Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
193
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 September 2016
An interesting start from the beginning re an meteroite that falls to earth and creates an unstoppable gloop that creates all nature on the planet as we know it. Jump to Chase and Wilde and a bit slow start and a mixed up Vietnam story initially made me worried about the book. However how wrong I was when Andy's book goes it really flies with great villains after the gloop a special unit relating to bacterial warfare and a huge Valhalla hall at the end which obviously has to do the Eddie Chase thing,
Chase is great as usual and the ending oh my goodness!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
As everyone of Andy McDermotts books that I have read so far, this one is just as brilliant. I am reading the whole sequence of Wilde and Chase books. I have loved everyone. The stories keep you wanting more. Once I finish one I have to read the following story. Wonderful writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Another great read - fan of andy McDermott and recommend to anybody that enjoys action with good storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Not read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
This latest adventure of the 'indestructible' Eddie Chase (and Nina Wilde) is as good as ever, resulting in it being read from cover to cover in no time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Did not disappoint! Am glad the author is continuing this series after all. Action-packed across multiple destinations, and always with an interesting story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
A Mcdermott's novel feels empty without the presence of Eddie and Nina. The characters are full of life, zest and sparkle. They are compactable as a couple. The characters are well brought to life for amusing readers and to admire the close bonding. The Valhalla Prophecy is another exciting and thrilling adventure featuring the daring duo. It is the ninth adventure story featuring the characters. The pace is so fast. The story-telling is enthralling from the moment it starts. The archaeological theme plays a key role in the plot. It is about old myths featuring Vikings that hold the key to new discoveries. The new archaeological treasures can be deadly and dangerous if found in the wrong hands. The duo faces new villains, who will use whatever means to steal. The story runs in parallel. It takes us on a journey of Eddie's past as a soldier in Vietenam. If you are into high octane adventures, I would recommend Andy Mcdermott's lastest offering. Valhalla Prophecy to date is one of author best pieces. I am curious where the story will head, as he is never short of ideas. I thoroughly enjoyed the novel.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
An excellent, absorbing action adventure novel featuring Nina Wilde and her wise cracking husband Eddie chase, and a lot of bone cracking action, though the writer has lessened the amount of action and has a more of serious storyline interspersed into it. But it's still fun and the action is big, and it's unpredictable with an ending that is a bit sad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
IT can’t be a coincidence that McDermott’s ever-active couple Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase are in Viking country for his latest book. Norsemen are flavour of the year and providing plenty of nervous tension, not least the passing of Ragnarok, their version of the end of days which, looking at the state of world affairs at the moment, might not be far off the mark.

Turn to the first page and throw yourself into a Usain Bolt-paced piece of action, humour and suspense as the pair chase a stolen stone that has earth-shattering powers. To add to the spice there’s an eight-year-old back story that brings ex-SAS man Eddie into a new, dark light. And since it involves a woman sparks mayhem with the missus. All this while crossing the globe to all points of the compass, not least, of course, Norway in the hunt for the Hall of the Slain.

Throw in the obligatory twist at the end and your page-turning fingers are itching for the next book. Don’t go looking for The Valhalla Prophecy on the Booker Prize long list. It’s not one for book nerds, it’s quite simply an out-and-out, full-blooded chunk of wholesome adventure. Jewell of the Nile type stuff. You’ll love every word.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
If you are reading this as the first of Andy McDermotts books then it's good, fast paced, villains and totally unbelievable. It does kill time on a train or aircraft and for a first time read of his style is ok. However, if you are reading this as book 9 of his style, then just go back and read one of the first few books again and save yourself some money. Bad guys capture Nina, loads of angst between Eddie and Nina, Nina saved and good guys save the world for the 9th time from dodgy villains who have somehow evaded discovery from other crime organisations. I thought it would have all ended happily at book 8, but no there is a tired theme limping along.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)