Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
53
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2014
I bought this thinking it was a biography. It wasn't, it was by an author who has made no effort to research even the most basic details of the Middle East and Islam. The plot was full of holes -even with a private plane it would be impossible to fly from the US to Saudi Arabia without any passport or air traffic control clearance. The action in cell like buildings covered a lack of knowledge about Arab domestic life. The heroine's father claiming that the US was 'just trying to make the world a better place' was a joke .I am a British
Christian and believe that the treatment of women in some Arab countries is unjust, but this novel will only serve to reinforce prejudice and increase hostility.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Far fetched and stereotypical. Every conceivable negative trait of a marriage to an Arab is used in this stupid book. Don't bother reading it. Its a mish mash of clichéd situations all rolled into one.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
This book is dull, uninteresting and very badly written. I am so disappointed as I was looking forward to reading it. The author's style is so child-like, that the story has no credibility. It must be an art form to make a story with such good potential so boring. I couldn't read it, found myself skimming most of the first few chapters and in the end, gave up. In my opinion it is a waste of money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
I don't even know why I bought this book. Maybe the cheap price and a simple click were the reasons. OK, how can an American university student even get involved seriously with an Arab man before 'google' and informing herself about this culture? This naivety or laziness opened the path for such wicked man. Not that all Arabs are 'wicked' - No. However, before travelling to a foreign culture or living with a foreign partner or living in a foreign country - it is just common sense to inform yourself ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
This story of a woman kidnapped by a Muslim man desperate to have sons is a very good read and in the words of the American heroine, "Why would any woman ever choose to be Muslim?" Oppression is their whole existence!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
I bought this book thinking it was a true story...... shortly into the book a realized it is made up of complete un-researched and badly put together dribble. The author appears to have no idea about the culture or country they are writing about, but a clear hate of Islam!! The statement that apparently come from the Koran are unreferenced and therefore complete lies!!!! I am astonished that a book like this is allowed to be published!!

Taking it on the basis that it is A STORY it still is not thought out and has a clear agenda against a certain group of people, culture and religion. There are plenty of other books that do give TRUE stories and accounts of other peoples real life experiences that can be read where the reader can learn about the culture and religion (good or bad) without the lies this book offers.

Sorry for the people that enjoyed this book, but in fact i am offended by this book and would be very happy with a refund!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Gave up quarter of way through, too far fetched and unrealistic. should have been published as a fiction, too much of it is too hard to believe and doesn't add up at all. Waste of money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Having lived in the Middle East (Saudi Arabia) for 10 years, I am always interested in books of this type, however, on this occasion I did not find this a captivating read and that it was not that well written - sorry!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
Really worth reading. Non stop,the story moves the reader wanting to know the end but knowing when that time comes the journey will be at an end. This book is very exciting,slightly frightening as a westerners you are worried that it could be a reality.Very good read,I couldn't put it down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Wow. Such a vivid story. I couldn't put the book down and read it all in one day. Such a brave woman. Excellent reading giving an insight into what life can be like for some women and exposing the day to day struggles in a male dominated society.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse