fantastic performance on this album, her best yet on a Within Temptation release. The guitar work is at its best too, with catchy riffs and epic solos throughout the album. The opener “Let Us Burn” is an excellent catchy track, with a fantastic riff and catchy chorus, it’s an epic which is sure to be a future crowd favourite. “Dangerous” features Killswitch Engage Singer Howard Jones, and is another bombastic heavy song, however, his overly clean vocals seems a little out of place, but the song still works well. The same can be said of “And We Run” featuring rapper Xzbit. It’s extremely rare that rap works in a metal setting, and this really doesn’t change anything, it still sounds odd, and doesn’t really add a whole lot to the song. It works quite well, but not without raising a few eyebrows.

All is not lost on the guest vocalist slots though, and one of the best tracks of the album is definitely the brilliant “Paradise (What about us?)” Featuring Tarja. It contains simply everything that makes Within Temptation so great, it’s catchy, bombastic, heavy, symphonic and contains fantastic vocals from both Sharon and Tarja. Its one of their best tracks to date. The album gives a change of pace in slower tracks “Edge of the World” and “Dog Days” with the former seeing Sharon’s voice beautifully take centre stage alongside excellent symphonic melodies, and the latter being absolutely excellent, providing the best symphonic sections on the album albeit a lazy chorus “1,2,3,4 what are you waiting for?” which mars an otherwise fantastic track.

The album even sees the return of Robert Westerholt’s death growls, missing ever since the debut album, 1997′s Enter, on the excellent up-tempo track Silver Moonlight, and the equally brilliant Tell me Why, these two sounding perhaps the most complete tracks on the album, the latter being the longest and the heaviest track. Closing track “The Whole World is Watching” features another guest in Dave Pirner, who has a soft tone to his voice, which fits well alongside Sharon’s voice. It’s one of the album’s softer and more upbeat songs, with excellent symphonic sections and lyrics; its a good way to end the album.

Overall, this album is Within Temptation at their very best, it’s perhaps their most complete effort to date. It shows them perfecting their trademark style of catchy, bombastic symphonic metal, while still showing their willingness to experiment with varied guest vocalists. Most of the tracks have the potential to be excellent live, and will be sure to be played on their upcoming World Tour. There are a few minor flaws, where the guest vocalists don’t fit all that well, and the pretty bad chorus of “Dog Days”, but overall the rest of the album is so good that this can be ignored. Within Temptation fans will love the album, and any fans of Symphonic Metal in general should find a lot to enjoy in this release.

Originally written for [...]
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
I only give this 3 stars because Sharon Den Adel's voice is beautiful and I particularly like the instruments used in these tracks, but I am disappointed and would have given it 2 stars if not for that. They hyped up "Paradise (What About Us)" to such an extent that even the most wonderful song on the planet would have fallen on its face after all that waiting/teasing with the seconds long previews, and it's not impressive - they don't show off Tarja or Sharon's voices at all and it is very much a "one note" song, the range is so limited, which is a shame for two beautiful sopranos. I do not like that most of these are "featuring" songs. Aside from "And We Run", I really don't care for many (any?) of the other featuring tracks and I don't think Sharon's voice/range/high notes is shown off (which is why I love The Heart Of Everything the most of WTs recent albums) in many (any?) of the tracks either. I can't help but feel that with the cover versions, I wish they'd left those alone and made more original songs of their own, you can even see that the CDs aren't filled up when you look at the discs! Just very disappointed, really. Even more so because I didn't like the last album they released either. I was excited for this because I heard it was to be more "Silent Force" esque, which I loved, and yet I couldn't get into it - mostly because every song there was a strange voice from yet another featuring artist, I just wanted to kick them out and listen to WT for goodness sake!!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
With my goth preferences ive been a massive fan of W.T since the beginning and have enjoyed collecting all their albums ( apart from the folly known as Q MUSIC SESSIONS , which is best not mentioned lol ) this their latest is a superb album with every song being well produced and immaculately executed , its along the same path as unforgiving , which is fine by me even though its alot more livelier than their earlier goth/symphonic albums ,
i must admit i listen to the old mp3 alot while riding the motorcycle ( naughty , naughty ! ) and with the songs on here the front wheel wouldnt touch the ground much , there that energizing , so be careful.
sharons voice seems to have no boundries and the guitar work is nice and heavy , so all in all this is a very welcome addition to my collection , the only weak song for me is AND WE RUN , it starts fine but the rapping interruption is very linkin park and seems out of place, the real gem of the album id say is SILVER MOONLIGHT as its W.T through and through ( remember robs growling days ) !!! SUPERB STUFF , JUST GET A COPY !!!!! o yep if ya listen to disc two while driving radioactive will probably get you points on your licence !! youve been warned lol
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Excellent album well produced with some great guest artists. First album I have bought by this band and no regrets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
This album is absolutely amazing! I would recommend anyone who is a fan of this type of music to buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
I have been a WT fan since their early days of 'Enter'. I love all their music - consistently excellent and Sharon has to have the most beautiful female voice on the planet. On the first listen - apart from the superb 'Paradise (Wwhat About Us)' nothing else sttod out compared to previous albums. This album takes at least 3 plays before you really appreciate the and become more familiar with the tracks. All songs are very good, 'And We Run' with Xzibit works really well and is definately a grower. 'Dangerous' is a good song but think it would have been better without Howard Jones on it - personally don't think he has a good voice. The Instrumental versions are absolutley stunning - and the box set is beautifully packaged. Def worth the extra money and guitar pick is a nice addition to have.
Saw them last year at Brixton and can't wait to see them at Wembley this year.....hopefully wit hTarja in tow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.29
£8.52
£7.59
£20.51

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)