Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2014
This story must have caused the author to do some serious research in the various agencies in this story. Interwoven are the Knight Templars, Mossad, The bible, The Ark of the Covenent, the sacred Menorah from Solomon's temple and lets not forget the Freemasons. This tale has them all in full and as our heroine and her friend/ally try to find the ark and menorah before a psychomaniac who intends to use them for evil comes to an amazing climax where the heroine feels betrayed, lost and about to meet her death. A thoroughly enjoyable read front fist to last.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
Ava is an archaeologist seconded form the British Museum to Iraq to help track down and recover the artifacts sacked from the museum during the war. She had previously worked for MI6, as had her father who had died in unaccounted circumstances. The story opens with a raid on a sanctuary in Ethiopia to steal what is thought to be the Ark of the Covenant. The bloodthirsty description pulls no punches and sets the tone for the intense action that will run through the novel. Ava is drawn into the situation by a mysterious email that leads her to a secret auction, where things go horribly wrong and lead to unexpected convolutions of the plot. Someone is collecting lost treasures linked to the sacking of Solomon's Temple - who and why, and who else is trying to track them down? The frenetic pace of Ava and Ferguson's enquiries is at times less than believable, when did they sleep or eat, but Selwood manages to keep the threads taut and untangled. Mossad has an undercover agent who works his way into a far-right BNP-type group and this sub-plot is cleverly developed before weaving into Ava's search. Naturally a suspension of disbelief if required, but the complexities of the plot are logically brought together with a gruesome finale involving Himmler's nazi-lore, black magic rites and a gun battle..... did I mention the Templars' involvement? It's all there! The author underpins the whole story with thorough research both historical and current, which lends an air of reality to much of the plot despite the Grail Quest premise and black magic elements. Very clever and well worth the time to read.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
I admit I bought this months ago for a time when I had nothing else to read. So I wasn't expecting much. I thought another derivative archaeological escapade.

To say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. The writing is easy to read and never boring. The amount of knowledge throughout is remarkable. And the page turning is definitely just-one-moreish. I learned a lot while being thoroughly entertained. If schools adopted this method of teaching, exam results would be much higher.

I won't mention the actual story. Just say if you like this type of book, buy it. You won't be disappointed.

Now I'm off to buy the rest of his books ;)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
I loved the idea, the plot, the characters, the history (learned some new stuff - I always like that) but I had to knock points off for the length. It is far too long. Even with all the good points I got fed up reading this book. From about 70% on, I just stopped caring. Please Mr Selwood, a bit more editing would be lovely. I did like the story, I even bought the second book but this one needs some pruning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
A great fast paced adventure story, Indiana Jones meets a female Jack Bauer. It is clear the author has done his homework. For a 800 odd page historical adventure story it is an easy read and doesn't get too bogged down with history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Abit of a slow start but didn't long to get going and got better and better with each page.I really enjoyed this book and will now read all in the trilogy when available five stars!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Quite an involved plot. The story has many fascinating twists and turns, and is very exciting. I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
very good book hard to put down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
A well constructed and written Book that grabs you from the start. Full of intrigue and fascinating details about the Knights Templar and The Ark of the Covenant and more ancient artefacts woven together in a fast-paced interesting read. Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Gripping story that promises further character developments that will ensure readers will stick with the trilogy to the final volume. John F. Leslie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)